All parent member reviews for Kick-Ass

Parents say

(out of 69 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written byCaregiver September 10, 2010
Yes, I cringed at the portrayals of teen masturbation and sex, shook my head over a child who appeared to be about 9 (the publicity says she's 11) dropping F-bombs, and wondered why Nicholas Cage was making a full glottal stop between every word he spoke. But my moral objection has to do with the fact that human life and human death need to be treated with respect. This movie disrespects God's greatest gift, that of life. Even the death of the main character's mother from a brain aneurysm is treated humorously. I would've laughed heartily at a little girl who beat the crap out of big mean gangsters. But a little girl who uses guns to splatter their brains out the back of their heads? No.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAlexxxx September 1, 2010

not for kids...

Saw all the commercials and it sounds good, son was excited about it, watched less than 10 mins and turned off because of language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydittoface May 29, 2014

IT IS NOT THAT BAD!

The movie does have its violence, but as the kid knows it's fiction. There is no problem. The sexuality isn't graphic at all. The language just tell your kids not to repeat!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byclarence August 7, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byConcernedMan September 26, 2010

Please understand the movie.

I find it disturbing that people allow themselves to be caught up in visual content and ignore the fact that this movie sends a deep message; stand up. Kick-ass had an encounter with three men much larger than him and he stands up to fight for the sake of a guy he doesn't even know. While some people may think it's promoting violence, it is not. It promotes standing up for what you believe in and not allowing others to do what you KNOW is wrong. The message here outweighs the negative aspects of the film which make it, in my mind, a complete success.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4, 7, and 9 year old Written byRachael Starke April 15, 2010
Please help this mother of three daughters understand how a movie can be so violent, sexual and offensive that no one under 18 can see it without a parent (given that the entire purpose of an R rating is to protect children from seeing things harmful to them), but a child fully 7 years younger is actually IN it as its central character and the initiator of the aforementioned offensive content. Shame on the soulless company and the heartless parents who subjected a minor to this madness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfirst class June 21, 2011

kick ass

pretty violent and many sexual references and scenes.lots of profanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 14, 15, and 17 year old Written bydemondonkey25 April 9, 2010

Awesome

Love it. Funny and blood everywhere.
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010

no no no

no no no no no no no no
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLeon cassif April 27, 2014

Wow!!

Amazing brutal and violent film. One of my favourite
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bytenaciousddude December 31, 2013

Kick Ass

strong violence and language throughout. my recommendation, find it edited on TV or watch something else like Hancock or Watchmen. FANTASTIC Movie though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written bySuperParent April 28, 2010

kick-buttcheeks :)

i loved this film. patrick and quentin enjoyed it, i highly recommend you bring your teens to this movie, it has great humor and it is very entertaining, however the film is pretty violent, there is a lot of swearing, and a few scenes that involve sex and masturbation. but other than that this film is very funny and awesome
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bybobula April 15, 2010

It is R rated for good reason

Parents, please, just because this movie is about super heroes - don't think it's safe to take you kids. All you have to do is search for the red band trailer on the internet and you will know what I mean. It is R rated for good reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 1, 2, 4, 6, and 14 year old Written bySuperherofan May 18, 2014

Good movie but super inappropriate.

Every inappropriate thing you could imagine this in this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byZBOSS72015 October 6, 2015

Review of the movie

This movie is very comedic and my 2 kids: 9 and 13 liked it and laughing throughout the movie. And I also enjoyed. It's very recommended.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byoctober1985 May 1, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMature-teen September 10, 2010

Hit Girl

Be prepared. If your teen is mature enough this movie is great. It is defiantly my favorite movie. Sex is implied and not terrible. There are drugs but barely mentioned and only the "bad guys" do drugs. There is a lot of violence but the movie is so fast paced so it doesn't seem gross. Hit Girl is amazing, although she is not the ideal role model watching her made me want to shout "GIRL POWER!" Chloe Moretz (hit girl) is an amazing talented actress and was the highlight of the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bybasketballmaster December 6, 2015
it is about stoping bullys i would recommend
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymovie fan man's dad March 3, 2014

awesome movie

well there is some scenes of sex but not a lot if your children like bloody movies and action then it is OK for kids over 12 also pervasive language you might not to watch it first parents
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written bytortimom August 25, 2013

Sad state of society - passive complacency glorified

Some parts are comedic and good fun around high school behavior. The violence is over-the-top and some of it unwatchable for me. I watched it with my 15 year old son, thinking from the trailer that this would be one of the few movies I could watch with him. Halfway through the film I dispensed with the hope that there would be some positive lessons from the film. The bad guys don't survive, but the worst taste in my mouth was left by witnessing one of the true horrors of our society-- that people can stand by and watch or record egregious acts of violence and do nothing. The film glorified this in a way, even though the "super hero" premise was supposed to detract from it.

Pages