Common Sense Media says

Innovative thriller has a mature premise, edgy content.

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written byarkguy July 6, 2010
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysarahkay89 November 6, 2010

Not for kids

*Extremely frequent and inappropriate language. *Lots of violence. *Very interesting plot/storyline...for adults, not kids/teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byeastside01 August 19, 2009

Memento

Memento is Guy Pierce's best performance so far in his career as he will stop at nothing to find the murderer who killed his wife. Great movie and acting.
Teen, 15 years old Written byjackattack98 October 20, 2013

A fantastic, mind-bending thriller, Christopher Nolan's best movie so far!

Such a good movie, easily on my top 5 favorites. Violence: 7/10 - The movie opens with a picture of a man who has been shot in the head with lots of blood on the wall, you then see the actual killing (the scene is played out in reverse). A few men are beat up, one man is strangled to death, Leonard punches a woman after she insults his dead wife. In a flashback, Leonard shoots the man that is raping his wife, another attacker slams Leonard's head against a mirror, he falls to the floor and blood pools under his head. Language: 10/10 - One very strong use of c--t, 75 uses of f--k, 20+ uses of s--t, other words include c--k, p---k and crap. Sex/Nudity: 3/10 - A man hires a prostitute (not for sexual reasons), a man's butt is shown when he gets out of the shower, Leonard is shown shirtless many times throughout the film. Drugs/Smoking/Drinking: 7/10 - Drugs/drug dealing is a big part of the film, A woman snorts cocaine in a bathroom, characters drink beer, a character smokes. Frightening/Intense Scenes: 8/10 - Several flashbacks of a rape/murder are shown, some of them could be frightening to some. The plot itself is about a man trying to find the man who raped and murdered his wife. This film has a fantastic screenplay and some of the best editing i've ever seen, very highly recommended if you can follow the complex storyline, multiple viewings are required.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byEmmy2233 May 20, 2016

Little children will not understand.

I really loved the movie memento. It is complicated though and younger viewers will not understand the movie. There is violence and swearing all throughout the movie. I would recommend viewers to probably be around 14-15 and older as they will enjoy it more when they can understand whats really happening.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylantio August 23, 2014

Remember Sammy Jankis...

Christopher Nolan has never made a bad movie. All of his movies are amazing in their own way. However, this is my personal favourite. Guy Pearce's performance is incredible and just everything about this movie is amazing.
Teen, 15 years old Written byJack Harlor January 19, 2014

You Will have to watch this movie 5 times before you really understand it.

And that's the beauty of it. And Trust me, it's worth it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bycinnagurl March 10, 2013

Memento

This is a really good movie. And after seeing all the other Christopher Nolan Movies (Inception, The Dark Knight Trilogy) i would not have expected this from him. Very well done. (of course its Christopher Nolan) however i dont see how this is not for kids. ive seen worse and common sense rates it like iffy for 15. I think 15 and up should be able to watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byziggyfan November 21, 2012

wonderfully mind-boggling!

i loved this movie. it's very mind-warping and intelligent. it's from the director of inception and the dark knight trilogy. in other words, the director of some of the best movies ever. memento is wonderful. there is a lot of cussing, almost always "f---". there is a fair amount of violence, although it's not extreme. the main character kills and beats up a couple people. i think mature teens should be able to watch this and appreciate it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byskwunkel March 28, 2015

Good film, A lot of swearing not too much violence

The violence doesn't really exceed a PG-13 rating, but the use of the F-word 70 times and 1 use of the C-word makes it R. Also, it is a thriller with intense moments but a 13 year old should be able to handle it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysarge123 February 5, 2015
Teen, 14 years old Written byzepotronic March 18, 2014

very confusing movie

this movie doesn't contain much violence or bad language but i'm still giving this movie a 12 and over because its twisted and hard to follow.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviebuff6996 June 18, 2013

Christopher Nolan guides us through Mementos complex and interesting storyline

“Memento is a great movie. The Nonlinear narrative structure is well done(very unique and creative), the editing is Great (some of the best editing I’ve seen), The storyline is well crafted (the execution made it feel original), Of course the directing is Great (Christopher Nolan truly is a master at directing), the pace was solid(storyline moves along quickly),the acting is good, the music was also good( it fit the atmosphere perfectly), and finally the movie had great camera shots and the movie as a whole is truly thought provoking. The twists at the end can change your perspective of what happen to the main character (Why did he do what he did and is what his friend saying true?). It’s a mind-bending movie. I would definitely recommend this film.” -violence is infrequent but is a little bloody and the language is frequent(70+ f-words).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecondSider April 17, 2013

One of my favourite movies of all time.

Memento is such an amazing movie. It's easy for many to see why there are lots who appreciate a great movie like this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byanonymous57 April 15, 2012

excelent

A highly intelligent and original movie which deserves its R rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovielover97 December 21, 2011

Brilliant movie

I think CSM have gone a little extreme on this review yes the plot is complex and the premise is mature but the content isnt anything a mature 14 year old wont have seen. The story focuses on a man who cant make new memories and is trying to find the man who raped and killed his wife. Its told backwards in short sequences. This keeps you on your toes and makes you feel the same way Leonard does. There is violence and blood but nothing too extreme a couple of people are shot. There is lots of swearing but any teen who goes to school hears that a lot. Finally there is refrences to the rape of a mans wife. Its seen in flashback. However the scene is very subtle you only hear whats going on making it all the more disturbing. Its a very short scene though so dont worry. Overall this film is fine for anyone over 15 or a mature 14 year old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
Mind-blowing, a completely fascinating and original movie.
Adult Written bymhicks6 April 9, 2008

One of my favorites! Many twists & turns

This movie is only appropriate for adults, as it deals with murder, deception, drugs & sex. What I loved about this movie is that it is show backwards in short sequences, and it keeps twisting & turning. It keeps you on your toes & involvedin the movie. Watch it with a friend or spouse... I guarantee you'll be talking about it for days trying to decipher everything & give it your spin. Enjoy!