All parent member reviews for Kick-Ass

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 70 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAlexxxx September 1, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

not for kids...

Saw all the commercials and it sounds good, son was excited about it, watched less than 10 mins and turned off because of language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byCaregiver September 10, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Yes, I cringed at the portrayals of teen masturbation and sex, shook my head over a child who appeared to be about 9 (the publicity says she's 11) dropping F-bombs, and wondered why Nicholas Cage was making a full glottal stop between every word he spoke. But my moral objection has to do with the fact that human life and human death need to be treated with respect. This movie disrespects God's greatest gift, that of life. Even the death of the main character's mother from a brain aneurysm is treated humorously. I would've laughed heartily at a little girl who beat the crap out of big mean gangsters. But a little girl who uses guns to splatter their brains out the back of their heads? No.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byConcernedMan September 26, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Please understand the movie.

I find it disturbing that people allow themselves to be caught up in visual content and ignore the fact that this movie sends a deep message; stand up. Kick-ass had an encounter with three men much larger than him and he stands up to fight for the sake of a guy he doesn't even know. While some people may think it's promoting violence, it is not. It promotes standing up for what you believe in and not allowing others to do what you KNOW is wrong. The message here outweighs the negative aspects of the film which make it, in my mind, a complete success.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4, 7, and 9 year old Written byRachael Starke April 15, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Please help this mother of three daughters understand how a movie can be so violent, sexual and offensive that no one under 18 can see it without a parent (given that the entire purpose of an R rating is to protect children from seeing things harmful to them), but a child fully 7 years younger is actually IN it as its central character and the initiator of the aforementioned offensive content. Shame on the soulless company and the heartless parents who subjected a minor to this madness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written bybobula April 15, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

It is R rated for good reason

Parents, please, just because this movie is about super heroes - don't think it's safe to take you kids. All you have to do is search for the red band trailer on the internet and you will know what I mean. It is R rated for good reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfirst class June 21, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

kick ass

pretty violent and many sexual references and scenes.lots of profanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

no no no

no no no no no no no no
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byoctober1985 May 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written bySuperParent April 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

kick-buttcheeks :)

i loved this film. patrick and quentin enjoyed it, i highly recommend you bring your teens to this movie, it has great humor and it is very entertaining, however the film is pretty violent, there is a lot of swearing, and a few scenes that involve sex and masturbation. but other than that this film is very funny and awesome
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14, 15, and 17 year old Written bydemondonkey25 April 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Love it. Funny and blood everywhere.
Adult Written bydarthsitkur October 9, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I got my ass kicked lol (pun intended) ;)

this was a badass movie, just a fun nonstop action thrill ride, and this and the sequel are pretty much in the vain of the crank series, they're brutal, badass, bloody, gruesome, vulgar, violent, and ridiculous, and funny at times
Educator and Parent Written byi love it 14 July 7, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

kick ass

this is a good movie parents who don't let their kids watch this act let like their child does not al ready curse. fuck all you parents
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydittoface May 29, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

IT IS NOT THAT BAD!

The movie does have its violence, but as the kid knows it's fiction. There is no problem. The sexuality isn't graphic at all. The language just tell your kids not to repeat!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of a 1, 2, 4, 6, and 14 year old Written bySuperherofan May 18, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good movie but super inappropriate.

Every inappropriate thing you could imagine this in this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymovie fan man's dad March 3, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

awesome movie

well there is some scenes of sex but not a lot if your children like bloody movies and action then it is OK for kids over 12 also pervasive language you might not to watch it first parents
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bytenaciousddude December 31, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass

strong violence and language throughout. my recommendation, find it edited on TV or watch something else like Hancock or Watchmen. FANTASTIC Movie though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids.

this action/adventure movie kick-ass is a great movie with lots of action but parents this is not your typical kid friendly super hero movie this is a adult super hero movie with a bunch of contents to look out for and this super hero is not for kids with that being said this movie is only for adults and parents you need to know that kick-ass has a lot of extreme intense bloody violence such as shootings, stabbings and more there is sexual content such as sex talk and sex jokes also the hero looks at naked women National Geographic-style women in native dress on the Internet and prepares to masturbate and in one scene the hero and a teen girl have fast, loudly passionate sex in an alley behind a comic book store though no nudity appears on screen characters used constant strong language and drugs are seen and discussed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written byexitedreviewer September 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie for tweens and up!

Kick-Ass is a funny, great movie that is ok for mature tweens and up. My thirteen-year old daughter and I watched this when she was 12, and we both loved it. I will wait for my 10 year old son to turn 11 before I show it to him. The first 6 minutes of this movie are somewhat inappropriate, and I covered my daughters eyes during that part, but after that, it is fine. There is constant language throughout the movie, but it is not worse than what a 12 or 13 year old hears at school. The violence i also pretty bad, but it is done in a way that you can tell it is fake. Overall, great and funny movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 29, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

kick ass good movie

Really a good movie recommended for 14 and up language is pretty strong and some sex and nudity scenes. Really violent to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written bytortimom August 25, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Sad state of society - passive complacency glorified

Some parts are comedic and good fun around high school behavior. The violence is over-the-top and some of it unwatchable for me. I watched it with my 15 year old son, thinking from the trailer that this would be one of the few movies I could watch with him. Halfway through the film I dispensed with the hope that there would be some positive lessons from the film. The bad guys don't survive, but the worst taste in my mouth was left by witnessing one of the true horrors of our society-- that people can stand by and watch or record egregious acts of violence and do nothing. The film glorified this in a way, even though the "super hero" premise was supposed to detract from it.

Pages