All member reviews for Kick-Ass

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 190 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byArabianHorses January 21, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Um....love it!

I love this movie! Hit Girl is AMAZING! And hilarous! Watch this movie please!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bygingerkiss May 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Kickass - The most over the top R18 rating in history!

I LOVED this movie! I'm 14 and at first my parents were a little squemish about letting me see a R18 movie but after they saw it they were as shocked as I was. Kickass has got to be one of the most awesomest movies ever and it has no reason why it should be R18. So what if an 11 year old girl is swearing? Man I swore like a sailor when I was that age! So what if she kills people? I know adults say tweens are at an impressionable age, but seeing Hitgirl kill people isn't going to send them on a murderous rampage. She even sends positive messages - That girls don't have to use their sexuality to be action heroes. Just like Ripeley in Alien she defies gender boundaries. Kickass also sends positive messages that you should stand up for what you believe in. My only reserve would be if your kids are sensitive to violence BUT don't just assume they are. Ask, and talk to your kids about the limit of violence they mind. Kickass there is alot of people getting shot and things, a bit like Hot Fuzz. (but less gorey) Nothing like Saw or gornographic movies. And the sex in this? I have seen WAY worse in family guy. I mean this is nothing compared to Family Guy and some Family Guy episodes have been only M. Overall the R18 rating on this film made me miss out on seeing one of the COOLEST films in the world. If you are scared about your kids seeing it - watch it first! And remember- Our generation is alot tougher than you think!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byNeil13 March 30, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass kicks ass!

This movie was freakin awesome!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 December 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
pretty cool ! it really is like a comic book ! they should call this movie bad ass because it is is!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old September 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Common Sense Media is Too Harsh!

I Saw probably one of the most violent scenes in the movie where Hit Girl stabs tons of people, Cuts Off a Dude's Leg, then Stabs him in the back and I honestly have to say that the blood looks like red slime! It's Not gross or disturbing and makes the scenes kind of funny! The other worst scene is when a guy explodes in an oven... THAT'S IT!! I mean the blood in the incredible hulk looks real! But in a rated R movie the blood looks like Goo! Lol! :D Also the language is what's inappropriate but most kids know the F word and some know the C word like me. I think kids 11 and up could see this movie!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byslasher23 September 5, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byHidden_light96 April 20, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kick-Ass is kick-ass.

Awesome movie! I find it disturbing to see an 11 year-old cussing, but hey, elementary kids cuss nowadays and it's not suprising (Not saying it's a good thing, it's greatly a bad thing.) anymore. Lots of violence and sexual jokes but I think it's alright for 16+. Anyone younger or "innocent and pure", STAY HOME.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bySynchronicity April 15, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Sickening violence, just the way you like it, but people under 14 are out of the question

As a rabid fan of the comic, I was indeed excited to hear about a film adaptation of Kick-Ass. But, I thought no one would be able to emulate the sheer awesomeness of Hit Girl. Oh, but I was wrong. This morality tale/comedy/affectionate parody of superheroes is...there's that title. Yeah. Anyways, I wouldn't say No Kids, Common Sense. This film is rated R (17+, NOT 18+) in the US, but in other countries it's given a 15+ or 16+ rating. Personally, I'd be fine with a 15 or 16-year-old seeing this alone. But, I don't think that a little kid (under 13 or 14) should see this. Why? Because of a character that age. Hit Girl uses big guns and flick knives and has the mouth of a sailor. But, people who've read the comic know this already. Not to mention, there's also a lot of violence, but what do you expect? Also, there's some sexual content in the first few minutes. Masturbation is briefly implied, and there are a few sexually related comments, but nothing you wouldn't see or hear in an average Gossip Girl episode. Overall, parents need to just chill out. It's fine for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byLuke54 May 25, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Sooooo funny

Kick-ass is an once off thing with finding my self bursting with laughter at every moment of the movie. The movie could be glorifying violence in a way, because of the super heroes being total badasses while they kill people. I still love this movie its hilarious. It has a lot of swearing and even more extreme bloody violence and some sex references. Its dark comedy not for easily offended, but if your like me and like that kind of comedy then this is for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byshihab May 23, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

violent.but funny

This movie is really funny. It is only for mature kids. It has a very stronge language. Ps. How can this be "not for kids" if one of the mane characters is 13 years old when the movie was made???
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

11andUp

Well, I have watched this film many times! For anyone under 11 this would not be a interesting, child-nice film! However it does have voilence and some inappropriate scenes, but anyone over 11 can handle that!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

OH MY GOSH

This is soooooooooooooo brutal!!! I would rate it 18 LEGS GOT CHOPPED OFF!! Good movie but brutal, brutal, brutal, brutal!!!!! (really funny though!)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byelizabethhobbit February 14, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Epic movie really funny.

This movie has inspired me to be hit girl for comic con. But the language is bad as well (but a lot of kids swear) and the violence is bad but not really really bloody, also the sex is not that bad either it just at the start it bad and there only 2 sex jokes so that ok. I really think this movie funny, hit girl the best, so this movie is a must see movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLilz the pawz February 2, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZING, wayyy to exagerated

who says this is not for teens? Everybody loves this stuff and it has a great message too I have a sister who's 11 who adores this film. ok some parts are a bit iffy and it can get gory(not for the squeamish) but I think it's brilliant
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew November 29, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Unfunny gruesome flick has a bad word in the title

My rating:R for extreme bloody violence,pervasive langauge,sexuality/nudity and drug use
Kid, 12 years old November 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass is great,but not for young teens

This movie includes ALOT of swearing, mild sex, and lots of violence (the blood does look fake). The movie is iffy for younger teens, and more suitable for 14 and up. Only let your tween watch it if he or she is mature
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieGuy2570 August 29, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass !

Kick Ass is a very good movie, is well written and directed and acted. However, despite being a superhero movie, Kick Ass contains a lot of Bloody Violence. Drug use is not a constant theme, but is briefly seen (A man is seen snorting cocaine for a few seconds). Language is strong and constant with uses of F*** , S*** and a use of C**t by an eleven year old girl. Sexual content isn't a major theme but is depicted on occasions in a fully clothed sex scene and mildly through dialogue. Overall, a very different but very good movie for teens.
Teen, 17 years old Written byJasonMovie August 21, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great superhero action comedy although not so appropriate

The title says it all, this movie contains lots of strong language and tons of violence and exploding blood and all of that s**t as Dave would say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byfellaZ August 16, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great movie

It is a movie for teens, let your kids watch this if they want but do not watch with them, you will say:'Turn it off a go to bed.'
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byA Fake Human. July 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

GREAT!!!

Ok... This is NOT for younger kids due to profanities, violence, a bit of nudity and some drug use, BUT. Profanity: The swearing is used to convey emotions and is needed to suppourt the High School and Mafia elements. Violence: It is all digital blood so it isn't very realistic, only one part (where a guy is put in a microwave and explodes) is very bloody. Nudity: The only major nudity is tribal. Some sexual language is used. Drugs: One scene in a crack den and a few depictions of drug use. POSITIVES!!! It tells you to stand against what you believe is wrong and do what you dream of doing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages