All member reviews for Hotel Transylvania

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 40 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old September 28, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

5 stars!!!!!!!!

Awesome movie!!! I'm going to see it!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byhockeyguy October 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i just wasted 2 hours of my life

stupid
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 30, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Mild scary scenes and rude humour.

Consumer advice: Contains mild scary scenes and rude humour. My consumer advice: Contains mild scary scenes.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written bylizzylove 90 October 16, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Hotel Transelvania

Bad for children
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew December 23, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Mild potty humor and scary images in adorable father-daughter relationship flick

My rating:PG for crude humor and scary action
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good, but could have been better

I was really looking forward to seeing this movie. I saw it and it was good, but they could have made it better. Therefore I can only give it ★★★.
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug October 2, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Go See It

Wow. I had low expecatations for this movie but i loved it!!! It was hilarious and had so many jokes that i laughed out loud. Everything was awesome!!!! You should go see it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJoeyakers October 2, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Exceptionally great for kids, if they won't get scared by MILD scenes.

It is something you need to take your kids to IMMEDIATELY! Except for some name-calling and some scary Dracula rage scenes, the movie is exceptionally fine for kids. The film itself is actually quite entertaining. An all star cast really make the movie special and worth to look through. 4/5
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old September 30, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Hotel Transylvania!

Very good. 2 words... SEE IT!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 May 25, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Lackluster romance appears not to have a target audience.

I can't think of who would like to watch this. Kids will be bored by the romance (at least 75% of the film is influenced by this) and older audiences may find the rest to be pretty dull. Its true that this film has its funny moments, and the animation is top notch for 2012. But the silly characters make the film feel embarrassing to watch, particularly with parents. To be perfectly honest, there is nothing special here. The creators of Dispicable Me have, here at least, failed rather miserably and parodying twilight (which I have no interest in watching). Final Score: 3/10: Bad.
Kid, 11 years old March 1, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Love it

This movie is so cute. Some love and kissing parts. Some scary parts and jump scenes. This movie scared my 5-year-old brother.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not for little kids

I walked out of the movies with my grandparents after seeing 15 minutes of this. It is very scary for little children!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bydancer321 March 26, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Hotel Transylvania

This was a really cute movie that little kids will enjoy. Here are a few things to watch out for: Violence: Fake Humans attempt to burn Mavis, but she leaves before they can. Consumerism: Barely anything notable in the movie. There is nothing else to watch out for in this movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul September 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Scary for kids

Kid, 12 years old September 3, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Scary

I saw this movie before, it was scary but awesome. On 9-17 Pause 6-8 and Off 2-5
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 22, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ok animated adventure easily entertains young ones.

Not the best, not the worst.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old April 22, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One to see, for sure

Nice movie, I think you should see it. It's a very funny comedy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old March 26, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome.

This is the best movie ever. See it with your dad. Selena Gomez plays Mavis. Rent it right now!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written by18mlove March 20, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hotel Transylvania review

I think this is a great movie for kids it is not very scary, but it is funny. I liked this movie and I would recomend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 9, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great movie, some parts not the best for young kids.

This was a really great movie! It told kids just to be themselves. Young kids may get scared when the daughter goes to the village and the townspeople who hate vampires are on fire but overall, funny, and a great laugh!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages