All parent member reviews for Kick-Ass

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 70 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2 year old Written byYahoo Kids July 30, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR PEOPLE UNDER 13

i don't think children under 13, 14, 15 or 16 should be watching this because not for kids audiences. it says "ass" the bad word we don't use.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byMr. Charlie July 23, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Kick- Ass is kick ass.

This movie truley is kick ass, viloence is cool i was pretty impressed. But there is an 11 year old hero goin around killin people (graphicly) and there is lots of language (the title gives you the hint on that one. but my kid loved it and hes 15.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byartyom July 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Terrible

Well, as a grown up, I would not want to suggest it to watch to other people, as it really is freaky to see 11 years old girl killing, swearing.. and not even flinching. I was VERY surprised to see how the movie developed. This is not the message I would personally want to see communicated at all, let alone to the kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byCoffeeTable June 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

HIlarious for Adults. Darker tones for teens.

Hilarious Movie! I loved it. But I am also a 24 year old who understands that the darker side to the movie is not appropriate for 15’s and under. The father is a revenge driven lunatic who has raised his daughter home schooled and, while smart, a little too smart in the area of violence and desensitized of killing other people which she has no problem doing. The main character is funny and completely unaware and shows his innocence and while his “side kick” brings on the mary jane while cruising in his awesome car there is a Tonne of gore that the trailers don’t show I was quite surprised to see incorporated into the movie as I didn’t expect it. The sex will be understood for all boys from puberty and up as they have all looked at porn on the internet at one time or another and brings it to a hilarious light in the beginnings of the movie. This is not your “spiderman” or “Iron man” comic made into a movie. Its more along the lines of The Watchmen and Sin City.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bygreg lew June 5, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bycooooooooco May 25, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good for older kids

like it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written byMcMovie May 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This movie was good and yes the movie could have been better. This movie even stayed true to its comic (although the comic is even bloodier!) , maybe not as true as Watchmen (people have you seen Watchmen while reading the graphic novel. It's like looking and listening to a read along!), and opens a new portal for comic based movies. Overall the movie itself is a brutal,comedic, comic based movie, thats all. Also at Sprangle07: of course it doesn't sound like its for kids!!! Thats what commonsemedia.org wants people to know. And have you even SEEN the movie?
Adult Written byillini13 May 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great movie, but not appropriate for most

Couldn't improve this movie if I tried. It had everything I could ask for, comedy, romance, action. Perfectly inline with my age group. With that said, my age group is college-aged. I could not picture anyone younger than say 15-16 watching it without feeling squeamish. The violence is more than the previews lead on. And unlike other comic book movies like Spider-man or Iron Man, the violence is pretty graphic. Some examples include a man being killed in an industrial sized microwave and another man being handcuffed to his car while his car get's slowly crushed at a junkyard. The movie in itself is absolutely great, but definitely only appropriate for certain ages and over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjackalfrog May 13, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
i love this movie! it is quite violent but it also is very very funny. the language is graphic but it can be unnoticed. the sex isn't that bad and the drugs are so brief you hardly can see anything. but theres alot of refrences to everything. i'd say probaly kids around 15 should see this. but beware the graphic violence for those who care.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPatty2by4 May 13, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Only for older teens, with the right mindset.

Kick-ass was, well, Kick-ass. It is definately not a movie for young kids it is very violent and there is drug use and sex and language up the wazoo. But it did show that criminals should be afraid of us as much as we are afraid of them. although appropriate diffinitive action should not be a masked hero. If you have a kid in his mid teens that is seriously considering being a super hero this movie will teach them diffrent, instead they might grow up to be a cop. Very good for twisted humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byDisneyFan May 10, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
My husband and I took our 14 year old son to see this movie. Yes, some of the dialogue is filthy, but I already know how teenage boys talk when their parents aren't around, so I wasn't too concerned. I thought this movie was amazing. It was to superhero movies what Shaun of the Dead is to zombie movies: a parody that turns out to be a really excellent movie. I love the message that we need to step up and do something when we see things that are wrong. And that regardless of whether or not we have special powers, we still have a responsibility to ourselves and humanity.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byWorldm May 4, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I thought it was good but not for kids maybe unde 16 or 17 because it has sex and shows a guy about to masturbate about a naked girl on the national geographic website
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written bygregheffley April 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
f-word ,s-word, a-word and the h-word,no sub words like darn
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byCooldee April 23, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Too violent for children of all ages!

Cover your children's eyes and ears!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byGreen Park Soldier April 23, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not For Kids

I went to go see the movie on opening day. I didnt know what to expect. To my surprise the movie was a nice mix of comedy, action, so it was a good movie. But it should not be viewed by kids under 16. so to all parents out there, Just because a movie has superheros in it, doesnt mean its for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... April 22, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Awesome, but for older teens.

Firstly, I want to address the review of "Scoobysnacks8371". I am curious as to why you thought the movie had no nudity as the rating CLEARLY states "...sexual content, NUDITY, and some drug use...". Secondly, are you really THAT upset, as an adult, over that little bit of nudity (I'm assuming you didn't bring your kids, since they're all under 10) that you actually walked out? Honestly, calm down... Anyways, I thought this movie was great. I'd read the graphic novel beforehand and thought it was alright. Nothing too special. The place where the movie really shines is that it stays true enough to the comic that the original fans won't feel alienated; it also deviates enough that you don't feel like you're watching what you've read -- something VERY few movies get right (Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist is the only other one I know of). It was pretty violent, obviously, as far as nudity/sex -- one completely topless person and another with just a bra on. Implied sex in an alley, and that's about it. Language wasn't nearly as "constant" as CSM wants you to believe. In any case, it was an awesome movie that should not be missed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3, 4, and 7 year old Written byScoobysnacks8371 April 22, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

NUDITY!

Well, me & my husband just watched like 5 minutes of this movie thinking it wouldn't have nudity!! WAY WRONG! first scene a teacher undresses her top down to her bra then take's it off w/ just her fingers covering her nipples as she squeezed her boobs! Then he get's on his computer and there is fully exposed breasts on the screen. It's not recommended that kids or teenagers watch this. Also if you don't like nudity in movies yourself then this isn't one to watch.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byUnseen_America April 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass -- the name says it all. A spoiler free review!

This movie is an extremely enjotable movie going experience! Let's get to the meat of this though -- Leave the kids HOME. While there is graphic slasher violence to worry about my concern is more with the 11 year old using extremely harsh language. It doesn't detract from the movie but most kids are likely to mimic if they see someone in their age group, Also, It does touch on a few sexual situations that might be innappropriate even though there is no nudity. Why you'll love it: This one is a nonstop action adventure with some silly satirical comedy thrown in. The secondary story of Big Daddy and Hit girl will leave audiences reaching for the tissues in several touching scenes. While most critics are harsh on this storyline, the key to remember is that this is intended for adults, and while Nick Cage's sociopathic parenting skills will raise a few eyebrows, the mixture of his out-of-touch lame dad personality and his Adam West Batman dialog make this story even better than Kick Ass'. The final scenes wrap up nicely and leave plenty of room for sequels, while telling a complete story. Also, the last act of the film is a definite must see, so be sure to get your popcorn and hit the restroom BEFORE the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written byLouiebouy April 19, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I'm an older parent, and watched it online. I would not rec for anyone under 18. It could have been a better movie, but they played to a select audience and this is the result - a very warped list of characters and plot. These type movies depict our culture as devoid of any type of law enforcement to protect citizens - it's a dream movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bybloodymary April 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up

i was laughing until my eyes went off my bro kept on spitting the water out by laughing its the funniest movie ive seen. trust me when you sleep at night you will laugh till oblivion day awsome funny movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages