Katy Perry: Part of Me

  • Review Date: July 2, 2012
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2012
  • Running Time: 97 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Entertaining concert film follows pop singer's highs, lows.
  • Review Date: July 2, 2012
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2012
  • Running Time: 97 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

Although some of Perry's lyrics are questionable -- like the behavior referenced in "Last Friday Night" -- others have inspirational, empowering messages, like "Firework." Perry's many young fans tell the audience in recorded messages how much her music has meant to them or helped them overcome a sadness or difficulty. Perry has a loving, supportive family -- from her sister Angela to her very religious parents, who accept Perry despite the secular nature of her lyrics -- and a group of close, loyal assistants and support staff.

Positive role models

Perry promotes the idea that everyone should embrace what makes them unique -- that "weirdness" is what distinguishes each of us from others. Perry is generous and goes above and beyond to meet and greet her many fans. Pretty much everyone in the film, with the notable exception of Russell Brand, is fiercely loyal, encouraging, and kind.

Violence

A couple of emotional scenes when Perry is crying or upset. In one scene, Perry talks to a little boy from the Make-A-Wish Foundation whose wish was to meet her.

Sex

Perry and Brand kiss (briefly) in a couple of scenes. Perry wears tight/revealing outfits (like Wonder Woman-style costumes, and low-plunging necklines). The song "I Kissed a Girl" explores a fluid sense of sexuality (the singer has a boyfriend but got so trashed that she ended up kissing a girl).

Language

Infrequent use of words including "damn," "hell," "ass," and "oh my God." "S--t" is bleeped. Lyrics include a couple of suggestive words -- including many references to someone's "peacock," and the word "bee-yotch."

Consumerism

Not many product placements, but the film obviously encourages you to support Perry and buy her songs/album.

Drinking, drugs, & smoking

Perry, her friends, and her staff drink in a couple of quick scenes and in photos from her days on the L.A. club scene. Brand is shown with a cigarette. In the song "Last Friday Night," the narrator can't remember what happened because she had so many shots, went streaking, has hickeys she can't distinguish from bruises, etc.; "I Kissed a Girl" is also about something that happened when the narrator was inebriated.

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that Katy Perry: Part of Me is a 3-D concert film that follows international pop star Katy Perry during her year-long California Dreams world tour. As she's criss-crossing the globe, Perry deals with her marriage to British comedian Russell Brand, which ultimately falls apart. Although most of the concert footage is tame enough for older kids, some of Perry's song lyrics deal with mature themes -- like the consequences of partying and the dissolution of a relationship. But through the triumphs and tragedies, Perry helps teach and inspire her fans that it's OK to be different, that you should never give up on your dreams, and that everyone deserves a fairy tale kind of love.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

KATY PERRY: PART OF ME offers a look at the busiest year in the pop superstar's life: her 124-show California Dreams world tour that lasted through all of 2011. But, as the introduction explains, with great success came great personal heartbreak -- an obvious reference to the fact that Perry's marriage to comedian Russell Brand fell apart while she juggled to balance her work with her relationship. In addition to watching Perry on stage at venues in the Americas, Europe, and Asia, audiences get to know the people who made her who she is privately (her sister, parents, and two best friends) and professionally (everyone from her manager to her makeup artist and fashion stylist).

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Unlike the Jonas Brothers, Glee, and Miley Cyrus concert films, all of which skimped on the personal histories, Part of Me provides an intimate (if slightly whitewashed) portrait of Perry's hard work, ambition, and optimism. Despite her jet-black wig and candy-colored costume confections, Perry is open about her negative early experiences in the industry, her parents' (evangelical ministers) response to her decision to leave Christian music, and her fairy tale-like ideas about true love. If you're expecting a scathing expose about Brand, look elsewhere. Perry is a faithful and loving wife throughout the documentary, because Brand didn't file for divorce until December 2011.

What's shocking about Perry is how fiercely loyal her close circle is -- from her sister Angela Hudson and BFF Shannon Woodward (Sabrina on Raising Hope) to the stylist and makeup artist that Perry plucked from obscurity before she was famous. There are no demons or Behind the Music-style confessions. Even her extremely conservative parents have made peace with their daughter's spicy lyrics and scanty outfits. By the time Perry sings "Firework" -- that perfect pop anthem -- and earns the distinction of being the first woman to score five No. 1 singles from the same album, it's easy to see why so many kids, teens, and adults count themselves as Katy Cats.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about why Katy Perry is so popular. How did she stay true to herself, even though her labels and record producers were pushing her to be different?

  • Perry's songs range from emotional anthems to upbeat tales of adolescent debauchery. Is some of Perry's music inappropriate for younger kids to listen to/sing? What do you like about Perry's pop songs?

  • Does Part of Me give audiences an in-depth look at Perry's life off stage? Were you surprised by anything you learned about her life?

  • How is Perry's relationship with her family depicted? Do you think this is a true documentary or that it's a promotional vehicle to boost Perry's image?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:July 5, 2012
DVD release date:September 18, 2012
Cast:Katy Perry, Lucas Kerr, Shannon Marie Woodward
Director:Dan Cutforth
Studio:Insurge Pictures
Genre:Documentary
Topics:Music and sing-along
Run time:97 minutes
MPAA rating:PG
MPAA explanation:some suggestive content, language, thematic elements, and brief smoking

This review of Katy Perry: Part of Me was written by

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Written byAnonymous July 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A Nice Surprise

Today, I came into the theater expecting a movie that was cheesy and fake looking. A movie that was made so that the popular pop star, Katy Perry, would have a larger fan base. I was completely wrong. This movie was unexpected and inspiring. I loved it! I went with my mom who barely knew who the movie's namesake was, let alone ever heard her singing, but even my mom loved it. I do have to say that there was one part that kind of made me sorry I went with my mom. That would be when she sang "Peacock". The song lyrics are extremely suggestive and not for ten year olds. Besides that the only other part that was kind of iffy, was when she talked about her parents being extremely christian, and the effect it had on them when she came out with the song "I Kissed a Girl". The only other problem was that there is some minor, infrequent cuss words such as b**ch and a**
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byParent and Musician July 9, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

G Pop Star: More depth and positivity than all kids movies currently out there

This is a G rated documentary about a very talented, inspirational young woman. The only reason I would not take my 5 year old to this movie is he might become too bored (as there might be too much talking). I'm not sure where Common Sense Media came up with 2 stars for "sexy stuff" and 2 stars for drinking and drugs (the only reference to drinking I saw was a bottle of champagne being opened after a concert). Perry's music is mostly the game "Candy Land" on steroids, with some tongue-in-cheek sexual references, mostly based on falling in love. Kids of all ages hear more language and sexual references in school or in their own parent's houses (only heard one word of "bad" language, all in context of the situation). This is a very well made documentary focusing on the star's rise and her challenges along the way, mostly around remaining true to herself in the music business. The movie showed real life challenges of a marriage, and real emotion, which is missing in most movies. Most of Perry's on stage outfits consists of candy, fairytale and bird themes. She is a true entertainer and inspiration for all ages, and if you don't take your (especially creative/musical) child to this movie, I think you're missing out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byMusic/Movies July 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Positive but iffy

Sex: *Katy and Russel kiss in a few scenes, but most kisses are short. *Katy sings about kissing a girl. *There are lyrics about makinf out with a boy in a car in the song "the one that got away" *There are lyrics about kissing and being filled with poison in the song "et" which are repeated many times *The song "peacock" is all about sex and Katy sings it for a good 3 minutes in the film. *There are some revealing outfits that show cleavage. *Katy is known to have gone to a gay bar for her first time in one scene. ----- No violence ----- Language: b*tch, c*ck, beyotch, and a bleeped out sh*t. ----- Drinking: The song "circle the drain" is about a man being addicted to drugs and drinking
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Part of me

Soooo awesome, and fun!
What other families should know
Great messages

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Common Sense Kids Action