All member reviews for Into the Wild

Common Sense Media says

Powerful, tragic true story is too heavy for kids.
 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bynickchick15004 December 31, 2010
 

LOVE IT

awesome movie. i watched it when i was 11 and it did not effect me but this movie is for older teens. love it so so much i love the song kristen sings in the movie again love love love love love love love love love this movie
Adult Written byTonyTheJet April 3, 2011
 

Primary Message Probably Lost on Most Viewers

I know that my review is contradictory, because my concern is about the message of the film, and one of the highlights is also the message of the film. This is because it is clear from the reviews above that one of the primary messages of the film is lost on people who are watching it. I think one of the most powerful messages that this story teaches is that while there is beauty and adventure to be found in nature, the real natural world is even harsher and more unforgiving than the industrial world, and the same struggle of power and greed repeat themselves--to and even more astonishing degree--in the natural world. In fact, Chris' assertion towards the end of the the film that true happiness is not found in human interactions is quickly dashed to pieces after 4 months in the Alaskan wilderness, at which point he writes that happiness is only possible when shared, or something to that extent. The film truly highlights the power of human interaction, and that enjoying nature fully can only be achieved when we have the support and love of other humans around us.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
 

A powerful and tragic movie

Wow. Wow. Wow. These are the only words that my lips could produce after seeing this beautifully tragic and altogether moving film. (I'm terrible with names and haven't seen this for a while, so I'll try my best) It tells the story of Chris (?), a 20-something college graduate who is destined for Harvard (or was it Stanford?). He has outstanding grades, seemingly endless money, and stuffy parents; the perfect Harvard (Stanford) formula. When his parents give him a arge sum of money as a graduation present, he is apalled. He sees it perfectly fine to drive an old car and is happy with the diploma he has, to his parents' strong disapproval. As his Harvard (Stanford) days near, Chris (?) decides to burn his money, destroy his credit cards, take off his license plates, and change his name (though not legally). He starts out for the Alaskan wilderness, and meets many friends along the way. These include a flamboyant hippie couple, a dutch couple who long to see Mexico and a farmer (Vince Vaughn) who is in trouble with the law. As many know, Chris's journey ends tragically, with him dying of starvation, but that doesn't make the film feel depressing or gloomy. My only complaint is this: Chris (?) never forgave his parents,and acts in an EXTREMELY immature matter toward them, though he advises others to forgive and forget, making him something of a hypocrite. As far as content, there's really nothing TOO suggestive here: there's some non-sexual nudity (full frontal, though) and brief strong language. So, 12 year-olds, probably not (I was fine) but anyone older should be fine and to those of you older, SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Adult Written byLBell April 9, 2008
 

definatley a must see!

Parent of a 10, 15, 17, and 17 year old Written byadvisor.com March 22, 2015
 

Bloody Anazing!!

Wow. One word. Wow. This movie is f*cking epic! My ten year old was completely mature about this-more so than my fifteen year old, even! Jacob (15) did enjoy the sex scenes (esp. the boobs!) in particular, and my ten year old was swearing constantly (f*ck off, suck my cock, for example, however! Although, he does get this from his older brothers, as well! My 17 year old, in his words, thought this was sh*t-although he would only be satisfied with porn! This movie included brief sex, full frontal nudity, inconsistent swearing and extremely emotional scenes! However, my ten year old shall not be watching again, due to the swearing! My fifteen and seventeen yearbooks lads, however, shall continue to venture out into the madness of 18+ rated movies! This movie, in my personal opinion, is bloody amazing! However, parents should be cautious of sex, swearing and perhaps drinking/smoking/drugs!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byzeekattacklee February 14, 2015
 

Step into the Wild..

Besides the A few scenes of nudity and it's amount of strong language, The Film does go by a a nice and interesting film about a man who escapes into the wilderness.. On that note, I would want to use caution when letting a younger child watch this. Otherwise, A great film For older teenagers and Adults..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old December 16, 2014
 

My parents love this movie!

My parents (including my mom), love this movie because of the singer Eddie Vedder. I don't think kids of all ages should watch this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byVanilla611 February 20, 2012
 

Great movie but tragic

I would not recommend it for my age. I only watched it because I love Emile hirsch and i did really well in school. Very sad movie but Emile hirsch is an amazing actor
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bylmtrav February 3, 2012
 

Really good and thought provoking movie but not for kids

This movie is very, very good, but it is very mature and has some dark undertones. There is some pretty strong language that is used throughout and some nudity several times as well. There is also some thematic material that may be too heavy for younger kids to handle. However, it is an excellent movie, and I think you really get more out of it when you are old enough to understand it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydudeman123 April 9, 2008
 

One of the years bests

For starters this is a great movie probably the best of 2007. It wont be very appealing to younger teens because the movie seems very slow at points but in the end it makes it that much better. This is also one of the few movies that lives up to the book.
Teen, 14 years old Written bythomas_babygirl April 9, 2008
 

lovvvvvvvvve it

i abosutley loooooooooovvvvvveeeeedddddd this movie it was sad tho icried through like half the movie but overall it was a great movie