All member reviews for Independence Day

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Nonstop over-the-top fun for teens and up.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 54 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

fun movie for 8 and up

This movie is pretty hard to take seriously, which makes it actually pretty funny. There is a lot of bad language and one guy gets drunk. The special effects are really cool when they destroy New York, LA, and DC. Overall, a pretty fun, entertaining movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

July 2nd 1996 .... Not A Good Day!!!!!

Set In 1996 July 2nd, Normal Citizens Face Their Worst Fears... Alien Invasion!!!! When 15 Mile Wide Spaceships Come To Attack All Over The World, The President Of America Takes Action!!!! This Fantastic Box Office Action Packed Smash Stars Will Smith, Jeff Goldblum & Bill Pullman. A Must See If You've Seen: The Day After Tommorow, Godzilla And Eight Legged Freaks.
Kid, 9 years old July 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good moive

a good moive i like it kids 9+ will love it
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJustjr92 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Must See!!!

This is one of the funnest movie that I have ever seen! Nonestop action and fun is th way this movie rolls!
Kid, 7 years old December 8, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I think it is too much violent for my kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPoifdoodle November 16, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byjrenee56 May 23, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Global Swarming gives new meaning to July 4th

It took many heroes to save the world in this movie, and some of them were unlikely heroes that ranged from the President of the United States to a delusional alcoholic crop duster living in a trailer with his kids in New Mexico. There were several relationship sub-plots and twists in the movie including the father who thought his son was a cable TV repairman when he was really an MIT graduate working as a satellite technician for the cable company. The aliens (both living and preserved) did not look cheesy. The simulated disaster footage lacked realism by today's standards but still got its point across. This was a story on a global scale - an extrememly ambitious undertaking - but I think they pulled it off!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old June 22, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

its was my favorite movie as a kid

this movie was really good some bad stuff in it but i watched it when i was like 5 or 4 language mild violence mild also overall its a good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Kablooie!

This movie is lots of fun except for the scene with the strip club that's dumb.
Adult Written byKitsune87 December 20, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTsion May 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun, But NOT for Kids...

INDEPENDENCE DAY is corny, unrealistic, and completely far-fetched. It's also fun and exciting, but not for kids. The film is very violent, and there are some disturbing sequences where whole cities are wiped out (one particular scene, where everyone fleeing a city is consumed by a fiery explosion is too intense for kids). In addition, ships are exploded, aliens and people are zapped with lasers and missles, and there's one frightening scene where a scary alien kills everyone in a lab, then takes possession of one man and makes him speak the alien's thoughts. Sex is iffy too, with some subtle innuendos, a man obsessed with sexual abuse by aliens, and a brief shot of a stripper theater (no nudity, but extremely scanty clothes). A boy tries to get his girlfriend to have sex with him by saying "this might be our last night on Earth. You don't want to die a virgin, do you?" Her brother snatches her away before anything happens. Language is some "a*s"s, several "SOB"s and "s**t"s, and numerous "d**n"s and "h*ll"s.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byluke3854 May 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
A great movie for the family , I always watch it on Independence day, not a lot wrong i first saw this at 10
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

war of the worlds is better

Adult Written byJEDI micah May 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

WE'RE NOT ALONE AFTER ALL!!!

This is one of the best alien movies ever! For a movie that was made in the mid 90's, the special effects are truly impressive! But like other alien movies, there's plenty of violence and total destruction, and some other adult content. That's why I suggest this movie is ok for kids ages 13 and up. It's a great movie! I love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySomebodysMe September 5, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

this is for all sci fi lovers over 12

For all sci fi fans, this is for you!! i absoluteley love this film, even though there are some scary scenes and anyone under 12 shouldnt watch it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byferraris_rock April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Awesome, Action-Packed Movie

**I am 13, not 12, whatever my screen name says** I absolutely loved the movie. The visual effects were purely amazing, and an alien film that wasn't corny or so predictable is always good. Will Smith had a great preformance (as usual). It has good lessons about all people uniting against a common enemy, such as Isreal and Palestine, and eventual success against incredible odds. There is quite a bit of profanity and a lot of alcohol, but the violence is mostley explosions and missiles, and no blood (except blue alien blood during a surgery).
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 November 14, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14+

This is a great movie, but it contains some really shocking violence, and also some s**ual content. 14+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 15, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

INDEPENDENCE DAY

Will Smith stops aliens from destroying the world. Probably the basis for MIB.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages