All member reviews for Hop

Adult Written bypickle_pie April 20, 2011
I would not recommend this movie for children. I personally will not buy it or ever watch it again. The bunny goes to the playboy mansion. The fact that the playboy mansion is even mentioned in a movie targeting children is DESPICABLE!! And one of the theme songs..."I Want Candy" is a COMPLETELY inappropriate song! the lyrics are terrible and DISGUSTING!
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMother teacher April 20, 2011

Horrible movie! Poor acting, racist and racy

I found this movie to have poor acting, sexual undertones and blatant racism. The "human" actors were not funny, not well acted and were stereotypical. The parents wanted their child to find a job, any job, and move out of the house. They made it clear that they found their son a failure. There were many sexual undertones...Chelsea Handler, David Hasselhoff, Hugh Hefner all had roles. The bunny talked about open relationships, being a sexy bunny, and getting into the playboy mansion. The racism was very uncomfortable. There was a scene where the Easter Bunny hadn't yet "cracked China" of the bunny getting thrown out of a Chinese grocery store in China. There is an adopted Chinese daughter living with the human family, who thinks she's great but has a horrible singing voice. She even says "I think I was adopted to make up for your son's lack of ambition." There is a band of blind black men, who just pretend to be blind as a gimmick. And there is the Latino chick (as in chicken) that is laughed at when he asks to become the new easter bunny, even though the job was vacant. He is the villain in the movie. This movie was just plain horrible! Please beware of these when taking children to the movie. There is nothing sweet or innocent taking place. It is full of mean spirited characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 year old Written byRed Rebel Rider April 22, 2011
Most of the children at that show were 8 and above. They sat quietly, laughed during the funny parts and sang or moved during the musical parts. They all seemed to enjoy it and parents seemed happy with the movie as well.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bySingapore Cali mom April 8, 2011

Sugar high

- There was TOO much emphasis on candy. They could have found a way of balancing out the nutrition aspect.
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bymjones141 April 7, 2011

disappointed

I do not understand why the playboy mansion was even put into the movie. Regardless of whether the younger kids understand, it is the ones 9-10, that question why the bunny is sexy and what is that place. There is no need.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoraline Jackson March 13, 2011
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhoffmans71 April 7, 2011
The movie was cute and pretty funny. It encourages people to not be selfish and self centered. WARNING: On two occasions a major and some minor chracter go to the PLAYBOY MANSION and speak over a loud speaker to a man that sounds like Hugh Hefner on top of that the PLAYBOY BUNNY LOGO is clearly displayed. We will not buy HOP because of this. I don't want my kids associating something positive and mostly innocent with a pornographic icon.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bysongscreener April 4, 2011

know your older grade school kids

This movie was cut relly short. that said there is a pretty good amunt of product placement and the playboy mansion mentioned in a few scenes and EB considers himself sexy when he reads his map that says the playboy mansion is for "sexy bunnies" this could lead to some akward cnversations about what th playboy mansion is
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bybluucantu June 9, 2011

PLAYBOY, really?!?!

I don't care about consumerism so much, so I wish CSM would have put PLAYBOY in the sexy stuff category. I can't believe that they would put Playboy references (2) in a child's movie, it's sick and really ticked me off. I never would have gone, had I known.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymandykakel April 25, 2011

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old May 10, 2011

Russel Brand is sooooo funny

this movie is so great me and my brother,sister and dad went to go see it when it came out it is funny, cute and good for all ages there is nothing bad just becauase E B said sexy
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlpha_Female May 4, 2011

HOP Reveiw

i went to see hop in the cinema with a few of my friends and we liked it but we are all 12 - 14, i'm not sure if they should really put the play boy mansion in, a normal mansion would have been just as good for the story line but i think that it has a good message and that it had a few good role models, thanks for reading! Alpha_Female xxx
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byaniO April 25, 2011

Terrible!

Embedding adult humor in kids movies is just WRONG. It is so sad that even then 10 year olds reviewing here know what the playboy mansion is. How many passing references does it take before your 5 year old understands? Gross.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5, 6, and 8 year old Written byElfin April 1, 2011

Fun, but not Funny

All of the kids and parents saw this today, and the kids liked it a lot. It had a decent story line, and was the first movie my 5-year-old watched, followed, and didn't get bored of partway through. That said, it just wasn't very funny. Pleasant, but not funny. Normally, my kids giggle and laugh through movies like this (they thought Alvin & the Chipmunks was a laugh riot), but my 8-year old only laughed once. I laughed about 6 times...but really, if you can count your number of laughs, that's a bad sign. Overall, the characters were nice - and there wasn't anything we had to explain or contradict afterward. Very very little violence and nearly no scary parts (about 3 intense minutes near the end, and one slightly creepy character morph). My husband was thrilled that there was no love interest. Our other thumbs up is that the characters all act pretty realistically - they talk to each other, and there's very little lying or contrived Three's Company-style situations. It was a fun little movie - I just wish it had been funnier. Oh, and stay through the credits. There's a little bit at the end.
Teen, 14 years old Written byImI101 March 17, 2011

Rated Everyone I think.

One of the best movies I have ever seen!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous March 31, 2013

Not for Kids I will have to say.

Not for kids with rude inappropriate jokes. Sex isn't for kids nether is this movie. Hop maybe a good movie but leave the jokes for the Adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysunnysideup7685 August 18, 2011

Hop, more like disgusting, dirty Flop

It infuriates me how sexualized our culture and media is. It really infuriates me when it'ts pushed on teens, especially teen and preteen girls. A movie that idolizes the playboy mansion and hugh heifner, and is directed at KIDS!!!!, during EASTER!!!, DISGUSTS ME!!! Five year olds do not need to worry, excuse me, should not have to worry about being sexy or if hugh heifner approves of them. Which anyone with any moral decency shouldn't care two cents about what he thinks. If you want to watch a movie with your family to celebrate the Easter season, may I suggest the Prince of Egypt. Or if you'd rather leave religion out of the Easter season, a Disney flick always works. Anything is better than this filth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2011

Great funny movie!

I saw this movie and it was very funny, now that it's Easter! And, instead of 3D glasses, they gave me a set of E.B.'s ears!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written byBlessed Mom2 April 18, 2011

Perfect for All Ages!!

I thought this was a very cute movie. My daughter, 11-years old, loved it as well as my husband and I. If you are used to violence and potty language then this movie is not for you, which is why I believe a number of reviewers called it "dumb and boring." However, if you want to go to a nice family movie with cute characters and a sweet story line, I would definitely suggest this movie. I found no issues with this movie. The scene at the gate of the Playboy mansion would be over a younger child's head and the reference is very obscure. Go out and enjoy this cute movie for Easter!
Kid, 11 years old April 8, 2011

Perfect Kid movie

Cute movie but as one bad word sexy that wasn't needed in the movie at all my two year old brother loved it
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages