All parent member reviews for Kick-Ass

Parents say

(out of 69 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 9 year old Written byscott pilgrim November 28, 2010
My son Koji read the whole comic series in one day. But the looks really bad. I don't think I want him seeing it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013

not for kids.

this action/adventure movie kick-ass is a great movie with lots of action but parents this is not your typical kid friendly super hero movie this is a adult super hero movie with a bunch of contents to look out for and this super hero is not for kids with that being said this movie is only for adults and parents you need to know that kick-ass has a lot of extreme intense bloody violence such as shootings, stabbings and more there is sexual content such as sex talk and sex jokes also the hero looks at naked women National Geographic-style women in native dress on the Internet and prepares to masturbate and in one scene the hero and a teen girl have fast, loudly passionate sex in an alley behind a comic book store though no nudity appears on screen characters used constant strong language and drugs are seen and discussed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 6, 2012

kick ass

involved in an adult film like this? Were the violence, language and sex necessary for this movie? How would it have played without them? What do you think about the concept of a regular person becoming a superhero? What are the dangers involved? What are the benefits? Are courage and weapons enough? What are some realistic ways kids and teens can be "superheroes"? Can you think of any real-life examples where someone stepping in when they saw something bad happening would have made a big difference?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfastpoose February 11, 2012

Too much GORE detracts from great concepts...

I love violent flicks, tarantino etc, but the director has had a bit of a shocker with this one. This movie would have hit the stratosphere if it DIDN'T have the extreme gore/violence. Especially most of it coming from an 11 year old girl. This movie had brilliant concepts but extreme violence wasn't one of them. I still enjoyed this movie, but the gore definitely detracted from it, in my opinion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycallofduty5 August 5, 2011

FAIL

Too graphic for teens and most adults, avoid since language is aggressive and frequent, contains hard drug use and also very gory violence. NOT FOR ANYONE BELOW 18!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRojagegeo August 17, 2010

Violent Yet Superb

Kick Ass is definitely "one of the best" movies of 2010 so far...This movie may not be rated for kids,but adults and teenagers would love this movie...I really dont get it why people are so concerned about the swearing bit....Every movie has it,words like F*** are being very common in conversations..(not everyone's,but among the students and young adults)...Hit Girl was brought up to be tough and dangerous and so it was necessary to swear,kill etc....At least theres a reason for the violence,not like some movies that swear or have violent scenes just for the sake of proving to us to be an action movie...Kids below 15/13 shouldnt see this but they happen to love this type of comedy/action....Soundtrack is cool,Action awesome,Story great,Directing good,Acting Awesome (especially Chloe-Hit Girl)....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bycooooooooco May 25, 2010

good for older kids

like it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written byWorldm May 4, 2010
I thought it was good but not for kids maybe unde 16 or 17 because it has sex and shows a guy about to masturbate about a naked girl on the national geographic website
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 29, 2013

kick ass good movie

Really a good movie recommended for 14 and up language is pretty strong and some sex and nudity scenes. Really violent to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byGregH94 June 7, 2012

Review

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byMr. Charlie July 23, 2010

Kick- Ass is kick ass.

This movie truley is kick ass, viloence is cool i was pretty impressed. But there is an 11 year old hero goin around killin people (graphicly) and there is lots of language (the title gives you the hint on that one. but my kid loved it and hes 15.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byartyom July 9, 2010

Terrible

Well, as a grown up, I would not want to suggest it to watch to other people, as it really is freaky to see 11 years old girl killing, swearing.. and not even flinching. I was VERY surprised to see how the movie developed. This is not the message I would personally want to see communicated at all, let alone to the kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byCoffeeTable June 7, 2010

HIlarious for Adults. Darker tones for teens.

Hilarious Movie! I loved it. But I am also a 24 year old who understands that the darker side to the movie is not appropriate for 15’s and under. The father is a revenge driven lunatic who has raised his daughter home schooled and, while smart, a little too smart in the area of violence and desensitized of killing other people which she has no problem doing. The main character is funny and completely unaware and shows his innocence and while his “side kick” brings on the mary jane while cruising in his awesome car there is a Tonne of gore that the trailers don’t show I was quite surprised to see incorporated into the movie as I didn’t expect it. The sex will be understood for all boys from puberty and up as they have all looked at porn on the internet at one time or another and brings it to a hilarious light in the beginnings of the movie. This is not your “spiderman” or “Iron man” comic made into a movie. Its more along the lines of The Watchmen and Sin City.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bygreg lew June 5, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMcMovie May 19, 2010
This movie was good and yes the movie could have been better. This movie even stayed true to its comic (although the comic is even bloodier!) , maybe not as true as Watchmen (people have you seen Watchmen while reading the graphic novel. It's like looking and listening to a read along!), and opens a new portal for comic based movies. Overall the movie itself is a brutal,comedic, comic based movie, thats all. Also at Sprangle07: of course it doesn't sound like its for kids!!! Thats what commonsemedia.org wants people to know. And have you even SEEN the movie?
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjackalfrog May 13, 2010
i love this movie! it is quite violent but it also is very very funny. the language is graphic but it can be unnoticed. the sex isn't that bad and the drugs are so brief you hardly can see anything. but theres alot of refrences to everything. i'd say probaly kids around 15 should see this. but beware the graphic violence for those who care.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPatty2by4 May 13, 2010

Only for older teens, with the right mindset.

Kick-ass was, well, Kick-ass. It is definately not a movie for young kids it is very violent and there is drug use and sex and language up the wazoo. But it did show that criminals should be afraid of us as much as we are afraid of them. although appropriate diffinitive action should not be a masked hero. If you have a kid in his mid teens that is seriously considering being a super hero this movie will teach them diffrent, instead they might grow up to be a cop. Very good for twisted humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byDisneyFan May 10, 2010
My husband and I took our 14 year old son to see this movie. Yes, some of the dialogue is filthy, but I already know how teenage boys talk when their parents aren't around, so I wasn't too concerned. I thought this movie was amazing. It was to superhero movies what Shaun of the Dead is to zombie movies: a parody that turns out to be a really excellent movie. I love the message that we need to step up and do something when we see things that are wrong. And that regardless of whether or not we have special powers, we still have a responsibility to ourselves and humanity.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written bygregheffley April 27, 2010
f-word ,s-word, a-word and the h-word,no sub words like darn
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byCooldee April 23, 2010

Too violent for children of all ages!

Cover your children's eyes and ears!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages