All member reviews for Hotel for Dogs

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 43 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 7, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Silly dog comedy has kindergarten humor. Immature stuff.

My rating:PG for rude humor and mild action
Kid, 12 years old April 13, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Quite original, but a bit of language (which is "cr*p")

Epicboy21 here, and I'll tell you the only thing that made the movie PG for language pretty much was that they use the term "we scr*wed up" or that a woman uses "cr*p" twice and a man says it once. The language is completely gratuitous, but otherwise it's very mild. Anyway, the movie's about two orphans that scam people by pawning fake cell-phones for $26, who are named Bruce (Jake T. Austin, Disney's Wizards of Waverly Place), and Andie (Emma Roberts: after Nancy Drew, whatever happened to her?); the two hatch an idea when they save some dogs to make a hotel for them, so it's the "Hotel for Dogs", where saving dogs is their business and helping them is their job. The G content would be: - A man is kicked in the groin, hard, but otherwise there's no violence other than suspense from running and chasing. - The main characters are orphans and they pawn for money. The PG content would be: - Kyla Pratt steps in dog poop by accident - They create a fire hydrant so dogs can pee there - The above-mentioned swearing Anyway, it is quite original, with this idea about the Hotel for Dogs, and the technology is an absolute highlight. In short, the acting isn't that bad, the slapstick and scatological humour is quite good, and there's a good sense of drama, and character development is just quite enough. The animals don't even talk (for once, yay!) DreamWorks did a good job. Some dogs are seen drinking, and one dog is described as only having "three legs"; the accident is seen but is mentioned. Anyway, thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old May 25, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good but scary

I love the movie but it scares me when they talk about "getting" the dogs.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byTotally500 August 31, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

hotel for dogs is great

i thought it was great and i like it alot
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Great family movie with little inappropriate content. I'd give it three and a half stars out of five.
Kid, 11 years old May 20, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Very good

A very good movie, see it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymrbookworm01 May 13, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Really good movie, but some upsetting moments

I just watched this movie on Nickelodeon and it was a really good movie. It has little inappropriate content for young kids, and it has some positive messages about caring about others, working together, and the importance of family. OK for kids 8+. Education: The movie's based off a book, so kids might want to read it after watching the movie. Violence: Some mild slapstick violence, but nobody gets hurt. Some dogs can seem a bit vicious to younger kids. Some brief references to the death of the main characters' parents, but not in detail. One dog is shown missing a leg, which might upset sensitive kids. Some mild peril when the main characters' are being chased by police, and sad moments like when the main characters' are briefly seperated from each other and their dogs, but nothing too upsetting. Sex: Some mild flirting and two brief kisses between teens. But nothing farther than that. Language: Use of the word, "crap" Consumerism: Brief showing of a Nintendo DS.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old January 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

what I noticed

Pedigree dog food is noticable, also c--p is mentioned, like, twice. In one scene, there's a picture of a dog urinating, standing up, on a door, or something.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Jake T. Austin is so cute

I love Jake T. Austin! This film is great for anyone - WATCH IT!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old November 17, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hotel for Dogs

It's good with dogs. The result: This 3 star movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Funny

Happy and silly.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 3, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great storyline!

Hotel for dogs is a great movie for dog lovers. It has some really sad parts in it but has a really good storyline. There are two kids that live in this foster home. They cause all sorts of trouble. Also they have this secret dog, he wonders the streets sometimes, his name is Friday. The three of them are being chased by the police and run into this run down hotel. There, they find lots of other dogs and decide to take care of them. This is a must see movie and i really enjoyed it.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I like it! to many dogs the problem is the crime and the police will bust the dogs it is VIOLENT! and the old place of hotel it is dirty a little bit...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old January 29, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Cute and Funny movie!!!!

I really enjoyed watching this movie because i love any movie with dogs in it and i LOVE Emma Roberts. I also think this movie has great role models in it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 13, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

all ages allowed good movie too.

very simple great movie appropriate and delivers great messages for kids!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 October 26, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best movie for all ages!!!

This movie is actually appropriate for all ages, and I can accept that kids of all ages can watch this, cause these kids in the film helps the dogs to make a big home for the dogs. Weh, there are some consumerism shown, such as Pedigree dog food. And the language they say is "stupid", "idiot", "shut up", "crap", and "sue (such as suing people)". And there are alot of slapstick violence, Romeo and juliet (dog versions) kissed in some parts, teenagers flirt and kiss. And its all right though, please alot of toddlers, children, teenagers, and adults will enjoy watching this over and over again!! =D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
this movie is very good. and almost 100% kid friendly. however, the workers at the pound treat dogs like they are just nothing more than some mangey muts of trouble, and they act as if they must be eliminated. the kids sneek out food from thier foster parents home without permission. they also "cheat" by selling fake cell phones at a pawn shop. towards the end of the movie, the foster parents discover the hotel for strays and use the word "crap" a couple times. also at the end, two of the teenage characters share a lovely kiss. on the good side, the kids and the guy searching for thier new homes, would often remind everyone that the dogs are not just mangy muts of trouble, but they are also family. but because of the use of "crap", i recommend it for kids 8+.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

quite good but there are better dog films.

This film isn't the best ever dog film made, there are better dog movies out there, but, it's not exactly the worst either. Hotel For Dogs is funny and cute but I have seen better.
Kid, 9 years old August 11, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

sad to u know

awesom two parts r very sad :(
Teen, 15 years old Written bySookyounghan June 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good

This is a very funny movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages