All member reviews for Jack Reacher

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Serviceable but forgettable Cruise thriller is very violent.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule May 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WTF was that garbage?!

Enough said.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bytruetomovies April 12, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

just bad

it was so boaring, I think I fell asleep through it, I cant even remember the point of the story. don't bother
Teen, 14 years old Written bygree43 March 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good but really intense.

Its a good movie, but I was grinding my teeth the first time I saw it. even though its not gory, its one of those "do whatever we want off-screen type of movies". Overall, a decent action flick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr Blonde January 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 8 years old July 13, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

JEALOUS!

My 8 and 11 year old friends saw it in december.THEY WERE 7 AND 11 WHEN THEY SAW IT.VERY JEALOUS!
Parent Written byjpschouest June 19, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Entertaining but Violent

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAhiena7 June 18, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome

My whole family watched this (ages 9, 11, 14, 17 and parents). I totally loved it. It was awesome. It's pretty clean except for the lady at the beginning and the language which don't disturb Me since I'm fluent in it. The violence was mild (I wish it was more violence.). But it was a great movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent of a 10 year old Written byNick's Momma May 12, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not worth the time or the rental fee

This is by far one of the worst movies Tom Cruise has ever made. Every line out of his mouth sounds like it is trying to be a new signature phase. Became so bad that we started making fun of it about half way through.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of an infant, 3, and 6 year old Written byGambleFam May 5, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Good but, PG-13? Really??

Thought this was a good, but tad long, film. Had good action scenes, with a good story which made it even more intriguing to watch. I was glued to the screen. (Notes for parents, as I'm a father of three.) I think there is way to much killing and violence for young eyes. Some brutal killing with people being shot down to a young girl being murdered by a single punch. I'm very surprised that this cleared the PG-13 rating. Overall I actually like the movie. It shows that good does prevail and that if you do wrong and kill you will be tracked down and caught or in this case killed. Tom Cruise did a great job in his roll. I recommend this movie for ADULTS, good story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 April 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Jack Reacher is suprisingly good

Jack Reacher is fun. You will have a good time watching it. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role. Overall it is enjoyable
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 24, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Jack Reacher

Jack Reacher is a decent movie. There is quite a bit of action but it can be confusing. It has some pretty intense violence, especially at the beggining when a sniper shoots innocent people. There is also a few f-words and s-words, and a little bit of blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysam varma January 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

nothing grerat

mysterious.... gets you stuck to the movie till the end but iis forgettable and nothing great
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 January 18, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fairly good action movie has lots of violence and thrills

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old January 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Me and my dad chose this between "The Impossible", and "Zero Dark Thirty."

Me and my dad Had to choose between these films: "The Impossible", "Zero Dark Thirty", and this. We chose this because dad didn't think "Zero Dark Thirty was appropriate and "The Impossible" didn't fit our schedule. Language: "Sh*t" "F*ck" is used once, "B*tch". Violence: A lot of fighting and shooting, there is a sequence of torture for nothing that a 13/14 year old can't stand. Jack Reacher is a good role-model for kids who wanna become detectives.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKatie v January 5, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Okay for 12&13 year olds

I think this movie was really good it was sort of violent in parts but the hunger games were more violent there is some swearing but for a 12 & 13 year old they should be responsible enough
Teen, 13 years old Written bysavannah5677 January 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Jack Reacher 13+

I thought this movie was very funny in a serious way. Like the characters weren't trying to be funny but acted funny if you know what i mean. The movie should be okay for ages 13+ but depends on what they can handle. The only part that bothered me was when Jack slowly broke the bad guy's wrist and arm. Another part that was hard was when another bad guy was told to bite his finger off to show loyalty and that he is willing to survive no matter what, though he did not do it. Sex was not a problem in this movie at all. There was a lot of violence and language, and one family was shown to have done drugs. In my opinion Jack Reacher was a very good movie but is not for kids under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages