All member reviews for John Carter

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mars-based action epic has strong fantasy violence.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 44 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 17 year old Written bykimt803 March 11, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

John Carter Deserves Acclaim

I was not looking forward to seeing this movie as I was not familiar with the story and previews did not entice me. However, I loved the movie. I do believe the PG-13 rating is appropriate. Some language and scant clothing might not be appropriate for some families with younger teens. However, most kids have heard worse and seen worse in day to day life. Violence might overwhelm some kids but the bloodiest battle results in a covering of blue blood that resembles tempera paint. This is a movie that families can discuss. The lead female plays a strong and intelligent character who plays a princess and a professor who is on the brink of a discovery that could save her community from evil enemies. Loyalty and commitment to family and community are also positive themes. I am now intrigued to read the book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

just for me

Its the best movie! But some parents should know that its a little scary for kids under 11 and has some blood horror scenes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bychilipeppr March 10, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great family movie

Let me begin by saying I was reluctant to let any of our kids see this movie, but my husband won that argument. Their ages are 11, 10, 8, and 4 (yes, 4) and they all went to see it tonight. It was almost non-stop violence and action but for the most part it never seemed gruesome or unnecessary. I glanced over at our 4 year old about a hundred times during the movie to make sure he wasn't traumatized and not once did I see him get upset. There's a scene in Monster's Inc. that he is terrified of, by the way. All in all, I thought it was appropriate for any kids who don't get scared too easily and who have an interest in "fantasy/sci fi plots." There were a few offensive words throughout, but unless you see a G movie, curse words of some sort are unavoidable. All in all it was a better movie than I anticipated, less scary than I had imagined, and less sexual content and language than the official review led on. Our family of six all give it 5 stars!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovieWizard April 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Nice change in scenery.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old March 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

vilont!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educator Written byTLSyrie March 11, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

John Carter: Star Trek Meets Indiana Jones

We saw this movie as a family: my husand, 9 year old son, and me. We all gave it a thumbs up. Although there is violence, I was never overwhelmed by it. It was never too gruesome and not one of those movies where the violence seems the lead, where it takes over as the major theme. Even PG movies these days have the language, so a little of that doesn't bother me. Our son knows those words are only said by adults. It is a highly entertaining movie, and the two hours and twenty minutes went by far too quickly. Unless your young child is very sensitive, I think it's a great family movie. We can't wait to see John Carter Mars, part 2. The Youngs
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeamAlice+Jasper June 25, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!

John Carter is one of my favorite movies. It is very cool. Depsite the epic violence, it has a sweet message with a great ending. It was amazing and I loved this GREAT movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLegoGamer123 May 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

John Carter

John Carter has quite a bit of blood, though it's blood from aliens and it's blue so it's not real blood, but it's a boring movie that doesn't make a lot of sense and many things are poorly explained if it's explained at all
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bySavvy_Mommy March 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie for older kids and families.

There is a lot of violence and somewhat suggestive material/brief strong language. I would not recommend this for younger kids, but did see it with my tween. It was a great movie with a good message about standing up for what you believe in.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn March 27, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Special effects and a king-sized budget do not make a great movie. This is proven here.

