All member reviews for How to Train Your Dragon

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 154 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old May 13, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Kiddie Review

This was the GREATEST MOVIE I WATCHED! It's great for kids and families!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny November 1, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Another treat from Dreamworks...

In the past years, Dreamworks has established itself as a gem in CGI animation. How To Train Your Dragon is another charming adaptation. It's complete with spectacular 3-D animation, colorful characters and scenery, and a star-studded cast that is sure to make you laugh. Besides that, the action is also pretty intense and the fire that the dragons breath is almost real. Hiccup is a scrawny viking boy who is helpless on the battlefield. However, all this changes when he shoots down the legendary Nightfury dragon. Unfortunately for him, no one believes it, so he sets out to find where the dragon landed. He finds it injured, unable to fly. At first, his intentions are to kill it, so he can prove that he caught it, but his kindness leads him to do otherwise and he befriends the dragon and calls him "Toothless". He's kinda like the Dog Whisper (except for dragons or "Dragon Whisperer"). That's all I'm gonna tell you, I don't wanna spoil the movie. Anyways, the violence is the likewise: fire-breathing dragons, ax-wielding vikings, an enormous dragon queen that eats the other smaller dragons, etc. Astrid and Hiccup kiss a few times and during the end. There are a few subliminal jokes, like the "breast hat" scene and there's also a part where Hiccup is in dragon training and Astrid lands on him and one of the guys shouts "Love on the battlefield", but these jokes are most likely to fly over young kids' heads. For those of you haven't watched this yet, I recommend it. It's fun, thrilling, and just plain awesome.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old March 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

wonderful

I think this is a very good movie, but has some inappropriate things such as kissing. I enjoy the music and if some thing violent happens it does not have violent noises with it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old March 10, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

BORING

Movie is so boring. Hardly anything happens in the movie. Just plain.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustinBieber_JB May 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
I loved this movie! I saw it with a group of my friends and we all liked it a lot. It's really cute and has a good message.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGloryGirl April 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I think for some people. it would be a little scary, but I just got back from watching it and I loved it. I thought it was creative, touching, and funny. Example that don't judge people by the way they look, they could be the oposite.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrandon4News April 3, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Super cool, super appropriate

This is a brilliant movie. With it's simple script (a little too simple at times but it's all good) and it's great character development, How To Train Your Dragon soars high in the clouds. The 3D effects are stunning, there are funny moments, and positive messages! Besides one moderately scary scene in a dragon cave, this one is good for the whole family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaconBitz March 27, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for any age

How to Train Your Dragon was an excellent film. Great story, adventure, and laughs. The characters are very brave and heroic. The characters show teamwork and care for each other. The only "scary parts" are the opening battle sequence filled with explosions and the giant "Queen" dragon in the end. All in all, an excellent animated family flick
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Family Movie

This was a great family movie. I never heard the curse shown below. That might just be a scam. Any who, great movie without much violence. Great Friday night family movie. Good job DreamWorks.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew November 28, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Breathtaking dark dragon tale is full of family fun moments but scary for little kids

My rating:PG for violence,fire breathing sequences,language,rude humor and thematic elements
Teen, 17 years old Written byjmich16 November 13, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie

I am 17 years old and I love movies from The Maze Runner to Breakfast at Tiffanys to 22 Jump Street. My taste does reflect my age, being that I'm 17 I tend to like more adult movies, but How to Train Your Dragon is honestly one of my absolute favorite movies. I rave about it all the time, almost embarrassingly so, and I would honestly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Depending on the kid, some younger than five could probably watch and enjoy it too. Love, love, love this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 21, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

How to Train Your Dragon movie review

When I first watched "How to Train Your Dragon" in 2010, I didn't enjoy the movie. I think the main reason I didn't like the movie was because it was a different type of animated movie. Looking back, the movie itself is a really good movie. "How to Train Your Dragon" is a movie that children of all ages will love. The CGI dragons are very cool to look at and the special effects are terrific. I call it the "Jurassic Park" of animated movies. The movie was surprisingly darker than other animated movies. It dealt with many themes about trust. I really enjoyed "How to Train Your Dragon". The movie is very fun to watch, it is very entertaining, and it deserved to be nominated "Best Animated Feature" at the Academy Awards. If you know any kids who like animated movies, I recommend telling them to check out "How to Train Your Dragon". It was one of the best animated movies of 2010.
Teen, 15 years old Written byWRESTLING246 October 2, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cool Movie

How To Train Your Dragon is a Fantastic movie for all ages Its Animation and Acting are both Fantastic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 29, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My Favorite Ever!

This is the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life! Some of the fighting scenes are a bit dark but it sure packs some epic action! Wait 'till you're a bit older so you can enjoy and understand the sub-plots, though. Such as Hiccup's relationship with his father. Give this movie a shot! It's better than Frozen. And Toy Story 3 by a lot. Yeah. I just said that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byjohnstewart September 12, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

okay for 7+

sex/nudity: 1/5 - some kissing. also, when a small dragon comes to attack a group, one of them says "he's like the size of my" and is interrupted. violence/gore: 3/5 - some references to killing etc. Some sheeps are taken by dragons. language: 1/5 - nothing that i remember, but there is if you count "god" as a swear. drinking/drugs/smoking: 1/5 - vikings are seen in a tavern, maybe drinking some ail. scariness: 3.5/5 - some of the dragons can be scary. Total: 2/5 - PG level, okay for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byCozymonster Bigman August 18, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The best movie of the century!!!!

I loved it for three reasons: 1( The characters were awesome! (Except for the part when Toothless and Hiccup are going on a stroll downtown and bump into Astrid and Hiccup kept saying "Hi, Astrid." 3 times. That was wierd.) 2( The action sequences, cinematography, animation and orchastral music were awesome! And 3( It has a message about trusting your instincs, loving one another and standing up for what's right.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byNicky12345 August 18, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

best kids movie ever

great kids movie, only one minor not even a sex scene in which Astrid falls on Hiccup.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byMavrah333 August 10, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

WORST BOOK TO FILM EVER.

Being a die hard fan of the books, I walked out of the cinema with tears in my eyes. From Toothless to the entire backstory, everything has been Americanised (ok) but also ruined (boo). Worst film of 2010. Don't see it. You may notice the innapropriate mark on this. DREAMWORKS HAS NO RIGHT TO CORRUPT AND POISON THE MINDS OF CHILDREN. HOW DARE THEY RUNI PERHAPS THE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK SERIES OF ALL TIME! The LOTR and Hobbit films were great book-film adaptions, but I am sending a letter to DreamWorks to complain about this (pauses) dragon dung...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 29, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
One of the best animated films ever. With action, adventure, humour , heart and some tame romance, THIS is what you call a masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byoriginalpyromaniac March 1, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies of all time

Personally, I normally don't go for kids movies. I watch a lot of movies such as Silver Linings Playbook, Eden, and Sucker Punch, some of the more violent movies but still have great story lines. But this movie is by far one of my favorite movies of all time. It has a great main message, telling kids that no matter whether you get picked on or whether you don't, no matter how smart you are or how strong you are, you can always end up being a hero. Hiccup is one of the greatest role models I've seen in a movie to-date. Every single person in his town is disappointed in him, don't believe he can accomplish anything, and he knows it. He knows how much the entire village wishes he was something he's not, but he doesn't change. Granted, he tried to for about half the movie, but he put his own thoughts before the ones of his village, by saving and keeping Toothless. There's quite a bit of implied violence, but that's to be expected in a movie about vikings. None of the violence is actually shown, it's all implied. The most violence in the entire movie was the giant dragon, and even that the dragon had such a look as to look slightly ridiculous. There's a couple of kisses, so the sexuality is minimum, and the only elements of swearing there are ones that kids would laugh at and assume don't actually exist, except for the one instance of "hell" which, even though I've seen this movie about a thousand times, I can't even remember when it happened.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages