All member reviews for Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events

Common Sense Media says

Book's fans will enjoy, but too creepy for some.
 

Users say

(out of 109 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old January 6, 2010
age 5+
 

Worst Movie

This movie was probably the worst movie i ever saw. It's not that innapropriate but i just dont like it
Adult Written byJjSmihal April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

I liked the movie enough to rate it.

My husband and I succumbed to the pleadings of our 4 year old daughter and went to see the movie. I thought it would be too scary for her, but she was not afraid. I jumped out of my skin in the reptile room. She patted my hand and told me it would be okay, it is just a movie! She didn't understand that Count Olaf was in disguise over and over. She thought they were different characters and we couldn't convince her that it was all the same evil villian. She and I discussed the death of the parents, the letter that arrived, and how family sticks together and makes a home wherever they are. We just moved and this was the best theme for us. My husband thought this was one of the weirdest, dumbest movies he's ever seen. He was NOT a fan! FYI: I dreamed of that world all night last night!
Adult Written bydudeman123 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

ok

wen i went to the movies to see this i thought it wood b a dorkfest but it turned out to be an ok movie it actually get's kinda freaky at some points might be to scary for anyone under 7
Adult Written bywheeezer April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

This is WEIRD!

From beginning to end, this is just a weird movie. I took my 10 year old to see it and afterwards he said, "It was weird" :I agree. It has no values I want to encourage in my children and it contained many persons I hope my children never meet the likes of. Save your money.
Educator and Parent of a 8 year old Written bysouzakh April 9, 2008
Adult Written bycoricurbob@yahoo.com April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A movie based on my favorite books. Huzzah!

Not much to say except that I am probably obliged to love this movie, as I am obsessed with the books. I like that the filmmakers included some of the V.F.D. mystery which, in print, does not come to light until Book the Fifth. I did not like one of the revelations apparently put forth in the movie, though (Josephine's, on the boat...) You should know that this movie is different from the books. Please be okay with that. It's basically alternate-universe, and not intended to be exactly the same - Daniel Handler's original screenplay for it was COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, a phrase which here means "rife with mysterious volunteers, turquoise sombreros, ninja-esque fights, and James Brown quotes." It was pretty awesome, actually.
Adult Written byHaloFreak123 April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

That was horrable.

I love the books of a series of unfortunate events, every one. I thought the movie would be awesome but then I saw it and it completely defied the books. It was really stupid and I think if your in the mood to be bored out of your mind with idioticness, this is the thing to watch.
Parent Written byglide June 22, 2015
age 12+
 

Interesting movie, great acting, very visual - for adults - BUT BUT BUT

My two girls were very upset with this movie and had tons of questions to ask - really kids should not see it by themselves. But they did not want to turn it off - and I probably should have. You will have to do a lot of explaining about murder, torture, exploitation, disaster, etc, etc, etc,. Jim Carey was amazing, the the little boy was great as well. The girls pouted a lot but was a strong role model. It was scarey and sadistic - but the kids watched it - and it could be watched over again -and again - it had such thick visual scenes and the plot was a bit complicated. It was too sophisticated for them but it did interest them. The little girl had a very foul mouth - which was totally unnecessary and my kids have never been exposed to those expressions before so it was very upsetting to me. Also there was a lot of adult innuendo between the villain and a widow - on two separate occasions before he sends her to her horrifying death. Actually it is a very violent and scarey movie - and even though it has some redeeming values - you as a parent should watch it first. In retrospect I should not have let the kids watch it - but had relied on a recommendation for a friend who must have a different set of values than we do.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMadelineMini April 7, 2015
age 9+
 

Dark and might be too scary for sensitive kids

This movie is dark, but it's also funny. Jim Carrey is absolutely hilarious in this movie. It might be scary for younger kids. The parents die and the uncle, there are a few other scary situations, plus violence. Count Olaf (Jim Carrey) tries to kill the kids several times and marry Violet in a play. So, the title is not misleading, definitely a series of unfortunate events. The ending is happy though. Great movie for families with kids 9 and up! I didn't read the book and I loved it, but it just depends on what kind of movies you like. If you just like happy and cheerful movies, this is not for you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byMeerkat.dog.yo February 8, 2015
age 9+
 

Superb!!!!!!

This is crazy amazing!! I love this movie so-ooo much!... except, a baby uses bad language. that was unexpected. otherwise, this is great!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2014
age 9+
 

A good movie for those who read the books

Kid, 9 years old December 2, 2014
age 7+
 

it has good and bad parts

I like it because it has a few parts that i think are quite funny. I dont like it because I dont understand why the mum and dad should die at the very start and you dont even get to see the mum and dad at all, but I would recommend it to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySummerxoAshton November 8, 2014
age 6+
 

Good but a bit deprssing

This film is amazing but at some points it is depressing but still a good film that's why a young rating im 12 and love it and cried at the ending.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old January 4, 2014
age 7+
 

Amazing Story! Great Message!

A really good movie, some bits a little bit creepy (e.g. Count Olaf (Jim Carrey) ) A lot of amazing morals, for example, To make sanctuary in a place not welcome, e.t.c I am very proud for the 3 siblings, as they have struggled a lot that i could probably not handle. One of those story's that make you think.....
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2013
age 7+
 

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

I ADORE THIS MOVIE I LOVE IT I LOVE IT!!! Jim Carrey is a ROCKING Olaf and there's not a lot of swearing. (in the books olaf says "Now get in the d*mn jeep!" but then Snicket says, "As we all know, it is very rude and inappropriate to use profanity, but at this point the Baudelaires were too terrified to correct Olaf's rudeness.") In the deleted scenes I saw on the dvd there are lots of references to homosexuality and cross-dressing and sex, but I guess that's why they took those scenes out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bydirectioner2121 September 16, 2013
age 8+
 

Nice and kid friendly..

I think families should know that there are positive role models like violet she likes experimenting and finding new things or like Claus who loves reading and detective work or.. Grammar.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2013
age 9+
 

alright

this movie was alright
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byMackenzie Logan July 6, 2013
age 6+
 

great watch

series of unfortunate events is a great movie. its a bit dark, but funny and a great watch. there are three siblings, Violet, the eldest who is an inventor, claus, the middle child who reads a lot and can remember everything that he reads, and sunny, the youngest, who is an infant who likes to bite. sunny provides a lot of comedy in the movie, while violet and Claus are good positive role models. this movie is great and I defiantly recommend it!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written bybeautiful me June 9, 2013
age 5+
 

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this was an amazing movie extreamly intreging and um I don't really no another word for it but AMAZING. kidz will like this movie if they understand that movies are just fake and arnt real.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages