All member reviews for James and the Giant Peach

Common Sense Media says

Fabulous adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic book.
 

Users say

(out of 37 reviews)
age 7+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymamarx2 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

I left the room...

This movie is crazy. My mother bought it for my kids, and the oldest left the room and my youngest had nightmares that night. The violent tendencies of the two Aunts is disturbing. The animation was clearly last century. I don't recommend this movie to anyone.
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 2, 2011
age 8+
 

Great Kids Movie!!!!!!!

I love this movie. It is great for kids. A lot of frightening situations. One use of ass. The centipede is usually scene smoking an object that looks like a cigar.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byliligirl123 May 17, 2010
age 4+
 

Good Movie

It was an over-all good movie, and really good. If your child is easily scared, you should not watch this, due to some "scary" creatures.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byAndyB6 March 13, 2010
Kid, 10 years old April 10, 2013
age 7+
 

This movie is mostly appropriate, but boring

This is appropriate exempt for the fact they use a bad word and the aunts smoke. I think it's a little creepy and odd. I got bored really quickly, it's sad and not that good. Overall it wasn't a great a great movie. Nope, not at all.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoccercrazyteen August 28, 2009
age 8+
 

Bad Movie

I first saw this movie when I was 6 and it scared me! I had nightmares for a long time. I recently saw it again and It isn't a must see for the family at all. The guardians of James are mean, the story line is uninteresting, there are creepy stuff in it, and it didn't teach me anything!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old September 22, 2012
age 4+
 

JAMES AND THE GIANT PEACH

disappointing movie is 3x worse than the book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old December 14, 2010
age 7+
 

On for 7+

This is a good book. My teacher read it to us. They say three bad words. It is a--. They use it three times.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2009
age 9+
 
I watched this when i was about 7 years old and those aunts were really creepy for me! I watched it again and I really wanted to like it, but I just couldn't
Teen, 13 years old Written byanna1999 July 26, 2012
age 9+
 

good for 9 and up

cute, entertaining and a great family movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old October 20, 2011
age 6+
 

Not very bad

Not very bad but it's O.K.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 July 30, 2011
age 7+
 

A Peachy Cartoon For The Whole Family

A visually stunning but sometimes scary movie. Violence- Early in the movie an angry rhinoceros eats James parents (off screen) Aunt Spiker and Sponge threaten to abuse him for literally no just reason. Scary Images- Ghost pirates may startle children, but one looks like Jack Skellington from the Nightmare Before Christmas and the other looks like Donald Duck. (So if your kids are scared say "Look there's Jack and Donald") The climax with the rhino is scary. One scene involves a nightmare when James is being chased by his aunts who attempt to kill him with bug spray. Language- the A-word is briefly said. Smoking- Centipede smokes a cigar.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
age 10+
 
the movie is good. but when i watched the movie as a kid the insect characters scared me and as did the movie in parts.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymomma of 2 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

disappointing

My kids and I loved the book, but the movie is a disappointment. The filmed sequences are ok, but the animation is crude. But the worst part is that they changed the story so much and took all the fun out of it. We watched it once and I'll donate it to the library. My kids have no interest in ever seeing it again.
Teen, 13 years old Written byenisayoung August 22, 2013
age 8+
 

ok but na

its ok for 8 year olds but young shoulde'n
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bybfsmjanzen August 30, 2010
age 8+
 

Perfect for 8 and up, but not for sensitive 6 yos or younger.

Roald Dahl in his usual funny, extreme writing style comes out clearly in this movie, but what is fine left to the imagination of young children becomes more extreme, more scary, more disturbing when seen in this movie. There were details in the imagery that my 6 year old would never have imagined himself and feel does not need to see. He is sensitive so I skipped over the very beginning and then had to skip the whole part with the aunties because of how evil the skinny aunt was. Otherwise, fun and entertaining. My 8 yo loved it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2010
age 8+
 

James and the Giant Fail

This was an ok movie, but it just worked out way too well. I can't really remember the movie, but I remember that I was kind've bored by it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written by4kidshater June 14, 2010
age 8+
 
I love this movie. It has good messages. I like it. Its a fun movie. I would like common sense to change the messages face from sad to happy because it's positive messages, not negative messages. I don't like some people because they're so dopey and crazy about somethings. i recommeded it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2010
age 3+
 

ANY AGE

ok, seriously! not apropriate for 6 yr olds??? Seriously!!!! so there is some yelling! kids will see yelling. there is no violence, no swearing, no sex talk! it is a giant PEACH for lords sake'!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypuppyest08 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Clever and cute

Great for younger children but might lose interest of children over 10.

Pages