All member reviews for Lincoln

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Outstanding drama about revered leader's political genius.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 48 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow January 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

cool

cool
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodreviews101 January 13, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Overall very good!!

This was a very good movie!!! I loved the part where Lincoln got angry at his cabinet. There were two scenes of carnage, and I heard an F-word, but I think there might be another one. It doesn't actually have positive messages - it actually has a slightly degrading message.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 15, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

GirlOnFire1222's review of the 2012 movie Lincoln

i loved this movie i went to see it with my mom and grandma. i really liked it but you should know that there's one scene where a guy dumps a bunch of limbs in a ditch and it grossed my mom out. i was fine. also, there's a lot of swearing ;), including one, "i'll be f***ed. it was great and i think that daniel day lewis was fantastic for the part!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 11, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

history in the making LOL:)

This is a movie which really puts you in Abraham Lincoln's place and shows you what it would be like to be president during the civil war . It really makes you see how Abraham Lincoln won votes from Congress to pass the 13th amendment to the constitution while being in a family crisis. This movie is slow and I do not advise it for the average kid under 13 who might find it boring but if this "kid" likes history and knows about the civil war they might enjoy it. I sure did!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 6, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This is an outstanding president movie!

I learned some very interesting facts about Abe Lincoln. Language: there is definitely a lot of language in this movie; the "N" word is used at least half a dozen times. Sex: Lincoln Embraces his wife once Violence: a lot of dead bodies in the war violence of this movie. spears, guns, cannons This is a great movie for double digits! as always if you like this see my other reviews!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMoviedudde18 November 30, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

L(2012)

Lincoln has a dumb script with some BIG plot wholes. But its fantastically acted/directed. With great shots/cinematography.
Kid, 11 years old November 30, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER

LOVE IT!!! BEST MOVIE EVER! Educates you about Abe Lincoln's last term in office--very educational(=
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Outstanding, and what you'd expect from Spielberg and Day-Lewis

You know going into this movie that you're going to get something amazing. As a film fan I realized I'd never seen Day-Lewis in a movie, and what an introduction this was to his canon! A astonishing, Oscar-worthy role as one of the nation's greatest people. He just...became what you think Lincoln would be. It's staggering. Also pulling their weight are the ingenious Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Fields who more than support this heavy tail on the abolition of slavery. It's a ton of talking, meeting, and discussion, so it's best for mature teens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages