All member reviews for I Am Sam

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 10 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byHolyfire November 18, 2009
age 7+
 
i love this movie cos of the message it passes across to everyone.it is a movie that teaches parents to love and create time for their children and all cost.it teaches love (healty)and the power of true friendship
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovieboss August 18, 2011
age 12+
 

I was moved two blocks.

Full of good messages... and bad language. A moving film, too. Will teach kids about the hardships of actually being retarded. One use of f--k and multiple uses of god---n. For those who are dating, this is an absolute date movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byiamseanpenn May 15, 2011
age 7+
 

favorite movie

favorite movie. I cried so much in this movie. He is such a great actor.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCranberryGirl December 28, 2013
age 11+
 

I Am Sam

I absolutely loved this movie. It was a sentimental tear-jerker, and just heartwarming and everything like that. I would definitely recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieGuy23 June 16, 2011
age 15+
 

i am sam is an obvious, but lovely film.

i am sam is certainly a good film. The movie showcases Sean Penn and Michelle Pfeiffer at the top of their games. Dakota Fanning also gives a warm performance. Although dramatically obvious and full of cliche', it will still tug those tears right out of your eyes. Note to parents: A fine film, but there is plenty of curses here, plus Sam's disability may be too intense for younger kids to handle. Even some teens might not be able to handle it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bykelsey805 April 18, 2011
age 13+
 

great movie!! :)

so i personally think this movie is FANTASTIC, although i'm not to crazy about the language, it's still a great movie, and if you can look past that then well that's good. also it is very emotional so b/c of the language and the fact that it's emotional, i wouldn't recommend watching it with younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBob. jk my name... November 2, 2010
age 14+
 

Commonsensemedia FAILS!

I can't believe how common sense media missed the consumerism! Product placement is everywhere! They talk about how iHop is the best, He buys "Huggies" diapers (Que zoom in on label), He works at STARBUCKS, (Zooms in on every starbucks logo in the store, talk about how everything in starbucks is a good tasty choice) I've only seen a small bit of this movie so far, but the consumerism is DEFINITELY noticeable! The reviewers really messed up on this one!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 19, 2009
age 12+
 

Awesome movie. Language may be too mature for kids

This movie brought me to tears. Sean Penn is such a great actor; everyone in that movie did a wonderful job.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 April 17, 2009
age 11+
 

Extremely good movie

Sean Penn gives THE BEST male performance besides Eastwood in Gran Torino I've ever seen, and the plot is absolutely magical and works well with each actor's talents.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 29, 2009
age 12+
 

absolutly amazing

this is a sweet, heart warming film, with an amzing cast and phonomonal acting! the language is pretty heavy, but teens will understand the content.
What other families should know
Too much swearing