All member reviews for Ice Princess

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 26 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

its great

This movie is great, I loved it! I think that girls 7-14 will think it is cool.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byj♥j♥f♥ July 28, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Cute and inspiring, but very unrealistic

Overall, "Ice Princess" was a good movie. There were many positive messages and scenes; for example, when Casey persevered through all those figure skating obstacles and overcame them all. However, some parts were completely unrealistic; for example, Casey was barely able to perform a decent toe-loop jump, but then suddenly, she "accidentally" landed a double toe-loop. I have been figure skating for about 8 1/2 years and am currently working on my double jumps; believe me, that is impossible. I'm sure even Kim Yu-Na or Michelle Kwan could not have done that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byxtorix90210x November 1, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
i love this movie, & i saw it when i was about 10. Casey is a really good role model- smart, pretty, and hard-working. it shows that you can live your life the way YOU want to, and no one should stop that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byshanno15 May 11, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Disney done somthing right with this movie

My favorite disney movie! Great pace, awesome acting, good story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 2, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

shallow.

I have to say, the plot is not that interesting. The ice-skating scenes are not that good, and the acting is second-rate.
Teen, 14 years old Written byzaneybraney12 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I Fell Asleep!!

This movie is so little kids. I litteraly fell asleep!! They should try harder for a different plot. But some parts were good.
Teen, 16 years old Written bypepsicola147 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Oh my gosh...

This movie was insanely... Disney. If you want a totally child-safe movie, this is it. I personally didn't like it, but the worst part is probably the main character fighting with her mom. Definitely a go if you want a movie for the young kids.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysunflowerscatsbooks April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

very cute and touching

This movie has a great message about following your dreams. It is a great movie for younger girls and their mothers.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Ice Princess

This movie is great except sometimes they say the word butt. Your daughter will love love love this movie!!!!!
Kid, 9 years old January 1, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Wowed my Expectations

The first time I watched this movie was when I was in the plane going to Los Angeles and when I saw it, I didn't want to watch it since it said ''Princess'' in it but I watched it anyways and it was way better then I thought.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 30, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for Younger Kids

Okay movie, just kind of boring as it was extremely slow-paced. My nine year old sister loved it though, so I guess younger kids would enjoy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 2, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Ice Lover

Polite, squeaky clean movie fine for all ages but should have more interesting parts!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byemily101998 May 21, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

An Average Movie

Its a pretty good movie, kinda average.The lead actress Michelle acts really badly in it, but Hayden Pattenerie acts phenomenally well along with Joan Cusack!!
Teen, 17 years old Written byshya August 1, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a sweet and enchanting movie for preteen girls.

The story of Ice Princess is a story based on a girl who wants to achieve her dream of becoming an ice skater with out disappointing her own mother, in which though out the drama must she make a choice that could her life's course: Harvard and a mothers pride or Ice Skating and fame? The movie of Ice Princess teaches many girls on how important it is to follow your dreams and to make your own choices and it teaches mothers and fathers to not project their dreams on their daughters and sons in which I believe is important to learn. A great movie, sweet and enchanting for preteen girls like me.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthernNights June 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
It is okay, but the girls are snappy and snobby half of the time, at least the blonde girl became nice..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

OK

This movie is very good. It is a wonderful story about a girl who dreams of being an ice skatter. But her mom wants her to go to harvard. So the girl does everything she can to follow her own dream and not someone elses. Although there is some mild iffy stuff like some use of the word "stupid" or "you look hot!" and some kissing between teens. Also for vilonce there is about a 3 second shot of a very painful looking injury. Besides these very little things it's OK!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

GREAT

This movie is pritty good girls ages 7-13 or 14 are going to love it!!!! i know i did!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinjo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Cute movie...

I thought that this was a cute movie. It definitely inspires little girls to try hard and follow their dreams. I think I was a little old for it, but kids around 7-9 would like it.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a timeless movie!!!

you and your daghters will feel lucky that you have the love and care you need to live.

Pages