Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for I, Robot

Common Sense says

Will Smith almost redeems generic man vs. machine actioner.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 23 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 69 reviews
Adult Written byseth k. December 9, 2017

amazing

very good family movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byhola man April 9, 2008

it rocks my socks!!!!

this movie is tied for my favorite movie which the other is i am legend will smith rocks he is my favorite actor and one of my favorite song artists this movie has lots of action it has some causing but i still think 8+ can watch
Adult Written byPatrick M. September 30, 2018

I robot is good

I first watched this film at 4 years old I loved it damn and hell aren't bad words and sex is minimal. Other language isn't that bad and violence is directed at robots mostly. Will Smith is his same old funny self and although not the best movie is pretty good. It's a classic
Adult Written byiliescu July 31, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byseth1 May 31, 2015

great movie

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byeddieandj February 20, 2015
Adult Written byjoseboy6799 August 13, 2012

i robot

cool film, saw a pirate copy from a hoiliday resort so u kept seing people walking at the bottem of the screen. place is called tregongeeves hoiliday cottages. overall a good tweens film but occasionly strong language and strong violence. mild sex references

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byshannon x October 1, 2010
i think this is fine, my little brother had watched it and he is and no issues there i just think that milder kids should be caustioned but its relatively fine and we can t wrap kids in cotton wall there gonna seee swearing everywhere we cant stop it so i think this is a excellent film for all ages except under 5's cause they could get slightly scared
Parent Written byPlague January 25, 2010

I, Robot

An outstanding Will Smith movie. Great action will no gore but very little blood. Intense human vs. robot fighting scenes that make this movie that much better,

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009

great movie a real classic

very good will smith movie you could call it classic lots of action and drama mild violence worth watching and buying 12 and over for the drama
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 26, 2009

A MUST SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a very good and entertaining movie. A MUST SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byCastellanos June 29, 2009

Entertaining, Will Smith Action Movie

I, Robot is very different than the book. If you go to this movie expecting a paper-to-screen transformation, you'll be disappointed in that aspect. However, that is probably the only aspect of this movie you could be disappointed by. Will Smith is a superb actor and the director creates a realistic future world. The plot develops through the movie and builds up to a satisfying finale. If you're in the mood for a PG-13, Sci-fi, action movie, this one of the best. Parents should know that I, Robot has a lot of action violence, mostly involving robots v.s. humans where robots are torn to bits and humans are thrown about, however it is almost all bloodless though. There is PG-13 swearing (s**ts, a*shole, jacka*s) and a side profile of a naked will smith (nothing visible).
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009

It's OK for preteens, really.

It had a lot of product placements, but I didn't care. But they may concern others. The film was more suspenseful/scary than violent

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTsion January 10, 2009

An Engaging and Thoughtful Thriller!

I, ROBOT is well worth seeing. It promotes much thought and discussion and has an intriguing plot, plus great acting and special effects. But can your kids see it? Sex is minor, with one very mild innuendo and two three-second scenes where you see Will Smith and his girlfriend in the shower (seperately). His backside is barely visible and steam covers everything but her shoulders and head. Language is constant "s**t" is used at least a dozen times and there are heavy uses of "d**n", "a*s" and "SOBs" too. There are big bangs, clashes, explosions, and gunfights, but the only gore is some bloody scrapes on Will Smith (once he briefly spits out blood). There is a very tense scene where a young girl and Will Smith are seen in a car sinking in a lake, and a robot saves Will Smith instead of her (setting into motion his hatred of robots). This is a great film, and fine fare for teenagers and adults.
Adult Written bystan April 9, 2008

I liked it, but...

I talked my wife into going to this movie with our 5 yr. girl & 7 yr. boy First ten minutes of the movie I was thinking I should have left the kids home. Language was the big issue. The brief nudity is not a big deal. There is violence and death issues. We have talked to our kids about death and violence, but still feel this movie might have been too much for them to handle....The movie is very good. Effects are great.
Adult Written byfivebewe April 9, 2008

Will is great; dumb story line

I love Will Smith...he was his usual great self in this one...but I thought the overall story was a dud. The robot-chasing-the-car was over-kill. I left mildly entertained, but would not recommend it to anyone as a GREAT movie.It is one I'd let my kids see (13 and 16); there were really few "disturbing" elements. A few tense moments when the robots take over Chicago, but its short-lived and kinda dumb.I'll be glad to see Will in another role like "Enemy of the State." THAT is a nail biter!!
Adult Written byaznwitchgal April 9, 2008
Adult Written byPapaBarrer April 9, 2008

Not for the Younguns!

Good action movie - Will Smith is great! His budding acceptance of Sonny is a good subplot. R rating for violence and language, but I'd let my 14-year old watch it without my thumb on the remote.
Adult Written bydudeman123 April 9, 2008

best movie ever caution for kids under 14

this is a great movie probably one of the best i have seen this movie has loads of language and has many scenes of voilence
Adult Written byHaloFreak123 April 9, 2008

Pages