All member reviews for Kick-Ass

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 186 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 18, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Hore- Ible!!!

It's JUST Kamek-ish!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byshanno15 October 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Must See!

Awesome action movie, one of the best ive ever seen!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byRainy Day October 2, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

"Kick Ass" Review

"Kick Ass" is a superhero movie that people are, and still will be talking about for months to come. Based on the comic book by Mark Millar and brought to life by director Matthew Vaughn, the film tells the story of an ordinary high-schooler who decides to take the same route as Peter Parker and fight crime for a living. Unfortunately, the first time our hero tries it, he gets stabbed by two thugs, hit by a car, and rushed to the ER in an ambulance. In other words, not quite the usual pulp origin story we're used to. The film attempts to blend the fantasy of becoming a masked crusader with the reality and grittiness of a crime picture, and it succeeds in entertaining the audience for only a short period of time. I think kids will be able to handle the blood-spurting gore, filthy language, and sexual content because of the film's comical tone, but it's the ideas brought up that I'm concerned about. "Kick Ass" felt mean-spirited to me, just being violent for the sake of being violent, and rude and cynical just to be "different." Call me old-fashioned, but I prefer my superheroes the way "Spider-man" or "The Dark Knight" showed them to me—flawed people trying to do good, instead of trying to get laid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byimadinosaur October 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Even though it has language, violence, and sex, Kick-Ass still has a good message about not just standing by and watching bad things happen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 September 15, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byzuckiebri September 11, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I thought it was a very good movie, but way too much language. And there is a 12 year old girl killing a bunch of people. She really kicked butt.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byHicktown007 September 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

@Alexxxx

I saw it at my buddy zacks house. its a legit movie. to judge it based on 10 minutes is like judging a book after chapter 2. Also, im pretty sure he has heard a few of those words from friends/cousins/ etc.
Teen, 15 years old Written byzackaback August 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Kick-Ass Literaly

Love It!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Lol. Definitely not a kid's movie if the title is "Kick ___".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieReviewer458 August 14, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
THE BEST. IFFY BUT, THE BEST!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAgentBartowski August 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kick-Ass really does

Cool film. I am 14 and I enjoyed it. People are getting too riled up over Chloe Moretz's role- we as children in the 21st century hear just as bad language on the bus.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybradster3d August 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byminaj August 5, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

cursing

good movie ... EXELLENT but in a very dark way
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byCyonnara August 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Best Movie of 2010

Kick-Ass really was a surprise to us all I think because all of us probably thought it was going to be dumb humor like "Superbad" but this film actually had a deep meaning to it and it had some pretty serious parts, I really loved it, there was not one boring part in it and it was extremely realistic. overall 5 stars. it also has an amazing Soundtrack/Score
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 3, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

GREAT movie!

One of the funniest most awe-inspiring superhero movie ever! Though like most movies there is violence and sexual situations and intense swearing. But besides those things, it's an excellent movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Kick-A**

Gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byluke3854 July 31, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Older teens only

Well The main concern is swearing. Especially from the girl. There is a fair amount of violence and blood. sex is a concern though , sex jokes and references
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Starts out tamed in the first hour, than the next gets too heavy for young teens. Problems of death, trust, loyalty.

Well I'm 12 and I went to go see Kick-Ass thinking this would be a cool superhero movie. The trailers and TV spots are misguiding. THIS MOVIE IS NOT FOR THE LIGHT-HEARTED. Violence is heavy, which includes fantasy violence and one or two disturbing scenes (one of them, 2 main characters are strapped to chairs and severly beaten with brass knuckles, bats, batons and feet, etc, for about 2 minutes, may be disturbing. The language is not THAT much of a big deal, because it's nothing we haven't heard before, but the fact that c--t is used (which isn't even an American word), may disturb some adults. Sex jokes are PG-13 appropriate, and the worst that we see of drug content is inhalation of cocaine through the nose. Good message about standing up though. Cont And Ma
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome film, not for little kids. Mature kids.

I love this movie. This is a fantastic movie! But it has violence, strong sexual references, language and drug themes, so not for little kids. OK for mature kids, though. It's just that alot of other people aren't comfortable with their children watching these things. Good film, though. 5 stars. (Good soundtrack, too)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMissBee26 July 9, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
As long as the violence doesnt get to you, its really not that bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages