All member reviews for Lethal Weapon

Common Sense Media says

Mismatched cops spar in violent '80s action hit.

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byDisneyFan April 9, 2008

Great Movie, Not For Kids

I love this movie, but I'm pretty sure it's actually rated "R" and not "PG-13". I think it is one of the finest action/cop buddy movie around, but certainly not for kids. There is no way that a child could comprehend the anguish that is felt by a man who has lost his wife and wants to kill himself, or the loss of an adult child to a murder. This movie is very well acted and exciting, but needs to be watched by adults only.
Kid, 11 years old September 10, 2011

not for kids under 18

i think this movie is 18+. do not let any of your under 18- children see it please. it has alot of violence. i wont see it again myself either
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 19, 2011

:D

Hey! It's pretty good:) The film is full of energy and excitement and it has some nice sequences:D
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichaelc April 29, 2010

kids above 8 should enjoy this action thriller.

It is violent but not to a large extent, it also has a good sensible plot, the only concern would be the unpleasant language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008

This is the best cop movie ever made!!

This is my favorite cop movie. It's also a buddy movie. It does have several sequences of nudity. The violence is also pretty strong. Some strong language. When all is said and done, it's okay for teens.
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2014

Awesome Film

This movie is a great action movie. If any parents feel iffy of letting their children watch, there aren't many offensive scenes in the movie. There's brief non-sexual nudity, but nothing too explicit. The language is what i would consider moderate, with 30 or so f words, and a few SOBs, s**ts, and others. The action sequences are violent, but awesome. Great Movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2013

Violent, foul mouthed film for mature kids

Lethal weapon is a fast paced film, with laugh-out-loud moments. Great for mature children who aren't so sensitive. Very violent from the middle of the film and scene where a tape is shown of two women showing there breast but also very foul mothed with drinking, smoking and a depressing scene.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMichael B July 28, 2013

Iffy choice for 8-11

Well I recently saw this movie with my 10 year old and he asked me what does this mean what is a pornograph so I give this a 5 star rating and an age for 11
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byage 10+ May 27, 2012

Great 80's Action Ride That Teens Will Enjoy

Kid, 8 years old September 9, 2011

Quite good, but there is quite a bit of violence, sex, profanity

Good, but violence, sexual content, profanity and drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 30, 2011

good action comedy but make sure young kids dont see

lethal weapon is a good action film but it is not really for young kids because it is violent bad language and the plot is about finding the murder of a prostitute i say 11 to 12 could watch it is very good and funny .
Adult Written bydolphinlover9 April 9, 2008

One of the best cop movies ever!

Lethal Weapon is a thrilling, edge of your seat joy ride. If you love Cop buddy movies, this is the grand daddy of them all.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybiovox14 May 9, 2016

Funny but some questionable content

It was very funny but some nudity, a lot of language, and violence though not anything serious. Some tortures scenes but no blood. I enjoyed it but be careful about who you let watch it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymattbruns3 August 15, 2016

Action movie for adults

This movie has graphic violence with non stop shootings. It also has nudity. The violence is too graphic for younger teens.
Teen, 14 years old Written byYodacat2001 February 1, 2016

Come on commonsensemedia

This a buddy cop action comedy it can be viewed by anyone, it is no way 16+ it is funny film which 5 year olds could watch and laugh about. Don't know what's wrong with some of these ratings and reviews, these are kids movies for everyone and your saying 16+
Kid, 12 years old October 21, 2015

Fun, but at times too dark

A fair bit of violence, some bloody. Suicide. Torture. A couple of scenes show women topless. Fairly infrequent swearing includes about 15 f-words. Drugs a shown and used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byprofessionalmov... September 25, 2015

Intense first movie to an alright seris.

This movie is quite disappointing. It's sort of funny. The opening scene is really intense and yo get the feeling that you're about to get a shock...You see a lady snort cocaine, take pills and jump off a balcony. I can't count how many times the characters in this movie swear. Sex is not a problem.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2015

Great classic action movie, lots of blood

Lethal Weapon is a great 80's action comedy drama movie, with all the blood and violence you got before the genre went PG13. The first scene in the movie is probably the worst. A naked prostitute shows bare breasts, snorts cocaine then jumps off a building. The rest of the movie is not as bad. Although the leads are cops, they are not role models. Riggs always kills his opponents instead of arresting them. While it's cool on screen, make sure your kids know this is not acceptable for cops to do this, especially these days with all the news of bad cops. Riggs also attempts suicide after the death of his wife, which might be disturbing. At one point he hires an underage prostitute, but it is revealed he just wanted her to watch TV with him. Mautaugh is more realistic and down to Earth, but he still does some bad things, like only grounding his daughter for smoking marajuana instead of arresting her. All up, if your kid can handle a typical 80's action movie, this is a good choice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking