All member reviews for Lean on Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Inspirational movie about a controversial teacher.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byRawRockKills March 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
there were disturbing images of violence but i luv the story!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byfullofbdawg April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

it is an amazing movie and i love the story plot
Adult Written byLowe's man April 17, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Insight can be gained.

I wanted to watch this movie because I liked Morgan Freeman as Easy Reader on THE ELECTRIC COMPANY; therefore, I thought that I'd like him here too. He was even better as Principal Joe Clark. Clark's tactics were questionable and sometimes confusing, but his intentions were neither questionable nor confusing. His intentions were good. An excellent time for parents to show their teens the difference between tactics and intentions. Regardless of what one thinks of his tactics, violence at the school went down while test scores went up. Moreover, even when Clark received complaints from parents and got in trouble with the law, others, particularly the students, supported him. An excellent opportunity for parents that even the most controversial behavior is sometimes not without support.
Parent Written bymelgmendez November 9, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Graphic violence in the first few minutes

The first few minutes show a teen girl being forcibly stripped by other girls in a HS bathroom and then running, screaming into a crowded hallway where she's groped in a crowd. Moments later a teacher who intervenes in a fight has his bloody head repeatedly smashed into the floor. This movie has it's strong points, but consider the explicit violence at the beginning when making your choice.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bycolten97 October 10, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Morgan Freeman at his best

Morgan Freeman must be at his highest potential in this drama because he is excellent. He is excellent as Joe Clark, a principal at a high school who is trying to shape up his school and prepare them. He is wonderful as Joe Clark and he fills his character with so much heart that it is unbelieveable. He proved once again that he knows how to act and he should have won an oscar for his role. All of the actors and actresses are awesome in this. The direction and everything else is perfectly brought out. Overall this movie has minor bits but everything else is perfect.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byJoe Blow November 20, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie!

Strong profanity. G-d-mn and b--ch are the strongest terms. Also, there is drug and sexual refrences. Me and my family have a DVD Player called Clearplay that takes out nudity, profanity, and other innapropriate scenes and words. It allows me and my family to enjoy movies more without the nudity and profanity and other things. I srtongly recommend it to those who hate profanity useage and other innapropriate terms and movies.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 29, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Sometimes inappropriate but peaceful too.

Sniff. This is the most wonderful movie I've ever seen. Sniff. Sniff. Espeacially the song by Bill Withers. I wan't to cry.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycooldude1234 November 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

inspiring but edgy

This is an inspiring movie with great messagaes and it has a great cast. This a very suprising amount of languages and violence and drugs and alcohol so wait till there in their teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 August 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A GOOD MOVIE BUT NOT FOR YOUNGER KIDS

TWO THUMPS UP
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 June 19, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Gritty yet never a dull moment in it

Morgan Freeman is one of my favorite actors of all time; "Million Dollar Baby," "Invictus" and "Driving Miss Daisy" showcase his excellent talent, and the Academy must agree. He's been up for an Oscar 5 times and one once for "Baby." Why he wasn't nominated for "Lean on Me" blows my mind. He took control of the school and made sure everyone knew he was the head guy in charge (movie explains that.) Catch the TV-edited version.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydansham April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY