All member reviews for Love Actually

Common Sense Media says

Romantic and entertaining -- for older teens.

Users say

(out of 61 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written bycoullk July 18, 2009

Not appropriate for any age group.

Hated it!!! The language and sexual content was so offensive that we left the cinema after the first 20 minutes of the film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bymissmurder19 December 15, 2009

Great movie, but more for young adults...

Love this movie! It is one of my all-time favorites. Just be wary of the sexual situation scenes and the swearing. It is a perfect movie for Christmas (or anytime!), especially for families with older teens. It's just a feel-good movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byAimeePiexx February 13, 2010

perfect but not for little ones

its amazing but not for kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byonly1pinuchi April 9, 2008

This movie was DISGUSTING...........NO KIDS..NO ONE!!

I'm sitting there in the audience expecting to laugh and all I got was embarassed and angry. I suggested to my Mother-in-law that we leave several times but she wanted to wait and see if it got any better. It NEVER DID. Overall I hated this movie, and i felt that there was too much going on. it wasn't very clear, who was related to who and how...i had a hard time remembering what storyline went with which character. they could have done a better job if they cut out a couple of storylines, and elaborated on the ones that were more interesting. There were tons of VERY cheesy parts. I hate to start expecting that from a romantic comedy. there was definitely uneccessary profanity.and then there was the nudity, which was part of one of the storylines. They could have done without that. I do feel that a stronger warning on this garbage is needed. So bitter old hags, snot nosed twits and any one else who doesn't want to waste an afternoon or their hard earned money take heed. For snot nosed twits heed means be warned. If you want to get into the Christmas Spirit watch the classic version of It's a Great Life. If you have ANY brains or taste this one won't do it for you.
Adult Written byBeckstar October 29, 2011

NOT FOR KIDS!

NOT FOR CHILDREN!!! At the beginning when I saw it a man is behind a woman and stroking her bare breasts and there is a sex scene. I think they are shooting for a porn movie? I only saw about 30 mins and Had to stop watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old July 8, 2015

Not too bad...

The movie was a cute christmas movie that kept me entertained. However there are parts where they are filming a porn movie. There are bare breastsshown, and some uncomfortable moving (if you know what I mean) but nothing too severe. I don't particularly think its above the top, because its for more comedic purposes but I think the rest of the movie is PG-13/PG. There is language use, but nothing extreme. I thought it was very positive, and had amazing messages, and I think preteens and teens will enjoy this for years to come!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byarttieTHE1manparty November 6, 2015

Not for kids, but a GREAT movie

This is a great romantic comedy, but it is definitely NOT for kids...in fact, I think a 16+ rating is too low. There are scenes of nudity, simulated pornographic acting (two of the characters are stand-ins for porn films), and graphic language. Again, my wife and I love this movie, but even we could do without the nudity and a couple of scenes which are fairly cringe-worthy. There is a lot of drinking involved, as well, particularly with the guys who go to America looking to "hook up" with American girls. Adultery also plays a role in the movie and breaks up the marriage of one of the couples in the story. A very charming set of love stories are played out among the various couples in the film, including an inter-racial couple, and there is a general "feel good" quality about most of the movie. We really like the dynamic of the couple that falls in love despite not speaking the same language...pretty cool turn of events.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byRobynneHood February 15, 2012

Love Actually is exactly that.

The wonderful thing about this movie is that it shows love in all forms, and it doesn't hold back. For every vignette with a fairy tale ending, there is one with a bittersweet (and sometimes downright depressing) one. I think that it's a beautiful film to share with your older teens. My mother and I watched it last Christmas, when I was 15, and I feel as if I was plenty mature enough to handle the content. Do keep in mind that this movie, while utterly adorable, is Rated R and justly so. Nudity is not very frequent but strong, and we all know how the Brits like their expletives. Know your kids--a mature 13 year old could handle this perfectly, but any younger is probably too young.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 20, 2011

love it

This one of my very favorite movies, everything about it shined and I love the fact that it was about love....in general...love between families and love between couples and love between father and son and just love. I especially liked Thomas Sangster because he was adorable and his accent was so sweet....I loved Colin Firth, and I loved Johanna's singing "All I Want For Christmas..." Her voice is just amazing. I was wowed.Super funny, and yeah sure there was langage, but come on, get real, any ten year old curses already anyway, so quite honestly, it's not gonna scar them for life. And yeah, there was sex, but if you don't like it skip over it. Great movie for 11-up, and to watch with your friends at a Christmas sleepover.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byKathyhermy123 March 20, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysimone April 9, 2008
Due to an incredible cast (including Hugh Grant, Colin Firth, Laura Linney, Emma Thompson, Liam Neeson, Alan Rickman and Kiera Knightly) and an intricate story line full of sub-plots, Love Actually is the best and most enjoyable romantic comedy of the season. The film consists of about eight couples, whose stories (of either first loves, deceit or a bonding experience between father and step-son) are interwoven through friendships or past aquaintances. Although there is profanity (sometimes in British slang), Love Actually will leave you with a warm feeling and wishing for Christman to arrive early.
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written byLizziesays October 3, 2009
Great movie for adults, but please note that THIS MOVIE IS RATED R and it deserves this rating. It's a sweet, heartwarming movie, but with definite adult themes and plenty of explicit sexual situations. If this offends you, don't see this movie. And definitely do not let your children watch this movie! (But we loved it!)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byenglishrider4546 April 9, 2008

WHOA!!!!!

WHOA!! Bring out the earmuffs,earplugs, the whole thing!! I don't care what school you go to this movie was one of the dirtiest, foulest, most profane I have ever seen. A couple story lines where good but, at one point there is a point blank shoot of a couple having sex. A man is cheating on his wife. I think parents should really step back and think about their kids and the exposure they've had so far. Sure the language is bad, but kids nowadays have heard far worse. Its the sexual themes and overtones that make me turn on the red lights for this movie. To tell you the truth, I wonder why I was even allowed to watch it.......
Kid, 10 years old October 12, 2015
Not appropriate for little ones offensive language and lots of sex one scene when they were having sex [naked]. Great movie but like I said not for little ones if your child is a kid do not show this to them.Though it has zero violence also tons and I mean tons of swearing. So many kisses.
Teen, 13 years old Written byoceansapphire December 26, 2011

HIDE YO WIFE, HIDE YO KIDS, AND HIDE YO HUSBAND!

Honestly, this movie had no aspect around it and nothing that was exciting. It had very random parts and was definitely not focusing on a fun holiday theme, more like s-e-x! There was a long, RANDOM sex scene that showed both characters completely nude, obviously from that you know what they were doing! And a lot of unbelievable language use! No good messages! I couldn't even imagine how awkward it must've been for the child actors to see this movie... or were they even allowed to SEE their OWN movie?!?! The only part of this movie I liked was the little kid love story that came every now and then, and the story of the little boy losing his mom. But overall, DO NOT show your kids... and well, title explains it all!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 year old Written byTlps mum April 8, 2010
Romantic real life type of tale. Loved it but not really for children as swearing etc
Parent of a 9, 11, and 17 year old Written byFinnMcCool December 12, 2009

Charming holiday fun for adults

A charming, if shallow, holiday film that would be perfect but for the porn film vignettes (which are very funny, but make the film inappropriate for teens.)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bygab.m December 11, 2009
I'm a teenager and love this movie to bits!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycharleyc September 8, 2014
Wrong wrong wrong!!! porno!!! love???? love is not just sex.... love is more!!! its not a christmas film that you can sit down with the family!!! Think i would choke on my food if i watch this with my family over christmas dinner!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

Constant sexual content not appealing to family

The focus of this movie was about sex-not what we had expected. Very offensive to many in the audience. Definitley not for children.

Pages