All member reviews for Hoodwinked

Common Sense Media says

Red Riding Hood redo; bland with a bit of fun.

Users say

(out of 59 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byJaydaBanana September 4, 2011

Good, but there were some annoying parts

I liked it and the story was fine, but no one seems to think Red overreacted a little when she found out her granny's real identity? Like, really. You are a little girl! You are not going to get out of the woods on your own! Stop being so sensitive and wait until you can handle yourself.
Teen, 14 years old Written byCodemaster August 29, 2011

An awesome movie!

A great movie, even for a person my age! Combines Mystery with Action in this movie that is a bit childish, but still just as fun! Has a few good morals (good triumphs over evil, never trust a bunny, Dynamite isn't pronounced DEE-Nah-Mee-teh, etc.) Overall, a great movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMerlinFan August 28, 2011

Adorable Family Film!

This movie was adorable! I saw it when I was about 12, and I thought it was so cute! The characters are witty and fun. It's a great kids movie for the whole family to enjoy, and you WILL enjoy it!
Kid, 11 years old April 29, 2011

Too Violent, 2nd hoodwinked is better.

This one is very violent but it is pretty interesting, but boring. The 2nd one is better!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 April 12, 2011


It wasn't hilarious, but it was funny. It's a retelling of Red Riding Hood, but it's not like story except for the characters' name. The violence is only comical.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymusicjesusfreak January 8, 2011

Laugh out loud funny, great for everyone. A must see.

Alright, Common Sense (unlike normal) just didn't get it with this one this one. There is one questionably violent scene of Red falling out of a cable car, but she lands on the ground unscathed. Other violence includes some (big bad stupid) people getting beat up, an avalanche, snowballs, and some dynamite blowing up. Also, on a (rather wild) train ride, the train track (which we later learn was blown up by the dynamite), suddenly stops, and the mining car flies off it, but everyone is O.K. (Trust me on this one. If I told you what happened, I would spoil two of the biggest laughs in the movie). On that, "Hoodwinked" Is one of the funniest, smartest, and all around best movies I have ever seen. It is especially funny, (like, fall out of your chair, laugh out loud funny), and is a must see for all families. Adults will enjoy it just as much as kids, so if you are planning a family movie night soon, make this the movie. If you aren't, plan one and watch this movie. Enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 24, 2010
if you have little kids, they're gonna love this
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 5 and 5 year old Written bymdpack September 30, 2010

Good family fun with catchy songs

There is a lot of mention of coffee, and at the end the squirrel even drinks a whole cup and gets a coffee high. This may be an issue for you if you don't drink coffee in your house or you don't want young kids to think it's cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byHannahBanana01 July 23, 2010
I LOVED IT! i remember when it first came out i wound just watchi it over and over again in my room, its really funny in my opinion for anyone, my grandparents whatched it and loved it!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2010

Perfect for all ages

I really don't care what other people think about this movie....IT WAS THE BEST!!!!! every thing really fits in like when the track was broken when red (the little girl) was on it and they flew in the air and the grandma was really abouve her when she said use the coat .... if you haden't seen the movie you probably and you are reading this, you probably have no clue of what i'm talking about ... BUT It'S STILL THE BEST MOVE THERE IS (right after dispicable me cuz that movie was the number 1)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2010

great for everyone.

this is one of my all-time favorite movies. there's a lot of kid humor, so little ones will enjoy. but there's still plenty of older kid's humor so older siblings won't get bored. my 16 year old brother and my 6 year old sister adore this. It's a mystery, comedy, adventure, and an overall family movie. P.S. if your kids are todlers, your kids might not be able to get the plot, but it's still funny!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010

Not Your Average Mystery Move

This is a movie that can have some adult themes in it, but it is very interesting with its comedy and its fighting sequences. You don't know who is the thief and that is what makes it interesting because when you see a mystery movie, you can tell who the bad guy is halfway through the movie, but in this, they really keep it concealed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 21, 2010


Ok i saw it and I HATED it me and my mom thought it was terrible very stupid and a very bad remake of the regular little red riding hood
Kid, 12 years old January 20, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolperson December 28, 2009


Teen, 17 years old Written bycopperzinc April 26, 2009
Adult Written bysuziefetter April 9, 2008
Adult Written bykernsmith April 9, 2008
Adult Written byjcarole April 9, 2008

I'll take decaf, thank you very much!

This movie is a hoot - it's not fantastic, but it is fun with good jokes for grown-ups too. And I have always told my daughter she doesn't need the caffine! After this, she believes me! It's dynamite!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008


This is an ok movie. I love Twitchy!!!