All member reviews for It (1990)

Common Sense Media says

Stephen King pits kids vs. killer clown from hell.

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bybtoc007 December 28, 2014

Steven Kings It

This is a good horror movie for young kids to watch. I would recommend showing this movie to your kids before something like Nightmare on Elm streat or Friday the 13th. This movie has a lot of unexpected moments so always expect the unexpected. This movie is mostly about a killer clown who kills children and he lives in the drain.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymad gamer July 16, 2014

its not scary but creepy

The movie is about a creepy clown who scares and kills children the thing that creeps me out is certain scenes but the clown normally says something funny or says a cheesy joke which kind of stops the fear the carnival music in one scene creeped me out but if your kid is a brave ten year old this movie would probably be ok for them
Teen, 13 years old Written byfizzlepaper March 16, 2014

Commonsense choses to young of age

I've seen this movie and although what commonsense says is true and that most of the bad stuff is kept off screen. It's the suspense that really makes it bad. The movie is SO suspenseful that it is unlikely that 1 out of three children under ten will be traumatized
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old December 18, 2013

Don't You Want A Balloon?

An amazing MINISERIES! This is what get's people. Why say Why is this movie so long when you don't know the truth. Stop. Please. They are miniseries. Tim Curry plays a child stalker, who kills them. The loser club are a group of seven kids who fight and kill the stalker, who is actually a giant tarantula. Thirty years later the loser's club reunite, but with six, as one of them has committed suicide. They again fight it, and it is finally conquered and dead. A great movie to teach kids lessons. Stephen King - How do you do it? Based on King's second longest novel, over taken by Under The Dome, this show received terrible feedback from the man - King Himself! King said if he had wrote it, it would be a thirty-two hour series, not a two-parter (hence the two-sided dvd). A recent favourite, as i love mr King, IT IS A GREAT MOVIE FOR CHILDREN TO TEACH THEM TO NEVER TALK TO STRANGERS
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2013

scary

I have not seen the whole film but ive seen half and can tell you that there are some adult themes and offscreen violence and that the second half is the kids as adults battling the creature, so probably no adult themes just some violence. Good acting and pretty good FX. scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 3, 2013

it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bystudboy24 July 3, 2013

it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bythehungergames77 January 25, 2013

Oh, Pennywise.

I think, it was, well, rather strange. It had its heartwarming moments when kids band together to stand up against bullies, and It. But, for the rest of the movie, fright.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 25, 2012

what to think about

i thought this movie was great. they do have some drinking like some were drunk and abusive. it did have cussing whitch was the d word, n, and both b words. this movie is quite violent just because of murdures and stuff like that. other wise it does have a pretty good message like dont be afraid.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byadtr_forever November 23, 2012

It.. is it.

Great movie, but some kids may not want to watch this with the violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byhomealonefan123 September 24, 2012

this Stephen King movie my be frightning for younger kids.

Just to let you know this movie has all it's killing offscreen. well most of it. this is interesting and kinda freaky. but good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 22, 2012

so fun to watch

FUNNY!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2012

Good story, but it is a bit long and the acting stinks.

It is a good horror movie that might scare younger kids. There isnt tons of violence, but one character is slapped by her husband and an evil clown is sprayed with battery acid. There is some uncalled for language, like the n word or son of a -----, and there are a few gory scens, like when blood splatters out of baloons or an eye falls out of a fortune cookie. I would say 10 and up if they aren't easily scared, 13+ if they are.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byUSCTrojan May 20, 2012

just fine

For Pre-Teens +
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 January 15, 2012

LOL!!

I still kinda remember watching this movie when I was 6 with my brother.He totally freaked out lol,but I was laughing like it was a comedy throughout the movie(i have an EXTREMELY strong stomach for gore or scares,it's like almost impossible to scare me bcuz i watch horror movies 3 to 5 times a week and ive seen every single horror movie in existence,from the first horror in the 1800s up to 2011s,yeah i swear to God thhat it's true)but the shower scene totally got me.i kinda freaked out and yelled ,didnt take a shower for a week,hahahha.
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2011

Gory movie is scary for younger kids.

This movie has a lot of gore in it, but the gore is not coming from anyone in most cases, it comes out of balloons and drains. There is a lot of noticible drinking and a man who commits a bloody suicide.There is a couple uses of a racist word but not much cussing. There is an abusive father and husband and lots of moments of sudden random movements similiar to those in paranormal activity or the sixth sense. This movie is a good horror movie if you want to watch something creepy thats not rated R.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2011

great

i watched this by myself when i was 10.wasnt scary at all.it was more disturbing than scary.over all i thought it was EPIC! :))
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 25, 2011

violent

the movie starts out with 2 people getting killed... at least it is not like paranormal activity in slowness!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 October 12, 2011

So-So Thriller

An intense so-so thriller, but sucks as a horror. Not worth watching in one sitting. The thing is 3 hours long. The violence as well as profanity and sexy stuff is at a high TV-14 or PG-13 setting. Not too harsh.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2011

good but out of the ordinary

just to let you know this isint your average horror film though it does have some classic pranks like eyeballs and crawling things inside of fortune cookies it is based off the stephen king novel IT and it is mostly targeted for adults and the movie leaves out alot of the graphic details tht the book includes i have read the book and i would have givin this movie 5 stars if it would have been more like the book plus a warning at the end of the movie (spoiler alert) when they kill IT they rip out the guts (not that graphic) of it but its not in clown form it transforms from a giant spider into a flying creature and they rip out this huge thing that looks like a giant heart or something of that sort.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages