All member reviews for Jack Reacher

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Serviceable but forgettable Cruise thriller is very violent.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 April 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Jack Reacher is suprisingly good

Jack Reacher is fun. You will have a good time watching it. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role. Overall it is enjoyable
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 January 18, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fairly good action movie has lots of violence and thrills

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew December 22, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very violent but exicting military movie is perfect for teens

My rating:PG-13 for military violence,brief strong language,drug use and a scene of sexuality
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnunay Maheshwari October 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

@We$oMe

It's a awesome movie. Cruise has acted very well. There is volience but not too much.
Adult Written bykarako July 21, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Should have been rated R.

A bland, sexist, plotless film with non-stop graphic violence and disturbing scenes of torture. Not for kids. I have no idea why this movie is rated PG-13 when other films with mild language and no violence get the same rating.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule May 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WTF was that garbage?!

Enough said.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Get Jack Reacher! Epic Movie.

Jack Reacher is an awesome thriller. The film has allot of guns... sniper shooting 5 people, loads of shootouts etc… The hand to hand violence is fairly moderate . Even though the bbfc gave the movie a 15 cert, you would expect blood but there isn't any which pulls down my viewing age recommendation. Also swearing is infrequent despite one F word, the language isn't too strong e.g.. bi*** and the s word - never used frequently. The threat is quite strong with a character saying "bite your fingers off" which is actually attempted. If you are the right age, you will love Jack Reacher. Totally unmissable.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bytruetomovies April 12, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

just bad

it was so boaring, I think I fell asleep through it, I cant even remember the point of the story. don't bother
Teen, 14 years old Written bygree43 March 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good but really intense.

Its a good movie, but I was grinding my teeth the first time I saw it. even though its not gory, its one of those "do whatever we want off-screen type of movies". Overall, a decent action flick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bycrusader666 February 24, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not a great movie; very violent!

Wasn't sure Tom Cruise (at five-seven) would pull it off but he did okay playing Jack Reacher (six-five, 200+ pounds) and carried the movie, which otherwise was mediocre. Lots of camera-angle tricks helped with his lack of height and it appears Cruise spent some time at the gym getting his upper body buff because his bare chest appeared to be hard as a rock in the movie, which is good for someone his age. As generally happens when books are turned into movies, fans of Jack Reacher will probably be disappointed. I am not a Reacher fan, but did read "The Killing Floor" (Book 1) and "One Shot" (Book 9), the latter of which this movie is based on, prior to watching the movie. I don't want to give away any spoilers, but the movie was a far cry from the characters Lee Child created in his books. According to news reports, Tom Cruise owns the rights to ALL Jack Reacher novels, so he will run the show (with Paula Wagner). In this first Reacher movie, more time should have been spent including characters from the book that are left out in lieu of the cheesy what-seemed-to-be-30-minute car chase, that is for sure! What amazes me is that the John Grisham movies (which the author claims to have little if any involvement in) are much closer to the books he wrote than most movies that are based on other books I have read. Not sure why that is, but there isn't one "mediocre" Grisham movie, to date; they all rock! Hopefully Cruise/Wagner Productions will pay attention to some of the criticism so future Reacher movies they make will be closer to the story told by the author.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr Blonde January 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byDog Bone November 2, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fairly good

Brutal violence but not gory at all. Bad guy is cheesy otherwise I would give it 4 stars. Brief sexual stuff. One F word and some other language. Somewhat interesting storyline.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byAhiena7 June 18, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome

My whole family watched this (ages 9, 11, 14, 17 and parents). I totally loved it. It was awesome. It's pretty clean except for the lady at the beginning and the language which don't disturb Me since I'm fluent in it. The violence was mild (I wish it was more violence.). But it was a great movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 24, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Jack Reacher

Jack Reacher is a decent movie. There is quite a bit of action but it can be confusing. It has some pretty intense violence, especially at the beggining when a sniper shoots innocent people. There is also a few f-words and s-words, and a little bit of blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysam varma January 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

nothing grerat

mysterious.... gets you stuck to the movie till the end but iis forgettable and nothing great
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old January 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Me and my dad chose this between "The Impossible", and "Zero Dark Thirty."

Me and my dad Had to choose between these films: "The Impossible", "Zero Dark Thirty", and this. We chose this because dad didn't think "Zero Dark Thirty was appropriate and "The Impossible" didn't fit our schedule. Language: "Sh*t" "F*ck" is used once, "B*tch". Violence: A lot of fighting and shooting, there is a sequence of torture for nothing that a 13/14 year old can't stand. Jack Reacher is a good role-model for kids who wanna become detectives.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages