Parents say

(out of 69 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 29, 2013

kick ass good movie

Really a good movie recommended for 14 and up language is pretty strong and some sex and nudity scenes. Really violent to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written bytortimom August 25, 2013

Sad state of society - passive complacency glorified

Some parts are comedic and good fun around high school behavior. The violence is over-the-top and some of it unwatchable for me. I watched it with my 15 year old son, thinking from the trailer that this would be one of the few movies I could watch with him. Halfway through the film I dispensed with the hope that there would be some positive lessons from the film. The bad guys don't survive, but the worst taste in my mouth was left by witnessing one of the true horrors of our society-- that people can stand by and watch or record egregious acts of violence and do nothing. The film glorified this in a way, even though the "super hero" premise was supposed to detract from it.
Adult Written byGregH94 June 7, 2012

Review

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byfastpoose February 11, 2012

Too much GORE detracts from great concepts...

I love violent flicks, tarantino etc, but the director has had a bit of a shocker with this one. This movie would have hit the stratosphere if it DIDN'T have the extreme gore/violence. Especially most of it coming from an 11 year old girl. This movie had brilliant concepts but extreme violence wasn't one of them. I still enjoyed this movie, but the gore definitely detracted from it, in my opinion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bygreg lew June 5, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013

not for kids.

this action/adventure movie kick-ass is a great movie with lots of action but parents this is not your typical kid friendly super hero movie this is a adult super hero movie with a bunch of contents to look out for and this super hero is not for kids with that being said this movie is only for adults and parents you need to know that kick-ass has a lot of extreme intense bloody violence such as shootings, stabbings and more there is sexual content such as sex talk and sex jokes also the hero looks at naked women National Geographic-style women in native dress on the Internet and prepares to masturbate and in one scene the hero and a teen girl have fast, loudly passionate sex in an alley behind a comic book store though no nudity appears on screen characters used constant strong language and drugs are seen and discussed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 6, 2012

kick ass

involved in an adult film like this? Were the violence, language and sex necessary for this movie? How would it have played without them? What do you think about the concept of a regular person becoming a superhero? What are the dangers involved? What are the benefits? Are courage and weapons enough? What are some realistic ways kids and teens can be "superheroes"? Can you think of any real-life examples where someone stepping in when they saw something bad happening would have made a big difference?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycallofduty5 August 5, 2011

FAIL

Too graphic for teens and most adults, avoid since language is aggressive and frequent, contains hard drug use and also very gory violence. NOT FOR ANYONE BELOW 18!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written byYahoo Kids July 30, 2010

NOT FOR PEOPLE UNDER 13

i don't think children under 13, 14, 15 or 16 should be watching this because not for kids audiences. it says "ass" the bad word we don't use.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byMr. Charlie July 23, 2010

Kick- Ass is kick ass.

This movie truley is kick ass, viloence is cool i was pretty impressed. But there is an 11 year old hero goin around killin people (graphicly) and there is lots of language (the title gives you the hint on that one. but my kid loved it and hes 15.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written bycooooooooco May 25, 2010

good for older kids

like it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written byDisneyFan May 10, 2010
My husband and I took our 14 year old son to see this movie. Yes, some of the dialogue is filthy, but I already know how teenage boys talk when their parents aren't around, so I wasn't too concerned. I thought this movie was amazing. It was to superhero movies what Shaun of the Dead is to zombie movies: a parody that turns out to be a really excellent movie. I love the message that we need to step up and do something when we see things that are wrong. And that regardless of whether or not we have special powers, we still have a responsibility to ourselves and humanity.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byUnseen_America April 19, 2010

Kick Ass -- the name says it all. A spoiler free review!

This movie is an extremely enjotable movie going experience! Let's get to the meat of this though -- Leave the kids HOME. While there is graphic slasher violence to worry about my concern is more with the 11 year old using extremely harsh language. It doesn't detract from the movie but most kids are likely to mimic if they see someone in their age group, Also, It does touch on a few sexual situations that might be innappropriate even though there is no nudity. Why you'll love it: This one is a nonstop action adventure with some silly satirical comedy thrown in. The secondary story of Big Daddy and Hit girl will leave audiences reaching for the tissues in several touching scenes. While most critics are harsh on this storyline, the key to remember is that this is intended for adults, and while Nick Cage's sociopathic parenting skills will raise a few eyebrows, the mixture of his out-of-touch lame dad personality and his Adam West Batman dialog make this story even better than Kick Ass'. The final scenes wrap up nicely and leave plenty of room for sequels, while telling a complete story. Also, the last act of the film is a definite must see, so be sure to get your popcorn and hit the restroom BEFORE the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written byexitedreviewer September 5, 2013

Great movie for tweens and up!

Kick-Ass is a funny, great movie that is ok for mature tweens and up. My thirteen-year old daughter and I watched this when she was 12, and we both loved it. I will wait for my 10 year old son to turn 11 before I show it to him. The first 6 minutes of this movie are somewhat inappropriate, and I covered my daughters eyes during that part, but after that, it is fine. There is constant language throughout the movie, but it is not worse than what a 12 or 13 year old hears at school. The violence i also pretty bad, but it is done in a way that you can tell it is fake. Overall, great and funny movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMovieMan26 October 11, 2010

Hilarious, twisted, dark, brutal, action-packed, and totally awesome!

I love this movie so much! It's one of my favorites. The acting, the action, the comedy, the story; unlike anything you've ever seen! This is the superhero movie we (or at least I) have been waiting for! Pure, adrenaline-feuled, meta-entertainment! Parents: HUGE WARNING: this is an extremely violent film, with plenty of bloodshed, shootouts, exploding bodies, and brutal torture to go around. Plus, there's graphic sex references and situations, some nudity, and a whole lot of foul language. Even some drug content is present. Bottom Line: Despite extreme violence, profanity, and sex, this is a fantastically original movie that's sure to entertain anyone who sees it! Thanks for reading! - Movie Man
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by4Spice September 6, 2010

good superhero movie

i really liked this movie it didn't have a perfect plot but it a good action superhero movie most teens will like it 16 and over for violence sex, language for parents no kids under 16 this isn't batman the dark knight here no disrespect to batman the dark knight this movie shows blood
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRojagegeo August 17, 2010

Violent Yet Superb

Kick Ass is definitely "one of the best" movies of 2010 so far...This movie may not be rated for kids,but adults and teenagers would love this movie...I really dont get it why people are so concerned about the swearing bit....Every movie has it,words like F*** are being very common in conversations..(not everyone's,but among the students and young adults)...Hit Girl was brought up to be tough and dangerous and so it was necessary to swear,kill etc....At least theres a reason for the violence,not like some movies that swear or have violent scenes just for the sake of proving to us to be an action movie...Kids below 15/13 shouldnt see this but they happen to love this type of comedy/action....Soundtrack is cool,Action awesome,Story great,Directing good,Acting Awesome (especially Chloe-Hit Girl)....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMovies Viewer August 15, 2010
This is a very disturbing movie which goes beyong bad. Most parents
Adult Written byCoffeeTable June 7, 2010

HIlarious for Adults. Darker tones for teens.

Hilarious Movie! I loved it. But I am also a 24 year old who understands that the darker side to the movie is not appropriate for 15’s and under. The father is a revenge driven lunatic who has raised his daughter home schooled and, while smart, a little too smart in the area of violence and desensitized of killing other people which she has no problem doing. The main character is funny and completely unaware and shows his innocence and while his “side kick” brings on the mary jane while cruising in his awesome car there is a Tonne of gore that the trailers don’t show I was quite surprised to see incorporated into the movie as I didn’t expect it. The sex will be understood for all boys from puberty and up as they have all looked at porn on the internet at one time or another and brings it to a hilarious light in the beginnings of the movie. This is not your “spiderman” or “Iron man” comic made into a movie. Its more along the lines of The Watchmen and Sin City.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byillini13 May 17, 2010

Great movie, but not appropriate for most

Couldn't improve this movie if I tried. It had everything I could ask for, comedy, romance, action. Perfectly inline with my age group. With that said, my age group is college-aged. I could not picture anyone younger than say 15-16 watching it without feeling squeamish. The violence is more than the previews lead on. And unlike other comic book movies like Spider-man or Iron Man, the violence is pretty graphic. Some examples include a man being killed in an industrial sized microwave and another man being handcuffed to his car while his car get's slowly crushed at a junkyard. The movie in itself is absolutely great, but definitely only appropriate for certain ages and over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages