All member reviews for Howl's Moving Castle

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 68 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old May 28, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

howls moving castle

i think that this movie is very good and i love to watch this!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKryten40000 November 19, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Animi at it's Best

A great movie. For kids 6 and Up. It talks about basic moral issues such as Accepting who you are. It is hardly Scary, yet some toddlers may be frightened by the Witches' "Blob Men". Never the less the movie is a great thing to watch.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of the best animations out there.

It is one of my favorite movies by Miyazaki and I really enjoy watching it with friends and family. Very touching story and it reminds me of the Chronicles of Christomanci. It's a really great film. :)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old February 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

teen,15 year old

its cool but too much violence
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old July 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good or bad?

Its a really nice movie! i saw it on cartoon network myself! He has a really good plot. Come see it now!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byExoves March 5, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

An all-round masterpiece

Fantastic. Masterpiece. Some of the best stuff there is. It is nothing like the book. I reccomend it for everyone, well maybe not a one year old. But you get the picture. The role models are terrific,*laughs* (thinks of Howl). Must see. Oh, Hayao Miyazaki is a genius. I'd say everyone should see it sometime in their lives, but thats just me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 14, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really Good Movie

My second Ghibli movie. It was really good. I recommend watching it as a family, though. The only reason is because of some really scary scenes and some romance (and kissing!) between the two main characters, Howl and Sophie. If you are looking for magic, action, and fun, this is the movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpenceReviews July 17, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Incredible Miyazaki Film

Howl's Moving Castle is an amazing movie. The voice actors are great, the dialogue is well written, and the visuals are breathtaking. The movie does have some scary scenes, usually because of the Witch of the Waste's henchmen. The story is enjoyable and well made. Overall Howl's Moving Castle is a fantastic movie for all ages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old February 8, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

GOOD!

This was a great film.Also a love story. Some violence.Hayao did it again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bylaurensb September 2, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

One of Ghibli's Best

This is a great movie for almost all ages. Some scary things, but nothing that would give your kids nightmares. Sophie and Howl are good role models. The animation is amazing! Studio Ghibli never disappoints. Beautiful animation combined with the music of Joe Hisaishi is a lovely combination. It makes you think of a simpler time and the whole thing is just magical.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 1, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Howl's Moving Castle Has Everything That Makes an Fabulous Movie!!!!

This is The 4th Miyazaki Movie I Have Seen (Out of 9) and There is a Bit if Scariness, But Miyazaki always Puts a Little Creepiness In All of His movies. Nothing That an 8 Year Old Can't Handle. But This Movie is One of Best Movies I Have Ever Seen!!!! It Has Breathtaking Animation and An Outstanding Plot. It Really Shows What Miyazaki Can Do. This Movie HAS To Be On The Top 50 Best Movies Ever Made.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 12, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Howls Moving Castle Review

I love this movie!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 11, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

My 2nd Favorite Myazaki movie.

This is my 2nd favorite Myazaki movie. 1 is Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. There's some violence, and some scary scenes. There's also good role models. I say 7 and up because older kids will appriciate it more.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLaff November 19, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good

Great for kids who love fantasy
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 4, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good movie!

Howl's Moving Castle is a great movie. It is one of the few Myazaki movies that younger kids can watch, unlike some of his other movies. My sister is 4 years old and loves it. A little violence--a war in the back ground--and smoking--various characters smoke cigars but there are several positive messages like " believe in your self" and "war is bad"
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 24, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good Movie. Not the best, but good.

Hmm. I wouldn't call this the best movie ever, but it is great. The blob men might be scary, when Howl is a bird, and some scenes of scariness. You need to watch this movie. ;) (And for people who have seen Spirited Away, When Howl is a younger boy, he looks like Haku:)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazy4books June 7, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Whimsical Anime Story of Bravery and Kindness

This movie was a sweet and whimsical anime story bravery and kindness. In the movie Sophie teaches Howl to be generous and not cowardly. But this movie has some war scenes and creepy blob men. All in all, though, it was a cute story that I enjoyed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag April 3, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Another Miyazaki masterpiece. Kind of tame, mature themes.

"Howl's Moving Castle" is a fantasy anime by critically acclaimed director/writer Hayao Miyazaki. Like his foemer movies, also this one is something brilliant and very thoughtful, kind of emotional, gives goosebumbs at some parts and has just a beautiful script. It is also beautiully animated. This is a movie that most children will enjoy, but i especially recommend this to adults, because i think they will recognize the art behind this movie. If you have seen "Princess Mononoke" first, then know, that "Howl's moving castle" is not nearly as violent as this movie. However, it has its moments and is not as family-friendly as "Kiki's Delivery Service". The movie is a very fairytale-like story, but set in a terrifying war scenario. You see some bombings and apocalyptic images. However, it is not disturbing. A heart is a strong plot element, but it is never clearly seen, always hidden by flames. One scene, where Howl is all covered in slime can be scary to younger viewers. However, the movie is not too strong. This movie has messages, that optical look can never be as important as inner beauty. Suitable for viewers 8 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byITickleOstriches February 18, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

OMG

LOL! Mildly scary blob-men...
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages