All member reviews for King Kong (1933)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent but beloved old-school monster movie.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bywhovian85 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great Old Movie!

King Kong is a true classic, and one of the best adventure movies ever made. I prefer the 2005 version because it's a lot more intense, but the original must have been completely amazing back in 1933. Even by today's standards it's fairly fun and exciting. And as far as content goes, this is a great family movie. There's some violence. Kong breaks a T-Rex's jaw and then smashes in its skull (just like in the 2005 version), Kong snacks on people like popcorn and smashes them into the ground, and Kong destroys things and eats people in New York. This all would be very disturbing if Kong and the dinosaurs looked real, but it's not, you can tell they're puppets easily. Good for kids 7+
Adult Written byClassicCultReviewer June 17, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byThe pox July 21, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Spectacular

Talk about a classic. Possibly the most famous monster of all time. Worth a million watches, but not for sensitive people.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old October 4, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

An Almost Perfect Action Movie

When I saw this movie, I could see why it's a classic. There was less violence than the new version, and the special effects looked cheesy compared to 2005. But it must have been scary in 1933. I don't like how the movie stereotypes natives. I also don't like how nearly every movie from the 30's has romance. That's why I only give it 4 stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byshanno15 March 4, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great classic movie

THis movie was really a monumental leap in filmaking considering it was one of the first films to use sound and everything made in the film is stopmotion and made by hand.
Parent Written by@@@ December 13, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Highly overrated.

A stupid and overly acclaimed film that may have been scary/effective around 80 years ago, but is little more than crappy trash these days. I couldn't give it a zero stars rating. Unfortunately that doesn't work.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 27, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

king kong review by critic07

A classic, really good. but boring for kids who like just action movies. It is one of my favorite movies now.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 31, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This classic is beloved, but violent!

The ever-screaming heroine may be a nuisance to me, but due to the violence and the planes causing Kong to fall of the building, I would rate it iffy for 10 and under.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

THE BEST MONSTER MOVIE EVER

an incredible monster movie. Just fantastic, entertaining, funny and visually spectacular. Saw this when I was 10 and loved it, excellent special effects for the time and superb acting. And a very sad ending make this a must see classic
Teen, 14 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 February 15, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

action packed monster flick will entertain anyone

this thrilling, incredible monster flick is a total classic in many ways. it is well known, has great stop motion effects, and contains plentiful, never-before-seen action. but this old, awesome horror flick is better fit for older kids. despite its age, King Kong still has some incredibly graphic violence. there is a massive body count, with people eaten, crushed, and dropped from high buildings, all on screen. Kong destroys a train, buildings, and cars. humans shoot at Kong with guns and smoke bombs. Kong fights with a T-Rex and giant lizard. Kong bleeds profusely following these battles and when he is shot off the Empire State Building, blood flows from his wounds. in a lighter scene, a man smokes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the Most Groundbreaking Monster Movies Ever

This is a very groundbreaking movie. The special effects look cheesy now, but they look great for the 30's. It moves at a very fast pace, first one monster appears, then, as soon as it goes away, another one appears. Once the action starts, it's almost non stop until the end. If there wasn't any romance, I would've given it 5 stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byhomealonefan123 November 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really????

not very violent, what do you expect in a very old movie?
Teen, 14 years old Written byJackson The King November 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The Landmark in Monster movie history

I remember seeing this movie A long time ago. I remeber it was a cold friday night, happy that I did not have to go to pre-school the next day. I remember my dad watching a B&W movie. I thought it was boring till' the mighty Kong appeared. To my eyes the great beast looked so real and so animal like. I was glued to tv screen untill my mom sent me to bed. I remember hearing the movie. My mind running wild about what was going on. I had many dreams about the big ape. So one day a few weeks later at the local Blockbuster. I saw a VHS of the movie. I looked at the box so happy. I was 4 and did not know how to read but I knew the big ape from the next guy. So I begged my folks to rent it for me and they did. I was in such awe when I saw the Kong running around the city tearing up trains and building. I loved it. I did not see the movie again untill it showed on AMC the week before the big budgt remake. And at 7 i still loved it. I went to see the remake on Kong the week after its release. I loved it just as much. I did not learn how the special effect where done untill recently and now know what a landmark it was for movie FX. I am 14 and older. I watch horror movies all the time. But I love the classics the most: The Thing(1951), It came from beneath the sea(1955) and Dracula(1931). But when I think of monster movies I think of one of the first and best monsters: King Kong
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 29, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A little scary for tweens; teens can most definitely handle--come on, it's a 1930's movie!

My rating: PG for scary images involving monster violence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 July 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Beauty and the Beast

I was blown away by this small yet enormous tale about the enormous gorilla Kong, which this groupn of film makers find on an island they had no business being on, but it was for the sake of making a movie. After a dozen deaths, they gas and ship Kong to Broadway where he breaks free, and the rest is history. This movie is so gripping even after being 75+ years old and because of that fact I think it is one of the finest films of all time.
What other families should know
Too much violence