All member reviews for Live Free or Die Hard

Common Sense Media says

First non-R Die Hard still a big blowout.

Users say

(out of 68 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 8, 2010

so cool

loods of blood and every bad word yet cool and booming but shood have ben R
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichaelc April 29, 2010

not as good as the original 3

In some bits it is boring, it os not anything like the original die hard, much more mild and much less interesting. No concerns for kids.
Adult Written byKitsune87 December 20, 2009
The best in the Series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 2 years old December 4, 2009

Good movie

Its an amazing movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydavstern1500 October 10, 2011

Best movie----ever!!!!

Lots of action, but not too violent. One sexual situation, but not an issue Some mild language For my information, contact me on YouTube - davstern1500
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul October 9, 2013

FOR KIDS ONLY,agree if u like my review

Stupid families please let your kids watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydjrgeek April 18, 2010
It is really an action-packed thriller! Might be to violent for younger kids, but is still awsome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byonlygoodthings April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 30, 2011

i really thought this movie was good aka awesome

What to watch out for * Messages: NYC detective John McClane operates outside the law to get his job done: He blows things up, breaks into buildings, steals cars, and doesn't read villains their rights -- but theoretically it's all for a good cause, to save the world from "virtual terrorism." * Violence: Lots: Explosions, falls out windows, fireballs, car crashes and flips, shoot-outs, throttling, kicks, punches, slaps, helicopter door-gunning, Harrier jet missile-firing, non-lethal shots into legs and feet, twisting of gun into a wound. Fights include a thug grabbing John through his car window, then being dragged along and smashed into a dumpster. There's a video image of the exploding U.S. capitol (revealed to be fake); a car flies through the air into a helicopter (big explosion, from which one thug escapes by falling hard to the ground); slamming fight between John and Mai (includes tosses into walls, a car crashing down an elevator shaft, a body falling down the shaft, the car exploding in the shaft); villain shoots his own hackers; battle between John in semi and Harrier jet leaves tuck demolished and elevated highway collapsing -- repeatedly; bloody bodies in close-ups. * Sex: Reference to Mai's "sexy voice" Lucy makes out with boy (she pushes away his hand on her bra); Mai shows cleavage a couple of times; Mai and Gabriel kiss deeply; Matt slows Gabriel's computer downloads by setting loose a pop-up attack ("Sexy Singles," "Cheap Viagra," etc.). * Language: Plenty of colorful "action" language, including one almost-use of John McClane's signature phrase ("Yippee-ki-yay, motherf...," covered over by a sound effect); repeated uses of "jerk-off," "d--k," "sc--w up," "d--n," "s--t," "a-s," "a--hole," "bi-ch," "h--l," and "son of a bi-ch." * Consumerism: Mention of Arby's. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Injured Matt says he's been dosed with morphine, so his pain has subsided.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bysarahkay89 November 17, 2010

Fine for adults / older teens; would not recommend for kids/tweens

Well done movie. But lots of language. Very violent. One inappropriate make-out scene (guy keeps grabbing girl's breast as the kiss) Overall, I would not recommend for kids or tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovielover1996 April 4, 2010
i love this movie, it is amazing
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009

very good 12 over

great movie but not a classic like the last three but more updated then the last three
Teen, 17 years old Written byWREN345 July 5, 2012

PG-13 Die hard movie is still pretty violent

This Great action movie has a wide amount of profanity for nobody under 10. The Violence is pretty bad too(Countless fistfights gunfights,car crashes,Snipers, some blood but not much) Overall its a great action movie but..... Its not a good choice for anyone 10 and under
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 23, 2014

"Live Free or Die Hard (Die Hard 4.0)" movie review

"Live Free or Die Hard" was acclaimed by critics to be just as good as the original. I have no idea how that is possible. I don't hate "Live Free or Die Hard" by any means. This movie is actually very enjoyable. In my mind, it doesn't live up to the original three movies. The most irritating thing in the film was the character of John McClane. Bruce Willis actually plays the part really well. His character however is very different from "Die Hard 1-3". He feels more like a superhero at times rather than a vulnerable police lieutenant. Also, the movie is very over the top. Over the top is not all bad. Sometimes, it's great. In this case, it was fine. The action in this movie is too over-thought. Sometimes, it is unrealistic. I really liked the fight scenes. The martial arts scenes were handled and choreographed really well. The premise of the movie was very modern day-like. I didn't hate the plot, but I didn't love it. It didn't feel like the original "Die Hard" trilogy. The idea of computer hacking was really cool, yet the plot didn't feel like something you would see in "Die Hard". The chemistry between Bruce Willis and Justin Long was fantastic. I bought they could be friends. Sometimes, their partnership felt forced however. The villain played by Timothy Olyphant was actually a very good villain. He was almost as good as the villain in "Die Hard 2". Many people were not pleased with the PG-13 rating because the first three had been R. The PG-13 rating was something I didn't mind. How they cut out the famous catchphrase "Yippe ki-yay motherf**ker." at the end was actually fine to me. Is "Die Hard 4" a fun action movie? For sure, but to me it doesn't feel like a "Die Hard" movie. People who like action movies will enjoy this film like I did. "Die Hard" fans will be disappointed in some areas like I was.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2013

Awesome Movie!

Awesome! I loved how the hackers could do anything they wanted around the country. Personally, I thought that was cool. But there was an iffy scene that involved some sensuality. Very violent, but great plot. This may not teach your children any valuable lessons because John McClaine survives through almost everything coming his way. Otherwise, great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written bycucamonga December 31, 2011

Highly unrealistic action flick

I am shocked that some parents are recommending this film to 13 year olds. There is a make out session where a guy caresses on top of the bra of a teen ager, the daughter calls her dad an a***ole, and there is a lot of bad language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byTHE MOVIE BUF!!!!! July 12, 2011

Very good movie but very rude and violent

Lots of violence coarse language and a bit of sex strong violence coarse language and medium sexual content
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byLil Booth September 5, 2010

Don't waste your time

The film-makers have gone a little too-far. But as far as the actual movie, the language is a little too frequent. There are at least 10 uses of G.D., about 20 S--t's, and about 1/2 f--k (yippee-ki-yay Mother fu-- [cut off by gun discharge])
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byjoeryker August 8, 2010
Awsome thriller...but has almost as much language as action.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 9, 2010

awesome the best since die hard 2

the less violent die hard. a few shootouts plenty of s-words a few f-words. most pepole are shot and killed. a man his crushed and one man is shot off screen. a few explosions. a cool action movie 10+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages