All member reviews for Lethal Weapon

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mismatched cops spar in violent '80s action hit.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDr3w November 9, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Seriously people?

So, let's see... Fourteen year olds would be ok seeing a film that involves topless prostitutes, bloody violence, and f-bomb lobbing. Just saying that makes me shudder... Who decides this stuff? Ridiculous! I watched an edited copy of this film, and that would be the only way I would ever let a fourteen year old see it! This is rated R! Common Sense Media is mistaken in thinking that this is PG-13. Stop thinking of reasons to justify this film because it's not as bad as some other R-rated film. Bad is bad. There will always be something worse, so stop comparing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byDisneyFan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, Not For Kids

I love this movie, but I'm pretty sure it's actually rated "R" and not "PG-13". I think it is one of the finest action/cop buddy movie around, but certainly not for kids. There is no way that a child could comprehend the anguish that is felt by a man who has lost his wife and wants to kill himself, or the loss of an adult child to a murder. This movie is very well acted and exciting, but needs to be watched by adults only.
Kid, 11 years old September 10, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids under 18

i think this movie is 18+. do not let any of your under 18- children see it please. it has alot of violence. i wont see it again myself either
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Violent, foul mouthed film for mature kids

Lethal weapon is a fast paced film, with laugh-out-loud moments. Great for mature children who aren't so sensitive. Very violent from the middle of the film and scene where a tape is shown of two women showing there breast but also very foul mothed with drinking, smoking and a depressing scene.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is the best cop movie ever made!!

This is my favorite cop movie. It's also a buddy movie. It does have several sequences of nudity. The violence is also pretty strong. Some strong language. When all is said and done, it's okay for teens.
Kid, 11 years old December 19, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

:D

Hey! It's pretty good:) The film is full of energy and excitement and it has some nice sequences:D
Kid, 11 years old August 30, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good action comedy but make sure young kids dont see

lethal weapon is a good action film but it is not really for young kids because it is violent bad language and the plot is about finding the murder of a prostitute i say 11 to 12 could watch it is very good and funny .
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Awesome Film

This movie is a great action movie. If any parents feel iffy of letting their children watch, there aren't many offensive scenes in the movie. There's brief non-sexual nudity, but nothing too explicit. The language is what i would consider moderate, with 30 or so f words, and a few SOBs, s**ts, and others. The action sequences are violent, but awesome. Great Movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMichael B July 28, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Iffy choice for 8-11

Well I recently saw this movie with my 10 year old and he asked me what does this mean what is a pornograph so I give this a 5 star rating and an age for 11
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byage 10+ May 27, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great 80's Action Ride That Teens Will Enjoy

Kid, 8 years old September 9, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Quite good, but there is quite a bit of violence, sex, profanity

Good, but violence, sexual content, profanity and drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichaelc April 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

kids above 8 should enjoy this action thriller.

It is violent but not to a large extent, it also has a good sensible plot, the only concern would be the unpleasant language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydolphinlover9 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the best cop movies ever!

Lethal Weapon is a thrilling, edge of your seat joy ride. If you love Cop buddy movies, this is the grand daddy of them all.
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great classic action movie, lots of blood

Lethal Weapon is a great 80's action comedy drama movie, with all the blood and violence you got before the genre went PG13. The first scene in the movie is probably the worst. A naked prostitute shows bare breasts, snorts cocaine then jumps off a building. The rest of the movie is not as bad. Although the leads are cops, they are not role models. Riggs always kills his opponents instead of arresting them. While it's cool on screen, make sure your kids know this is not acceptable for cops to do this, especially these days with all the news of bad cops. Riggs also attempts suicide after the death of his wife, which might be disturbing. At one point he hires an underage prostitute, but it is revealed he just wanted her to watch TV with him. Mautaugh is more realistic and down to Earth, but he still does some bad things, like only grounding his daughter for smoking marajuana instead of arresting her. All up, if your kid can handle a typical 80's action movie, this is a good choice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking