All member reviews for Kick-Ass 2

Common Sense Media says

Insanely violent sequel lacks humor, originality.

Users say

(out of 52 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byesoccer7 August 17, 2013

Very violent, lots of swearing, the first one was better.

There is alot of blood gushing everywhere. Also there is a lot of swearing. The main villain's name is the motherf***er and he says it many times. There is also night b*tch and kick a**. There is one scene that lasts a full 10-15 seconds which is pretty long when you watch it, that has fully frontal female nudity. The violence doesn't really matter in my opinion, the swearing is what any high schooler hears everyday, but some parents may not be ok with the nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byndrwcd August 16, 2013

this movie is a great example why august isnt the best month for movie blockbusters

I'll be honest but I hated this movie for a couple of major reasons 1.being a Christian there's lots of extreme offensive content 2.even if I wasn't a Christian there's one thing I would like to know,whom is this movie meant for?it's rated R so it means it's only meant for adults but the people I hear most exited about it, like it and talk about it the most are immature teen boys around 13 who can't see the movie cause there too young and adults won't see it cause it's juvenile,unappealing and just stupid,but in other words both this movie and the original are too mature for kids and teens and too childish for adults
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old August 16, 2013

Good for my Age

Alot of parents think kids 13 and under cant handle language and violence and sex but, they're exposed to it alot more than you think. Kids know whats a movie and whats not!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarthsitkur January 20, 2014

awesome movie

saw this yesterday and I loved it, tons of wild action, this is an awesome superhero action thriller, and even though comedy is one of the genres for this movie, it's more badass than funny
Parent Written byhank1432 August 16, 2013

Great movie 13+

Great movie went to go see it yesterday. Saw the first one and loved it so when my son told me this was coming out I was very excited. Strong laungauge but nothing my child doesn't hear from my friends or from school. Violent but nothing extreme just a lot of blood in some scenes. There was one sex scene I made my kid close his eyes for but other than that great movie for 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydittoface May 29, 2014

Good but not as good as the first. Not that inappropriate!

The movie does have its violence, but as long the kid knows it's fiction it should be fine. The language just tell the kid not to repeat. The sex and nudity is not graphic at all!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byreviews for the win September 2, 2013

kick ass 2

this my favorite movie of the year so far . it is just as good as the first one but with more nudity swearing and violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 and 18+ year old Written bynuenjins January 3, 2016

Why are 8 -10 year olds allowed to submit "reviews" for inappropriate movies CS.

Common sense says you shouldn't include underage kids to encourage them to watch inappropriate movies. It's the oxymoron to call your site "Common Sense" in that case. Call yourselves, Semi Moral Feel Good Opinions From Every Egghead with a Keyboard.
Parent of a 7, 9, 9, and 10 year old Written byILoveMYKids3333 August 26, 2013

Worst Movie Ever! NOT FOR KIDS AT ALL!

Saw this with my husband cause he wanted to see it. so we got a sitter for our 7,9,9, 10 year olds. me and my husband both hated this! not a single thing we liked! about 200 swear words and lots of violence and kissing and stuff! in fact in every sentence there was a swear word! almost! the youngest person in the theater were some college students. this is not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byAmira1976 September 29, 2013

Too violent

I believe the violence in this movie was way too graphic and absolutely unnecessary. I wish I had known about it before we went to see it with my kids. The story itself was okay, sometimes quite funny, exciting or thought-provoking but the pictures were way too disturbing at times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013

not for kids.

this second sequel of the movie based on the first film kick-ass kick-ass 2 comes back yet another good movie but with lots of contents to be aware of based on the first movie and parents be aware that like in the first movie this action/adventure movie kick-ass 2 is not for kids it is recommended only for adults and parents you need to know that kick-ass 2 has a lot of extreme intense bloody violence such as spurting blood from heads, stomachs, and feet. Minor characters are brutally run over and destroyed by speeding cars. Characters are stabbed to death with pool cues and bits of broken glass, as well as shot and killed and decapitated. A character is fried inside a tanning booth. A character is devoured by a shark, with clouds of blood in the water. A man is strangled, and a gory photograph of the body is shown. Women are beaten up. Someone's testicles are chewed by a dog. Teen girls are shown violently vomiting and with diarrhea also there is Sexual innuendo and sexual humor and in one scene Kick-Ass and a superhero girl are shown having sex in the bathroom but no nudity shown and another scene Hit Girl, now 15 becomes interested in sex for the first time Watching a boy band video with three other girls, the movie hints that she becomes aroused for the first time though she doesn't seem to know what just happened characters used constant strong language throughout the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 August 30, 2013

Great sequel, but definitely not for everyone

I was so excited to go and see this, and I got what I was expecting, an amazing sequel. Although this one had a darker feel to it. It still had it's comical feel, but I felt it was a little bit more realistic in terms of violence. Violence includes numerous scenes of stylized fighting, there is a scene where one of the villain's kills a group of police officers in a graphic manner. The humor in this one was rather different, because in the first it felt like lighter humor, but the humor in this one can be found offensive, and rather gross in some sense. There is ton's of profanity, but I don't understand what you guys are expecting in terms of language and violence with a name Kick Ass. There are some mild to crude sexual themes and references. A man drops a box of sex stuff and numerous of sexual items drop on the floor, as well as a sexual costume which later he makes adjustments to and makes a super villain outfit from it. There is discussion and some of which range from mild to Crude. There is a brief scene of nudity, but it was brief and the scene wasn't very sexual because they show two girls in a pool half naked and breasts are exposed for a couple of seconds and the scene changes. Extremely Mature 12, but 13 should be just right.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byValdoria September 1, 2013

Sad excuse for a movie

Just a sad excuse for a movie. If people want to see little teenage girls get naked with each other they watch porn but when couples want to see an interesting movie we don't want to see the exploitation and sexual degradation of women. Are all directors perverts?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 10, 10, and 18+ year old Written byParentofwisdom August 26, 2013

NOT FOR KIDS

This movie sucked for me and my husband and my 18 year old hated this too! needed a sitter for our 3 babys and 2 10 year olds. this movie has about 100 swear words of all kind. we hated this and the nicknames were curse names! this is very violent too!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 year old Written byEd Wood August 25, 2013

Hit Girl: True American

This is a movie about individualism, volunteerism, and heroism. Values that might disturb your average socialist, but exactly the kind of things that I want my daughter to appreciate and try to emulate. This is displayed in Hit Girl's grounding philosophy which fulfills her and makes her a great hero. This is passed on to Dave/Kick -Ass and through him to the rest of the heroes. The flaw in the film was in the characteristics of the bad-guys. Had Chris been more overtly authoritarian, or had the mean girls elitism been more subtly about maintaining class divisions instead of playing to cliches it would have been a perfect libertarian/American movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySteveNYC August 23, 2013

Ouch, yuck, slam, bam - Holy crumbs Batman!

Horrible. Just over the top yuckiness. Senseless violence. The comic fun is missing, but the foul language and violence remains in the sequel. It was disheartening to see smallish children in the theater, and I sincerely hope that few children ever see this movie - or adults for that matter. The movie stinks anyways, so why bother.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bythediamondd March 11, 2015

Blood looks like ketch up!

13+ no lower. The sick stick part made me fill ill.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bywillman72 August 20, 2013

good for kids 14+

this movie is about a bunch of kids bieng positive role models helping thier city of crime is that really a bad influence wouldnt this tell kids that crime doesnt pay its positive message is to stick up for yourself and others is that really not for kids sure its got language but when you are at highschool its basically swear central and its not like a forteen year old hasnt heard of sex before your son and daughters maybe already have had it and are we gonna blindfold the kids when a pdhpe lesson about breastfeeding comes on i dont think this is why i think its for 14+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2013

A Crude Movie for Any Age

This film has disappointed me compared to the first film. This film is also not appropriate for most people under the age of 16. The film does not give positive messages mostly for the reason of violence. I wouldn't recommend this movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent Written byi love it 14 July 7, 2014

kick ass 2

good,but this movie is not ass good ass the first pun intended they should really have a third movie a hit girls stand alone or a prequel about big daddy before kick ass!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages