All member reviews for Independence Day

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 41 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

America's Popcorn Flick

From the first minute of viewing, I implore you to set your brain to power-saving mode; if you initiate any sentient thought, or thought in general, as to the validity of the plot, characters, setting, or any detail of this movie, you will find yourself monumentally disappointed with why and what you spent at the cinema. This is a popcorn flick, pure and simple. It is meant for those that choose to enjoy explosions for the sake of explosions, and fighting for the sake of wiping out an alien race within two days of their arrival, which is completely realistic, if you don't think about it. Have fun!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old March 9, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Not to realistic(I've seen to much new movies). Good movie tho.
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovieLover1117 September 8, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Perfect For 5 Year Olds

I Hate This Movie... I Thought It'd Be Okay (Cause I Had Nothing To Watch) But No It's Just Plain Old HORRIBLE
Teen, 13 years old Written bybtoc007 December 28, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Independence day

This movie has a lot of swearing mostly the f word and b word. It also has some aliens that will smith and his gang try to kill. There are some pretty cool scenes in this movie though. This is a good apocalyptic movie. Mostly because it is not as scary as other apocalypse movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaithamB June 20, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Entertaining, but rather disappointing.

Independence Day is not a bad movie, it is fun, entertaining summer blockbuster. Despite, the movie does have some flaws, including the lack of character development and a thin cardboard cutout plot. It could have been more interesting if they dig deeper into the characters' feelings and the past of the aliens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

awsome

Very fun movie with cool special FX.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wicked Good

At times it was unbearably sad and depressing. I am 11. But I think this movie is amazing, and good for 13-year-olds. One scene involves strippers and I was a little disturbed. The movie, in short, was awesome. There is a lot of swearing. Mostly from Will Smith. There are lots of air battles and wicked explosions. My favorite part was right after the gross part, when they had to dissect an alien. Then my favorite part was when an alien talks through a human. You will be grossed, freaked, and scared out of your mind watching this one. But in a good way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 15, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Really good film.

This film had great graphics, action, and everything. Remember: Don't let kids watch it.
Teen, 17 years old Written byMimi Moo March 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Unoriginal, but still fun to watch; 12 and up

An (un-original) story about aliens invading Earth. Starring Will Smith your kid will definitely want to watch it. Some language. A dissection of an alien may scare younger kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by17588218731912 January 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great Scifi action movie.

I really genuinely enjoyed this movie. You learned about the characters at the beginning, unlike most action films now a days that go straight to the explosions. The special effects are great for 1996, and not all too much. The aliens aren't that scary, only when the supposedly dead one becomes alive and strangles someone. Many many people die, and many famous landmarks are destroyed. In the end, it's the cable guy David that saves the world, so I guess it's showing that even if your not in the position of power you can still help. There is some sexual content, like a couple sleeping in the same bed, a man using the bathroom(though you see nothing explicit), a short scene of a strip club and women in skimpy outfits, but that's pretty much it. There's a lot of action and death as the cities are blown up, and swearing, but no 'F-bomb'. In the end, the world comes together and corporates with each other to destroy the Aliens, with even the president helping in the fight. In all, this movie is awesome, and I think a movie that most people will thoroughly enjoy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 15, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

INDEPENDENCE DAY

Will Smith stops aliens from destroying the world. Probably the basis for MIB.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow May 31, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Nice Emmerich film with great CGI

This was a great landmark in CGI history. Roland Emmerich once again proves to be a phenomenol director, and the film's acting was very nice. The character development was slightly off, but that is all compensated by it's splended visuals. There is a suggestive scene in a strip club, as well as some language and drinking, but Russell does proves to be a good role model for sacrificing himself to destroy one of the alien ships, the President is a great leader, and David's Jewish father is very kind. This is my second favorite Emmerich film, after 2012 and Godzilla, respectively. Sustained, campy fun for all ages!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My Report.

Ill admit. It totally caught me off guard When that alien in area 51Got up. And the Club? A night Club? REALLY? Sure, Ill give ya that on the clothes. But actual Clubs are worse :L. This movie is pretty nice. My favorite parts when the presidents all like,''Nuke Em!" The violence? Practically nothing. Just, You know, Buildings Go boom, Like unsatisfied Nine Year olds like to see :D Really, Nothing in detail. The aliens, Are not like, Xenomorphs in Alien! They are, Those big eyed things :D And also, They like lasers :D. Language? B**Ch, D**n, Sh*t. Other than that, You can miss out easily :D Thanks For Reading! And BTW some cigars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

very good movie

steven smokes heavy cigars (he gets david to smoke at the end) and shows a aliens body killing a man. many explosions and uses of sh*t and a**. but no big concern, its a great movie. will smith, jeff goldblum, and bill pullman's best performence.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieReviewGuy July 19, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for 12+

•Movie Review: Independence Day •Recommended Age: 12 •Sexual Content: Two unmarried characters are shown lying in bed.  There is a brief club scene, where a character, along with many other women, are shown in revealing clothing; the woman dances suggestively.  •Violence: Lots of destruction; buildings collapse, crushing people. Cities light on fire, many people are shown injured or dead.  A character is strangled.  An alien is shot and killed.  An alien telepathically tortures a man, before they shoot the alien.  Lots of other violence concerning an alien invasion; aliens fire big lasers, crush buildings, shoot down planes, etc.  •Profanity: B*stard,  Son of a b**ch, Sh*t, Other mild language (h*ll, d*mn, etc.) •Positive Messages: Self-sacrifice to save others you love, standing up for yourself (or in this case your entire planet), etc.  •Consumerism: None.  •Drugs, Smoking, Drinking: None.  Check out more complete, detailed reviews from MovieReviewGuy! commonsensemedia.org/user/moviereviewguy (If you like this review, please give it a good rating!)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byTamsin Johnson July 14, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Unbelievable.

Well sci-fi films and disaster movies tend to follow the same story line, for example independence day seems to follow an almost identical story line to films such as 2012 and the war of the worlds. You get the same old boring characters, meeting up in unlikely situations throughout the film and for the 'climax' you get a unrealistic survival to top it all off. I suppose if you like special effects then this is the film for you, however when you see the alien, it makes the whole film even tackier and kind of like a stupid comedy, you know the ones where you see somebody like simon pegg running away from a massive slimy alien with tenticles. Put it this way, if independence day was meant to be a comedy, well worth watching, however it is meant to be a serious film, so unless you're looking for a laugh and to poke some fun at a film, then this is the one to watch. If not, then seriously, don't bother.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytwilightfan2459 April 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
luv it, the movie tht got me into the whole sc fi scene and neva turned bk the acting is amazing and everytime i watch it i notice something i havent b4 and thts like 10 times im not obsessed but luv it lol will smith is amazing on it!! XD gr8 4 nyone
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 23, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

stupid story

i absolutly hate this movie i don't get the story! the whole world being attacks by aliens. stupid conseped. there is some sex and alot of violence but not alot of cursing. don't waste your time watching this over 3 hour long movie. it sucks like heck.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bytransformersdar... February 22, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Violence: Buildings Explode , Ships ECT.. Language: Son Of A B*ch, D*mn , What The Hell , Sh*t , Bullsh*t ,B*stard,A*s Hole, A*s, Sex: A Woman Job Is To Be A Stripper. The Reason I Rate This On For 12+ is because the language is almost unhearable, and the violence is almost only in one scene
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

fun movie for 8 and up

This movie is pretty hard to take seriously, which makes it actually pretty funny. There is a lot of bad language and one guy gets drunk. The special effects are really cool when they destroy New York, LA, and DC. Overall, a pretty fun, entertaining movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages