All member reviews for James and the Giant Peach

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byliligirl123 May 17, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

It was an over-all good movie, and really good. If your child is easily scared, you should not watch this, due to some "scary" creatures.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 10, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

This movie is mostly appropriate, but boring

This is appropriate exempt for the fact they use a bad word and the aunts smoke. I think it's a little creepy and odd. I got bored really quickly, it's sad and not that good. Overall it wasn't a great a great movie. Nope, not at all.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoccercrazyteen August 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Bad Movie

I first saw this movie when I was 6 and it scared me! I had nightmares for a long time. I recently saw it again and It isn't a must see for the family at all. The guardians of James are mean, the story line is uninteresting, there are creepy stuff in it, and it didn't teach me anything!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old September 22, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

JAMES AND THE GIANT PEACH

disappointing movie is 3x worse than the book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old December 14, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

On for 7+

This is a good book. My teacher read it to us. They say three bad words. It is a--. They use it three times.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I watched this when i was about 7 years old and those aunts were really creepy for me! I watched it again and I really wanted to like it, but I just couldn't
Teen, 13 years old Written byanna1999 July 26, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for 9 and up

cute, entertaining and a great family movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old October 20, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Not very bad

Not very bad but it's O.K.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 July 30, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A Peachy Cartoon For The Whole Family

A visually stunning but sometimes scary movie. Violence- Early in the movie an angry rhinoceros eats James parents (off screen) Aunt Spiker and Sponge threaten to abuse him for literally no just reason. Scary Images- Ghost pirates may startle children, but one looks like Jack Skellington from the Nightmare Before Christmas and the other looks like Donald Duck. (So if your kids are scared say "Look there's Jack and Donald") The climax with the rhino is scary. One scene involves a nightmare when James is being chased by his aunts who attempt to kill him with bug spray. Language- the A-word is briefly said. Smoking- Centipede smokes a cigar.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
the movie is good. but when i watched the movie as a kid the insect characters scared me and as did the movie in parts.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byenisayoung August 22, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ok but na

its ok for 8 year olds but young shoulde'n
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

James and the Giant Fail

This was an ok movie, but it just worked out way too well. I can't really remember the movie, but I remember that I was kind've bored by it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written by4kidshater June 14, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I love this movie. It has good messages. I like it. Its a fun movie. I would like common sense to change the messages face from sad to happy because it's positive messages, not negative messages. I don't like some people because they're so dopey and crazy about somethings. i recommeded it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

ANY AGE

ok, seriously! not apropriate for 6 yr olds??? Seriously!!!! so there is some yelling! kids will see yelling. there is no violence, no swearing, no sex talk! it is a giant PEACH for lords sake'!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypuppyest08 April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Clever and cute

Great for younger children but might lose interest of children over 10.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

cracked up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think this is a crazy book...
Kid, 9 years old February 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

e.g.

This is good but the a word is used once. a few people and creatures smoke.so great movie.BUT the spider one scene smokes .so this good great but once you see it like 1000 times you get bored like first it was NO.1 THEN ANOTHER 1 beat it so i say this is good.so see it or rent it its like 79 mins longer than stuart little 2
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old July 3, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

OK

not a very good movie,alot of the scenes scared me when i was younger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 2, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Okey, but not Great.

This movie is okay, but nothing to write home about.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Pages