All member reviews for Hop

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Adult Written bypickle_pie April 20, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I would not recommend this movie for children. I personally will not buy it or ever watch it again. The bunny goes to the playboy mansion. The fact that the playboy mansion is even mentioned in a movie targeting children is DESPICABLE!! And one of the theme songs..."I Want Candy" is a COMPLETELY inappropriate song! the lyrics are terrible and DISGUSTING!
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMother teacher April 20, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Horrible movie! Poor acting, racist and racy

I found this movie to have poor acting, sexual undertones and blatant racism. The "human" actors were not funny, not well acted and were stereotypical. The parents wanted their child to find a job, any job, and move out of the house. They made it clear that they found their son a failure. There were many sexual undertones...Chelsea Handler, David Hasselhoff, Hugh Hefner all had roles. The bunny talked about open relationships, being a sexy bunny, and getting into the playboy mansion. The racism was very uncomfortable. There was a scene where the Easter Bunny hadn't yet "cracked China" of the bunny getting thrown out of a Chinese grocery store in China. There is an adopted Chinese daughter living with the human family, who thinks she's great but has a horrible singing voice. She even says "I think I was adopted to make up for your son's lack of ambition." There is a band of blind black men, who just pretend to be blind as a gimmick. And there is the Latino chick (as in chicken) that is laughed at when he asks to become the new easter bunny, even though the job was vacant. He is the villain in the movie. This movie was just plain horrible! Please beware of these when taking children to the movie. There is nothing sweet or innocent taking place. It is full of mean spirited characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 year old Written byRed Rebel Rider April 22, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Most of the children at that show were 8 and above. They sat quietly, laughed during the funny parts and sang or moved during the musical parts. They all seemed to enjoy it and parents seemed happy with the movie as well.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bymjones141 April 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

disappointed

I do not understand why the playboy mansion was even put into the movie. Regardless of whether the younger kids understand, it is the ones 9-10, that question why the bunny is sexy and what is that place. There is no need.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoraline Jackson March 13, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bySingapore Cali mom April 8, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Sugar high

- There was TOO much emphasis on candy. They could have found a way of balancing out the nutrition aspect.
Adult Written bysongscreener April 4, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

know your older grade school kids

This movie was cut relly short. that said there is a pretty good amunt of product placement and the playboy mansion mentioned in a few scenes and EB considers himself sexy when he reads his map that says the playboy mansion is for "sexy bunnies" this could lead to some akward cnversations about what th playboy mansion is
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bybluucantu June 9, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

PLAYBOY, really?!?!

I don't care about consumerism so much, so I wish CSM would have put PLAYBOY in the sexy stuff category. I can't believe that they would put Playboy references (2) in a child's movie, it's sick and really ticked me off. I never would have gone, had I known.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byhoffmans71 April 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
The movie was cute and pretty funny. It encourages people to not be selfish and self centered. WARNING: On two occasions a major and some minor chracter go to the PLAYBOY MANSION and speak over a loud speaker to a man that sounds like Hugh Hefner on top of that the PLAYBOY BUNNY LOGO is clearly displayed. We will not buy HOP because of this. I don't want my kids associating something positive and mostly innocent with a pornographic icon.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 10, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Russel Brand is sooooo funny

this movie is so great me and my brother,sister and dad went to go see it when it came out it is funny, cute and good for all ages there is nothing bad just becauase E B said sexy
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byaniO April 25, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Terrible!

Embedding adult humor in kids movies is just WRONG. It is so sad that even then 10 year olds reviewing here know what the playboy mansion is. How many passing references does it take before your 5 year old understands? Gross.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymandykakel April 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bysunnysideup7685 August 18, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Hop, more like disgusting, dirty Flop

It infuriates me how sexualized our culture and media is. It really infuriates me when it'ts pushed on teens, especially teen and preteen girls. A movie that idolizes the playboy mansion and hugh heifner, and is directed at KIDS!!!!, during EASTER!!!, DISGUSTS ME!!! Five year olds do not need to worry, excuse me, should not have to worry about being sexy or if hugh heifner approves of them. Which anyone with any moral decency shouldn't care two cents about what he thinks. If you want to watch a movie with your family to celebrate the Easter season, may I suggest the Prince of Egypt. Or if you'd rather leave religion out of the Easter season, a Disney flick always works. Anything is better than this filth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlpha_Female May 4, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

HOP Reveiw

i went to see hop in the cinema with a few of my friends and we liked it but we are all 12 - 14, i'm not sure if they should really put the play boy mansion in, a normal mansion would have been just as good for the story line but i think that it has a good message and that it had a few good role models, thanks for reading! Alpha_Female xxx
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great funny movie!

I saw this movie and it was very funny, now that it's Easter! And, instead of 3D glasses, they gave me a set of E.B.'s ears!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 8, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect Kid movie

Cute movie but as one bad word sexy that wasn't needed in the movie at all my two year old brother loved it
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byImI101 March 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Rated Everyone I think.

One of the best movies I have ever seen!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byJaysus April 30, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not the behavior I want my kids emulating

Am I the only one who wanted to grab the rabbit by the ears and stick him in a corner until he finally learned the slightest ounce of discipline? I personally will NOT play this movie for my kids, I never ever want them to think that E.B.s (the rabbit) behavior is in any way acceptable or even entertaining. My wife actually walked away from the movie, frustrated that kids in America are watching this movie and likely wanting to emulate this juvenile, irresponsible and disrespectful character.
Teen, 13 years old Written byDMfanCassy April 8, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It was good, just look out for....

What too look out for: When E.B. was looking for a new home he went to the playboy mantion too see if they would let him in, I don't think that's something my parents would aprove of for my younger siblings, other than that- it was a pretty good movie! Might even watch it again.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byveronicathecurious April 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Only if you have no morals.

Some adults seem to think that children won't get the adult humor, but I for one do not want my 4 year old asking me what a PlayBoy Bunny is! I did not let my children see it and I won't. Letting your child watch this will open up a host of problems, from using the word "sexy" to running away when they are mad about something. There is no target audience, the jokes are just mean and rude and not even funny. I guarantee the parents who gave this movie good reviews did not actually sit down and watch the movie. Either that or they have morals like that of a chocolate Easter bunny...hollow on the inside.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages