All member reviews for Lords of Dogtown

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Portrait of Venice, CA, '70s teen skater culture.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

loved it!

this movie was awesome!It has great sports action. It tells the story of the Zepher skate team with great accuracy and detail. best for kids 10 and up because of some alchoal use and swearing.
Teen, 13 years old Written bya fatman April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a MUST SEE for skaters

great movie tons of skating and surfing johnny knoxville is in it
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul 2.0;... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Finally! Another movie that tributes the pioneers of skateboarding!

This movie was fantastic to me for two reasons: I am a (so-so) skateboarder and own all things skateboard or involved with the X-Games, and two, it was a good movie (though better if you're into all these things). I also highly reccommend "Dogtown and the Z-Boys", the first and classic skateboarding film.
Kid, 9 years old September 8, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

OKKKKK... Innapropriate,though

Good movie but innapropriate. Teenagers make out-bra and panties- in bed, quite a lot of cussing and alot of smoking. Parents if you are not prepared for your kids first kiss and your kid to know every cuss word there is do not watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar March 11, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Worth a look

A lot of people think this movie was terrible compared to the documentary, i on the other liked it just as much.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykekoabay June 16, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, not a good example for kids

I think the common sense review is a little too watered down on the social messages given. There is not only misbehaving, they are pretty rude and display very inappropriate social behaviors. In the context of the film it is okay because it is about real people, but I don't want my kids acting like that. The movie is great and it shows the aspects of life that many youth in that era experienced. It is pretty cool to see how things evolved in the world of skateboarding.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjackmartin September 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Adult Written bydudeman123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

not 2 horrible

when i saw the comercial to this movie it looked kinda like no plot and a dorky teen movie....but i went to see this movie n e ways and thot that it was actually ok....for 1 of those skateboarding movies...still alot of drug references and language for a pg-13..if ur over 13 i say go and see it