All member reviews for It's Complicated

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old December 18, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
This is a great family movie everyone can watch with there kids. Don't let the commercial fool you because none of that actually happens this movie and it's really about the importance of sharing and kindness. You and your whole family should check out this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Kinda Corny....

This movie was kinda cheesy to me.... And boring.....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bykc Gummer June 29, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Its complicated

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great movie

Great movie. Some drugs and sex. A+.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoldforever21 February 6, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Perfect for adults and maybe for teens, but not for younger children!

I loved this movie! It was a great comedy even for teens in my opinion. There was a lot of sexual content, but overall it was very entertaining to watch. I would recommend this 15+....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGummybearxo January 13, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Iffy for tweens, So funny for teens, but no kids.

I am 13 and I saw it and didn't find it inappropriate or offensive but gave off some bad messages about "love" and divorce. It might be a bit awkward for people who's parent's recently got divorced and may give false hope about parents getting back together.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byHappilyEverAfter July 24, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

One of the best comedies I've seen in a while!

It's Complicated was, franky, hilarious! There are so many quotable lines and priceless moments. The cast was excellent as well. It's a great one for adults and upper teens, not because of too much inappropriate material, but because younger kids wouldn't really understand some of the humor and references in the film. Meryl Streep, as always, was fantastic (SPOILER: wait until you see her stoned!!!), and Alec Baldwin was just too much like a lovesick little puppy to find him repulsive. Definitely a must-see!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. June 17, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's not rated R people!

First of all, this movie wasn't rated R. When we went to pick it up at the video store, the guy said it was 14A, and sure enough, when I checked the back of the box, it was. My mom, 11 year old sister and I got it because we thought it would be a funny rom-com type movie, which it didn't turn out to be, but it covered some important issues, especially divorce and infiedelity. There are some drugs, including characters smoking a joint, but nothing you don't see at my high school. My mom covered my sister's eyes at some points, but it was nothing I hadn't seen, nor heard. The ending was dissapointing and sad though . . .
Teen, 17 years old Written byconfetti13 May 15, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Too intimidating for kids...

I really enjoyed watching this movie and laughing at the subtle humor. Because of the sexual parts of the movie, this is definitely a keep-your-eyes-CLOSED movie for any younger than 13, at least. If your children have the had the talk, it should be halfway-okay depending on maturity. But, if you want to watch it with the kids, see it without them beforehand and decide for yourself...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bylorofl April 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good movie for people over 14

I really liked this movie, for R rated there hardly was any swearing, and it didn't show hardly any nudity or most anything of what other movies do.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydwiggit101 February 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Shouldn't have been rated R

Well, I don't really know why this is rated R. It's really not that bad.There is, like, NO language at all. They don't show anyone having sex, but they show people lying in bed. There is one scene where some main characters are smoking pot, but that's about as bad as this movie gets. IT'S HILARIOUS!! :)
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 December 22, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

16+

This movie definitely contains mature s**ual content.
What other families should know
Too much sex