John Carter, which wasn't nearly as anticipated as this weekends recent box-office smash, the Hunger Games, but definitely much more long-awaited, was obviously distended for failure, which really is shame, because the film has the directing talents of arguably the best director at Pixar, Andrew Stanton (Wall-e, Finding Nemo, Walt Disney Pictures backing the film up with a $250,000,000 budget, plenty of advertising and even some rather excessive rewrites and reprinting of the original novels, just to prepare for the arrival of this film. And than cam March 9, and this movie flopped on it's butt, taking in about $30,000,000 at the Box Office, on it's opening weekend. Yeah. That is bad. No, that isn't just bad, that is like the sound of 4,000 Walt Disney visual animating and sound editing workers being fired. First last March's Mars Needs Moms, and now Disney next Mars themed film, which arguably had much more to live up to, and than it all came crashing down. Oh well. Now, since I got the films recent box office failure out of the way, it's time to get to the review of the actual film, overall. Now, for all of it's misguided production and messy budget, I can say this for the film, though: Th special effects look fantastic. Really, I saw this film in Imax 3D, and that was the one thing that really impressed me about this film. But, once you get past that, John Carter is really nothing more than a very long 132 minute wannabe epic that comes off feeling more like a 21st century Dune, than the messianic Science-Fiction masterpiece that so many fans hoped it to be. With Taylor Kitsch cast as the main character, our hero, John Carter, h actually does do pretty much all he can with the role that h is given, but he unfortunately, he gives so many weak and bored line readings that they remind us of how weak and bored we are of watching this whole thing. But, on a slightly better note in the acting department, Lynn Collins manages to pull of a fairly decent role as the warrior queen, who actually made a pretty good one, herself. Also good here, is Willem Dafoe, in the body of a tall green martian, who gives a few of the films funnier lines and moments, as well. But, aside from that, most of the cast is just the same old hum drum characters that you would usually expect to see in a movie like this. Another minus, would be the equally misguided action and battle sequences, which feels so un-engaging that you can almost see Andrew Stanton standing off-screen, throwing his money at the cast, shouting "Make more Explosions! Come on, people! W have all this money, so we might as well use it" But, no, seriously people, that is rally what a large majority of this film unfortunately felt like. So, with the rarity of being a PG-13 Rated Walt Disney movie, here's is most of the films objectionable content: There is plenty of intense fantasy violence, with a increasingly surprising amount of brutality, mostly involving the green martians, with some battle sequences involving and including, slashing, hacking, decapitation, dismemberment, characters bursting from the stomachs of gigantic ape-like creatures, characters being shot in early scenes, and even an implied but completely off-screen torture scene. Also included here, is one very quick and off-screen aftermath of a sex scene at the very end of the movie, which hides most of the important body parts of both characters. And, finally, there is infrequent and mild language throughout the film as well, which mostly consists of words such as g-dd-mn, hell and d-mn. So, is John Carter a complete waste of time? Well, not exactly, no, with all of the special effects misguided opportunities and strong ideas hiding underneath an undercurrent of too much money being thrown at the screen, this film is still definitely worth watching for the one big reason, of watching something that could have been so much more.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTotally500 September 10, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

john carter is good

very good very good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobsterReviews June 30, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

John Carter Movie Review

Sumb movie is bland adventure is worse than expected. (In My Opinion)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 15, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

JOHN CARTER

Great and violent book based Mars fantasy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byokbill June 10, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Mars Adventure, reminds kids the importance of science, dreams & possibilities

Good story about a man who has lost all, only to be lucky enough to find it all again. Of course plenty of cool sci-fi characters, a princess and world to save, and heart to be mended with a new purpose.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 5, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

best film this year

not particually strong violence but i thoroughly enjoyed it . i went to see it with my best freind and when we got home we wouldnt shut up about it .a brilliant movie i definatley reccomend this movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written byJopersis March 23, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly delightful gem!

It is unfortunate the critics have not been kind to this movie. We took our 10 year old son and found it delightful. Adventurous, entertaining, and big on special effects. The story can be a little confusing at times, as there is a lot going on. As for the "gory" scenes mentioned in the review, the monster scene is not unexpected and really isn't that bad. Just an "ewwww" moment that had my son laughing! The decapitation scene is lightening fast with no gore and little time focused upon it. You barely know it happened! Despite what the critics say, we found this an unexpected pleasure. Sadly, it will lose impact and brilliance when it makes its way to video/small screen, so see it in the theater while you can!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byJulie St-F March 18, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Convoluted

Interesting premise - I wish this film had been better done. The violence was very much in the fantastical-realm, and none of the "good guys" die. Also, even though the girls in the movie are scantily clad, so are the men for most of the film. Characters struggled to "do the right thing", but made good choices in the end.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew February 12, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very thrilling movie is a little violent for a Disney movie

My rating: PG-13 for intense action violence
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

John Carter

I think John Carter was a great movie great costumes for the people on Barsoom [name of Mars]. There is some violence and blood, the blood is not that gross because it looks like blue paint. I really liked this movie I saw the critics do not like the movie but don't listen to them this movie is great so watch it enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

CSM Insight - John Carter (DVD)

What other families should know is that it should not have the Disney on the case. It has strong fantasy violence, sometimes quite bloody. The torture is horrific even though it is fantasy. The costumes are pretty revealing, and you can guarantee some gory moments, especially in the arena. Overall Insight: Strong fantasy violence, very infrequent moderate bloody violence, partial nudity, frequent gory moments.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages