All member reviews for It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimboTheErradicator December 14, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

The word "blockhead" is used, among other bullying. Linus and Sally have constant sexual innuendo. Violence is shown through halloween costumes and through Snopy's "flying ace" scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 2 years old December 19, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

"you stupid blockhead"

In the 70s/80s this movie was awesome. We let my 3 yr old watch it, and should have pre-screened, as it is just a bunch of kids fighting and taunting and calling each other stupid and blockhead. We won't be watching it again. Plus my son found it a bit boring and hasn't asked to watch it again.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 4 years old November 11, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Too many unkindnesses that I didn't remember

I was so excited to show this classic to my girls! And then, every other word out of Lucy's mouth was "stupid". I have a 4 yr old and a 2 yr old and I don't want them talking like that at all. Why is it acceptable at all? It teaches kids it is ok to be unkind and the world doesn't need more unkindness.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe November 2, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Liked this my whole life

It doesn't matter if you grew out of this cartoon series or not, it's always going to be classic that will never complete Halloween if you do not watch. And, yes, this is coming from a 17-year-old (many kids say they are done with kids movies at age 17, but since I'm special, it's okay). I loved the scene when Snoopy was picturing the roof of his doghouse as the cockpit of a war plane.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byhockeyguy October 13, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great

great
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycooliobigfart11 October 29, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Okay for Family

This is an okay movie for the whole family to enjoy
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 22, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Completes a holiday.

For once, you all are right. All the Peanuts complete a holiday.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Every family should watch this video before Halloween. Its a classic.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl November 1, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Why is this off for 2?

2+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 30, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Adorable.

Awee Charlie Brown is so cute and funny! It teaches kids how to be good friends and much more. The Halloween special is also very cute because it shows children to have 'spirit' in things, which they need when they get older when children will say things like Santa or the Easter Bunny doesn't exist. I personally do not think stupid, blockhead, or good grief are bad, they're expressions even teachers use. The only serious issue is children may say them to others, as if they were a bully.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

love it

a classic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 26, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

loved it

I think this is the best classic movie ever made in the history of classics! This show is definitely for everyone of all ages!
Teen, 14 years old Written byILUVMEAT April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Am I the first one to review this?

Five words: Nothing here is an Issue. Charlie Brown specials are instant classics and were before they premiered. Its just good clean entertainment.