All member reviews for Live Free or Die Hard

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 46 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 8, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

so cool

loods of blood and every bad word yet cool and booming but shood have ben R
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichaelc April 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

not as good as the original 3

In some bits it is boring, it os not anything like the original die hard, much more mild and much less interesting. No concerns for kids.
Kid, 2 years old December 4, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good movie

Its an amazing movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydavstern1500 October 10, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Best movie----ever!!!!

Lots of action, but not too violent. One sexual situation, but not an issue Some mild language For my information, contact me on YouTube - davstern1500
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 23, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Live Free or Die Hard (Die Hard 4.0) movie review

"Live Free or Die Hard" was acclaimed by critics to be just as good as the original. I have no idea how that is possible. I don't hate "Live Free or Die Hard" by any means. This movie is actually very enjoyable. In my mind, it doesn't live up to the original three movies. The most irritating thing in the film was the character of John McClane. Bruce Willis actually plays the part really well. His character however is very different from "Die Hard 1-3". He feels more like a superhero at times rather than a vulnerable police lieutenant. Also, the movie is very over the top. Over the top is not all bad. Sometimes, it's great. In this case, it was fine. The action in this movie is too over-thought. Sometimes, it is unrealistic. I really liked the fight scenes. The martial arts scenes were handled and choreographed really well. The premise of the movie was very modern day-like. I didn't hate the plot, but I didn't love it. It didn't feel like the original "Die Hard" trilogy. The idea of computer hacking was really cool, yet the plot didn't feel like something you would see in "Die Hard". The chemistry between Bruce Willis and Justin Long was fantastic. I bought they could be friends. Sometimes, their partnership felt forced however. The villain played by Timothy Olyphant was actually a very good villain. He was almost as good as the villain in "Die Hard 2". Many people were not pleased with the PG-13 rating because the first three had been R. The PG-13 rating was something I didn't mind. How they cut out the famous catchphrase "Yippe ki-yay motherf**ker." at the end was actually fine to me. Is "Die Hard 4" a fun action movie? For sure, but to me it doesn't feel like a "Die Hard" movie. People who like action movies will enjoy this film like I did. "Die Hard" fans will be disappointed in some areas like I was.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byswagasaurusrex January 9, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!!!

Bruce brings it back with more explosions guns and extreme action total recommendation
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Less cussing than the previous but just as good

Die hard 4 is a perfect independence day movie. less cussing than the last 3 movies.
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul October 9, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

FOR KIDS ONLY,agree if u like my review

Stupid families please let your kids watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie!

Awesome! I loved how the hackers could do anything they wanted around the country. Personally, I thought that was cool. But there was an iffy scene that involved some sensuality. Very violent, but great plot. This may not teach your children any valuable lessons because John McClaine survives through almost everything coming his way. Otherwise, great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byWREN345 July 5, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

PG-13 Die hard movie is still pretty violent

This Great action movie has a wide amount of profanity for nobody under 10. The Violence is pretty bad too(Countless fistfights gunfights,car crashes,Snipers, some blood but not much) Overall its a great action movie but..... Its not a good choice for anyone 10 and under
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bydavstern May 15, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Extremely action packed, will definitely amuse tweens and up.

I rate Live Free or Die Hard iffy for ages 11-12 Parents need to know that this movie is action violence throughout. Although the violence is heavy, tweens will view it as more fun than serious. VIOLENCE: 4/5- Lots of action violence throughout. Gunfights, combat, explosions, car chases, and some but not too much blood, even though characters very often are bloody. Live Free or Die Hard gets 4/5 for violence instead of 5/5, b/c none of the violence is disturbing or emotional, it's very thrilling and entertaining PROFANITY: 3/5- Plenty of moderate cursing, McClane and Gabriel can barely talk a sentence to eachother w/out cursing. SES: 0/5- A brief "level up" make out scene at the beginning of the film, a man puts his hand on the girls breasts a few times, but she says not to. Movies related to Live Free or Die Hard: Die Hard Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol The Bourne Ultimatum Die Hard 2: Die Harder Die Hard: With a Vengeance
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

great movie. but isn't as good as Die Hard 1,2 & 3

this movie isn't as good as "Die Hard 1,2 & 3". there isn't much killings. but there is still bloody violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 30, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

i really thought this movie was good aka awesome

What to watch out for * Messages: NYC detective John McClane operates outside the law to get his job done: He blows things up, breaks into buildings, steals cars, and doesn't read villains their rights -- but theoretically it's all for a good cause, to save the world from "virtual terrorism." * Violence: Lots: Explosions, falls out windows, fireballs, car crashes and flips, shoot-outs, throttling, kicks, punches, slaps, helicopter door-gunning, Harrier jet missile-firing, non-lethal shots into legs and feet, twisting of gun into a wound. Fights include a thug grabbing John through his car window, then being dragged along and smashed into a dumpster. There's a video image of the exploding U.S. capitol (revealed to be fake); a car flies through the air into a helicopter (big explosion, from which one thug escapes by falling hard to the ground); slamming fight between John and Mai (includes tosses into walls, a car crashing down an elevator shaft, a body falling down the shaft, the car exploding in the shaft); villain shoots his own hackers; battle between John in semi and Harrier jet leaves tuck demolished and elevated highway collapsing -- repeatedly; bloody bodies in close-ups. * Sex: Reference to Mai's "sexy voice" Lucy makes out with boy (she pushes away his hand on her bra); Mai shows cleavage a couple of times; Mai and Gabriel kiss deeply; Matt slows Gabriel's computer downloads by setting loose a pop-up attack ("Sexy Singles," "Cheap Viagra," etc.). * Language: Plenty of colorful "action" language, including one almost-use of John McClane's signature phrase ("Yippee-ki-yay, motherf...," covered over by a sound effect); repeated uses of "jerk-off," "d--k," "sc--w up," "d--n," "s--t," "a-s," "a--hole," "bi-ch," "h--l," and "son of a bi-ch." * Consumerism: Mention of Arby's. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Injured Matt says he's been dosed with morphine, so his pain has subsided.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old January 5, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

LOVE THE MOVIE WATCH IT

cool!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byLil Booth September 5, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your time

The film-makers have gone a little too-far. But as far as the actual movie, the language is a little too frequent. There are at least 10 uses of G.D., about 20 S--t's, and about 1/2 f--k (yippee-ki-yay Mother fu-- [cut off by gun discharge])
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Thank God this movie was PG-13 when it came out a couple years ago because it was awesome. The action was great. The unrated version has a lot more cussing. PG-13 version: 8+ unrated version: 12+ because of the cussing.
Kid, 10 years old July 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

awesome the best since die hard 2

the less violent die hard. a few shootouts plenty of s-words a few f-words. most pepole are shot and killed. a man his crushed and one man is shot off screen. a few explosions. a cool action movie 10+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byIcantthinkofone June 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Watch die hard 2

Not as good as the original die hard. But the best in the die hard series is die hard 2.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bycoolioface April 26, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovielover1996 April 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
i love this movie, it is amazing

Pages