All member reviews for Kick-Ass 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Insanely violent sequel lacks humor, originality.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byesoccer7 August 17, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very violent, lots of swearing, the first one was better.

There is alot of blood gushing everywhere. Also there is a lot of swearing. The main villain's name is the motherf***er and he says it many times. There is also night b*tch and kick a**. There is one scene that lasts a full 10-15 seconds which is pretty long when you watch it, that has fully frontal female nudity. The violence doesn't really matter in my opinion, the swearing is what any high schooler hears everyday, but some parents may not be ok with the nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byndrwcd August 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

this movie is a great example why august isnt the best month for movie blockbusters

I'll be honest but I hated this movie for a couple of major reasons 1.being a Christian there's lots of extreme offensive content 2.even if I wasn't a Christian there's one thing I would like to know,whom is this movie meant for?it's rated R so it means it's only meant for adults but the people I hear most exited about it, like it and talk about it the most are immature teen boys around 13 who can't see the movie cause there too young and adults won't see it cause it's juvenile,unappealing and just stupid,but in other words both this movie and the original are too mature for kids and teens and too childish for adults
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byhank1432 August 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie 13+

Great movie went to go see it yesterday. Saw the first one and loved it so when my son told me this was coming out I was very excited. Strong laungauge but nothing my child doesn't hear from my friends or from school. Violent but nothing extreme just a lot of blood in some scenes. There was one sex scene I made my kid close his eyes for but other than that great movie for 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byB-KMastah August 16, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly great!

Okay, the negative reviews that this is getting surprises me immensely. I knew that nothing could top the first film, and this of course didn't, but it was still great. Hilarious thanks to great performances; Christopher Mintz-Plasse was so funny and Chloe Grace Moretz was flat-out awesome as always. One thing that I really appreciated was how different it was from the first movie. The story isn't cookie-cutter, but actually different, and people start dying which surprised me a ton and got me very invested in the characters and their fates. The action was really fun and was comprehensible, thank God. I hate shaky cam but it was used, but not too much. The only thing that really annoyed me was a subplot involving Hit-Girl that was funny at first, then became extraneous, then made the film feel disjointed, and then ended in just a super stupid way. And STAY AFTER THE CREDITS! Nice little Easter egg scene. 8.7/10, great, two thumbs up, above average, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byCerone August 17, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Kick-Ass 2 is a solidly satisfying continuation to the first film, just go in with low expectations

It's a decent and INCREDIBLY entertaining enough continuation of the franchise, but it is no where near as good as the first. It is more of a straight up good versus evil tale, and it does fall under it's own irony and cliches at times as well, but Aaron Taylor-Johnson is still solid as Kick-Ass, Chloe Grace Mortetz is still fantastic as Hit Girl, Jim Carrey (not a big fan) is crazy good as Col. Stars and Stripes, and Christopher Mintz-Plasse gives an electric performance of a lifetime as The Mother F*****, that trainer he discussed in an interview must have really served him well. Fans of the comics and the first film should find some kind of appreciation for this graphically violent popcorn flick of a sequel, I read the comic first before seeing this, and I quite frankly found the comic doing it better. It is a coming age tale where no one is innocent after everyone's made a move in their new life of vigilantism. There is some pretty serious stuff in this film that shouldn't be taken humorously, aside from some of the usual foulmouthed humor, and over the top gross out gags. Overall, Kick-Ass 2 is one of the better blockbuster sequels to come out this year, and is definitely the Empire Strikes Back of the franchise.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 16, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for my Age

Alot of parents think kids 13 and under cant handle language and violence and sex but, they're exposed to it alot more than you think. Kids know whats a movie and whats not!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A Crude Movie for Any Age

This film has disappointed me compared to the first film. This film is also not appropriate for most people under the age of 16. The film does not give positive messages mostly for the reason of violence. I wouldn't recommend this movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old August 21, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Kick-Ass 2 Content/Rating

Positive Rolemodels: 'Hitgirl', who was only 11 in the last movie, is now 15 in the sequel Violence: All over the movie Sex: More than the first Language: Adult/Profane Drinking, drugs, and smoking: Mild
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byantoineisthebest August 21, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

csm come on

alright movie but here in canada the rating is 14a/13+. the movie is violent and not as good as the first one. the rating in canada makes a lot more sense than the rating in the usa. csm, most kids these day already started watching adult movies at ages between 12 and 13, most kids have seen movies like clockwork orange and the saw serie at ages between 13 and 15. CSM needs to come down on the age rating .. I understand why the movie is two stars (its not a great movie). The us has one of the most extreme rating on the film. CSM you should really change their rating system because you can't compare the saw serie (not for kids) to this (not for kids).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous August 23, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

trailer review

I watched this online and it was good. Violence is lessened but still a lot of blood. A lot of swearing I liked the movie although it did not live up to kick ass.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 9, 9, and 10 year old Written byILoveMYKids3333 August 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worst Movie Ever! NOT FOR KIDS AT ALL!

Saw this with my husband cause he wanted to see it. so we got a sitter for our 7,9,9, 10 year olds. me and my husband both hated this! not a single thing we liked! about 200 swear words and lots of violence and kissing and stuff! in fact in every sentence there was a swear word! almost! the youngest person in the theater were some college students. this is not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 10, 10, and 18 year old Written byParentofwisdom August 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

This movie sucked for me and my husband and my 18 year old hated this too! needed a sitter for our 3 babys and 2 10 year olds. this movie has about 100 swear words of all kind. we hated this and the nicknames were curse names! this is very violent too!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 20, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AWESOME OF THE AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this movie was frickin' awesome!!!!!. there was ALOT of blood,minor nudity and swearing for a superhero movie but guess what....I DONT CARE!!!!!!!! I LOVED THE MOVIE I THINK I ALWAYS WILL!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySteveNYC August 23, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Ouch, yuck, slam, bam - Holy crumbs Batman!

Horrible. Just over the top yuckiness. Senseless violence. The comic fun is missing, but the foul language and violence remains in the sequel. It was disheartening to see smallish children in the theater, and I sincerely hope that few children ever see this movie - or adults for that matter. The movie stinks anyways, so why bother.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bywillman72 August 20, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

good for kids 14+

this movie is about a bunch of kids bieng positive role models helping thier city of crime is that really a bad influence wouldnt this tell kids that crime doesnt pay its positive message is to stick up for yourself and others is that really not for kids sure its got language but when you are at highschool its basically swear central and its not like a forteen year old hasnt heard of sex before your son and daughters maybe already have had it and are we gonna blindfold the kids when a pdhpe lesson about breastfeeding comes on i dont think this is why i think its for 14+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 19 year old Written byValdoria September 1, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Sad excuse for a movie

Just a sad excuse for a movie. If people want to see little teenage girls get naked with each other they watch porn but when couples want to see an interesting movie we don't want to see the exploitation and sexual degradation of women. Are all directors perverts?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 August 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great sequel, but definitely not for everyone

I was so excited to go and see this, and I got what I was expecting, an amazing sequel. Although this one had a darker feel to it. It still had it's comical feel, but I felt it was a little bit more realistic in terms of violence. Violence includes numerous scenes of stylized fighting, there is a scene where one of the villain's kills a group of police officers in a graphic manner. The humor in this one was rather different, because in the first it felt like lighter humor, but the humor in this one can be found offensive, and rather gross in some sense. There is ton's of profanity, but I don't understand what you guys are expecting in terms of language and violence with a name Kick Ass. There are some mild to crude sexual themes and references. A man drops a box of sex stuff and numerous of sexual items drop on the floor, as well as a sexual costume which later he makes adjustments to and makes a super villain outfit from it. There is discussion and some of which range from mild to Crude. There is a brief scene of nudity, but it was brief and the scene wasn't very sexual because they show two girls in a pool half naked and breasts are exposed for a couple of seconds and the scene changes. Extremely Mature 12, but 13 should be just right.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bylohangers August 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Chloe sure knows where to kick a guy...lol!

Hot Chloe running around hitting guys in the nuts....two thumbs up!
Teen, 14 years old Written byThe Cheap Seats December 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

You Can't Fight Your Destiny

An okay follow-up to the great 2010 indie superhero film "Kick-Ass." Acting, especially by Chloe Grace Moretz, is a strong point, but disappointingly there is not enough of her. The film can't figure out whether it wants to be a serious superhero film or a parody of one. It has a bit of identity crisis but is solid entertainment. A fifteen-year-old girl uses a wide-range of profanity from h*ll, c*cksucker, b*tch, sh*t, d*ck, f*ck, and speaks the c-word in Russian. She also shoots many people, killing them, stabs one person in the eye, and stabs someone repeatedly with glass. One of the characters names is The Mother-F***** and his super-villain team name is The Toxic-Mega C**ts. There is lots of violence and brief topless nudity from two prostitutes. It's still okay for a mature thirteen-year-old to handle. B-.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids.

this second sequel of the movie based on the first film kick-ass kick-ass 2 comes back yet another good movie but with lots of contents to be aware of based on the first movie and parents be aware that like in the first movie this action/adventure movie kick-ass 2 is not for kids it is recommended only for adults and parents you need to know that kick-ass 2 has a lot of extreme intense bloody violence such as spurting blood from heads, stomachs, and feet. Minor characters are brutally run over and destroyed by speeding cars. Characters are stabbed to death with pool cues and bits of broken glass, as well as shot and killed and decapitated. A character is fried inside a tanning booth. A character is devoured by a shark, with clouds of blood in the water. A man is strangled, and a gory photograph of the body is shown. Women are beaten up. Someone's testicles are chewed by a dog. Teen girls are shown violently vomiting and with diarrhea also there is Sexual innuendo and sexual humor and in one scene Kick-Ass and a superhero girl are shown having sex in the bathroom but no nudity shown and another scene Hit Girl, now 15 becomes interested in sex for the first time Watching a boy band video with three other girls, the movie hints that she becomes aroused for the first time though she doesn't seem to know what just happened characters used constant strong language throughout the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages