All member reviews for Mars Attacks!

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byFlaper May 28, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

If you like violence this is the movie for you!

This is a VERY violent movie. Many say that language is not an issue BUT it is... Do you know what those Martians are saying? Who knows. I have seen lots of violent movies and on the violence meter this is WAY up there probably broke the scale.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byILUVMEAT January 31, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This will make kids laugh more than it will scare them

The first time I really checked this out was before going to bed and I wanted to stop since I was about to go to bed but when I watched it all the way throug, I lauged. A race of martian aliens decide to invade earth. They have normal sized bodies but have huge heads. They try to invade a few times, each time disentagrating humans with a gun that zaps people and vaporizes their skin, leaving behind a red or green skeleton. This is just a movie full of crazy slapstick antics. For the 10 and up crowd.
Kid, 7 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i lost six brain cells watching this

after i watched this ime gonna be scared of freakin aliens for the rest of my freakin life
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I think it was fine. I think the younger boys crowd would enjoy this movie, probably because of the violence. But, I rated it 11+ because I think it would be APPROPRIATE for that age. There was constant violence. I think it was really goofy. Some violent-loving kids wont like the build-up to the violence, but there gonna have to deal with it. I don't think there was any positive message to it. Parents probably wouldn't want their kids to see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

UGH!!!!...

I remember surfing through TV channels , and we found this , so we watched it. My dad thought it was funny , and I thought it was horrible!!!!!! The violence! THE STUPIDNESS! I think that people who make stories of bad aliens are pretty dumb , because nobody said aliens , or things from another planet [ well , thier has to be some life in the other millions of planets!] had to be mean. I really suggest ET instead!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old September 10, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I really did not like this movie because first of all there is actually a good amount of language like a few s-t and about 5 uses of hell i didn't think that it was funny at all and there was a lot of violence plus there were a lot of references to prostitution it really suprised me because i love tim burton and i thought it would be a lot better to quote airgirl2010 "I really suggest ET instead"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKIdX13 June 6, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

50's style movie is fun for young teens

This movie is very good, it tries to co for that cheesey, clasic 50's B movie, and dose a pretty good job, andjust like movies from the 50's there are little issues: 1. COmic style violence that no one can take seriously, the martin's guns turn people into skeletons, Humans are abducted by the martians and experimented on, green martian blood when the martinas die. 2. Very little languge including afew uses of H--l, and one s--t, but other than that the language is fine. 3. A coule can briefly bee seen having sex (no nudity), with a coule matrians watching, the martian king breifly looks at a porn magazine from earth (no nudity either). So osverall, this is a fun 50's B movie with better special effects that is fun for teens young and old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 15, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Not for kids. Good for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byanna1999 July 16, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Watch out for kids 10 & under...

Funny movie but not suitable for kids 10 and under. There was a lot of killing, aliens invade earth and kill hundreds of innocent people. Also, a man gets his hand bitten off by a female alien and spat into a fish tank, that bit was quite gorey. Supposed to be humorous, not a great movie for younger people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byecto1010 August 22, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

awwesome!

great movie. i saw it when i was 4 and i loved it. a great comedy, action, scifi movie for everyone
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAndres123456789 June 15, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

for ulder persons

Tis mouvie has two much blud and violent, and my parent say taht it is not propriate
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byantoineisthebest October 8, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

loving it

I saw this when i was like 8 and love it this movie made me love tim burton and this isn't really violent if you want something violent go see the raid remdemption or those kind of movie I would had put 8+ but when I was 8 I was really mature
Kid, 12 years old March 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A Very Funny Spoof

Flaper, whose review is at the top of the list, is egsagerating a lot. It's not that violent. He said it almost broke the violence meter. A Clockwork Orange would do that, not this. Anyway, if your a huge fan of B- movies from the 50's like me, you'll enjoy this more. There are a lot of goofs, like cell phones when this is supposed to take place in the 50's, but they don't matter because it was made to be ridiculous on purpose.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 5, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Movie, However, Sick Sense of Humor Needed

I don't really know what else to say, this is such an enjoyable movie. But before you watch it, you might need two things- a sick sense of humor, and a knowledge of how dark Tim Burton's comedies can get. In other words, this is no alien comedy for little kids. Plenty of people die, martian brains explode, etc. In other words, as I've said before, a Tim Burton movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex