All member reviews for Larry Crowne

Common Sense Media says

Hanks and Roberts co-star in well-meaning but treacly drama.
 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bykhan2705 July 7, 2011
 

it was a bad movie, even with this two biggies :(

1.5/5 Until he was downsized, affable, amiable Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks) was a superstar team leader at the big-box company where he's worked since his time in the Navy. Underwater on his mortgage and unclear on what to do with his suddenly free days, Larry heads to his local college to start over. There he becomes part of a colorful community of outcasts, also-rans and the overlooked all trying to find a better future for themselves...often moving around town in a herd of scooters. In his public-speaking class, Larry develops an unexpected crush on his teacher Mercedes Tainot (Julia Roberts), who has lost as much passion for teaching as she has for her husband. with such high expectations i saw this movie, not much high since i saw its Rotten Tomatoes rating. you know if you see the lead actors, Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts are one of my most favorites. and on the top of that Tom Hanks directed it himself. he previously directed That Thing You Do which i haven't seen. when i saw this movie, i was so disappointed in them as actors and at him as a director. i honestly absolutely didn't liked this movie at all. this maybe one of the worst movies of this year with big stars. it may get Razzie nominations to be honest. plot is going nowhere, story is sill and weird, writing is awful, acting is bad. since it is a bad movie i won't talk much about it. Tom Hanks as an actor was below average but somehow adorable in this character. seeing him in this age playing a character like this and that trying to be cool thing, i liked it. he could have acted better. Julia Roberts on the other hand, as much as i hate to say this but she was so annoying in the movie except in one or two places i don't remember giving a nice expression. she didn't acted at all. so disappointed in her.other actors include Bryan Cranston, Cedric the Entertainer, Taraji P. Henson , Gugu Mbatha-Raw , Wilmer Valderrama , Pam Grier , Rami Malek , George Takei , Grace Gummer , Rita Wilson , Jon Seda. Tom Hanks as a director in this movie was not good. what was he thinking making this movie? screenplay was awful, absolutely boring and dull movie with a story, plot and written work so empty, thin and hollow that even after a while their adorableness doesn't save this movie. after a while i was like what is in this movie? nothing. i would prefer other jobless movies over this one. its a very bad movie. and other thing that it even doesn't fill the requirements of a rom com seeing the history of both these actors in this genre. this movie is not good at all i won't recommend it to you but if you wanna watch it for the actors then do it, because i did too. lol.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 20, 2012
 

Steer clear of this peice of crap.

I really,REALLY hated this movie.It was boring,lame,stupid,gay,pathetic,pointless,and dumb.
Adult Written byJEDI micah June 14, 2012
 

Probably Hanks and Robert's worst movie!

This movie is absolutely horrible. It is, without a doubt, Hanks and Robert's worst movie! It was a boring and complete waste of time! I feel bad for anyone who wasted their money to see this movie, and I'm glad that I waited for the DVD at Redbox for $1! Even my family didn't like this movie. At the end of the movie, I said, "THAT'S IT?" I hate this movie! DON'T BOTHER WATCHING IT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn December 19, 2011
 

Kindhearted and postive thinking comedy does not change the fact that it is a complete mess

The Tom Hanks directed, co-written and acted comedy\drama Larry Crowne, which debuted back in early July at the beginning of summer 2011, which also stars Julia Roberts, Cedric the Entertainer and Taraji P. Hensen, is, simply put, a most unfortunate mess, in nearly every way you can wing it. The story of the kindly Larry Crowne who loses his job and must complete a college presentation course is well-meaning and sensitive, but it corrodes this plot with atrocious dialog, lame, obnoxious and unneeded side characters, and one of the most dull ending in recent memory. So, this movie is actually very tame for a PG-13 Rated movie, aside for a few little things: There is infrequent but strong profanity including f--k, sh-t, c-ck, h-ll and more. Also, there is very frequent drinking and alcohol consumption which populates one of the main characters social skills. Finally, there is infrequent sexual references including much talk of one of the characters searching soft-core pornography on the internet. So, as well-meaning and sensitive as it is, that just can't take away from how awful this movie was.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTotally500 November 27, 2011
 

Larry Crowne name is stipid

God I hate this movie its just bad TOM HAnks why?
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2011
 

Predictable, but Satisfying

Very generic and predictable, but what it lacks in originality it almost makes up for because it's entertaining. The film is full of positive messages. It's far from a masterpiece, but if there wasn't much playing on TV, I'd probably watch it again.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2011
 

i want my 8 dollars back!

this movie was a complete waste of time,i was really bored although i thought this was a great movie,but its dissapointing me!
Kid, 10 years old July 14, 2011
 

My Aunt Saw It, Liked It

I asked my aunt about going to see this movie sometime while I'm visiting her, and she said she liked it, but didn't think that kids under 12 would really "appreciate" it. She explained that it is about a guy (Tom Hanks) who gets fired from from his job cuz he never attended college. He then goes to a community college, makes some friends, develops a crush on his teacher...Just by looking at the trailer really gives it all away. I wanted to see it, but now am thinking about watching it when I'm a bit older. Check out my review on this movie in about 1-3 years.
Kid, 12 years old July 14, 2011
 

one great movie you cant miss

great movie but the main issues are that the husband is always searching on porno sites and the wife is an alcoholic and one part tom hanks is looking at a woman on a subway and he says oh im not a pervert or anything and she says too bad but it is a great movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byashbudgie1 July 9, 2011
 

Fun and clean!

Larry Crowne himself is a good role model. He works hard, goes to school, saves money, and makes a lot of friends. This is a positive movie and good for families. The only problems are a guy surfing porn, a woman who drinks too much, and one f-word. The rest of the movie is great!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymoviemadness July 3, 2011
 

Sweet predictable romcom for teens+

Larry Crowne is a quirky, sweet film chock full of positive messages. Crowne, (Hanks's lovable character) a divorced navy veteran laid off because he never went to college, decides to make some changes. Drowning in debt and unable to find a new job, he enrolls in the local community college. As he studies for his speech and economics classes and finds a part-time job, he meets new friends and rediscovers himself. His path converges with that of Mercedes Tainot, his unhappily married speech teacher -with easily-guessed results. The film's characters are believable, lovable, and predictably funny. The film offers great role models, laughs, and a great deal of heartwarming Hanks-appeal. While Larry Crowne certainly has lots going for it, there are some issues that make it ill-suited to younger viewers. First of all, the subject matter is too mature for younger ones. There is lots of drinking and one pretty intense bout of swearing. Great family fare for teens and older.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking