All member reviews for Men in Black

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lots of fun, but too scary for some kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 89 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old December 31, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

too many swear words

i dont care what anybody says this film is soo funny. great acting by will smith
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old December 19, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Iffy for 9+

I heard many swear words like d--n, h--l, b--t--d, p--sed, crap, s--t, a-s, d--k, bulls--t, godd--n. There are aliens and violence through out the movie. It's good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Violence (PG-13): Lots of graphic action and horror. Sexual Content (G): Mild flirting. Language (R): Lots of cursing, the worst being many penis curses. Drugs/Tobacco/Alchohol (G): Many drunk people are shown.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 15, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

People, people! Why hate on a funny and kid friendly show?

I saw this one, and it was hilarious! I really liked the alien disign and the whole idea of men in black. What I do not understand is why people think that it's too violent and gross! Anyone here watch superhero movies? Those are worse! I say this is kid friendly and a great film altogether.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

more funny than scary:)

pretty good but aliens are hilarious. except one part, the woman pointed down, and he thought she was pointing "yiu know where". overall pretty good movie!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjoshua martinez July 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
men in black is one of the best sci-fi movies ever but the movie has some violence and some language used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The Differentiation of Blockbuster Cinema

This movie wastes no time with any gratuitous pleasantries, meaning that it knows what it wants to be, what it wants to do, and what it eventually wants to accomplish. This film tries no more to be what it is not than President Obama when he "tries to destroy the American economy." Sequels, spin-offs, and the rest will never live up to this type of film-making because of the fact that it is immediately straying from what the original flick was supposed to be: a standalone, enjoyable cinematic amateurpiece of simple fun.
Kid, 10 years old December 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great funny to.

love it funny to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 1, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good movie but could scare younger kids

If you're not afraid of alien guts then you definately want to see this movie! There is some strong language, but nothing to bad. There is a little confusion of sexual talk between Jay and Laurel. I really liked this movie and I hope you will too!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovieslug August 8, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

overall good movie

it was a bit slow but a good plot some alien guts, guns, and alteration of peoples minds
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCurley August 7, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

An exciting action movie that's great for older kids...

There was one awkward moment, but other than that it's a pretty good movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylivyjedi August 6, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old August 1, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

2 is better

not the best 2 is better
Teen, 13 years old Written byhappyharry July 24, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
really funny. But they say even sh!t.And a little cartoon violence
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

ZOMG really funny!

I laughed alot while watching this. The only violence was this one part where he blew up this alien. My mom didnt like the converstion between Agent J & that lady at the mourge.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviefan21 June 24, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

:)

well done scifi comedy. simply put.... NOT SCARY!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 19, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great movie

Great movie i loved it!!! The only thing i did not like about it is that the first word in this movie is a cuss word. But this movie is still really good
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoey123 April 29, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great movie, but...

This movie was really funny. I loved it! The only concerns are the language and one brief moment of innuendo. The language consists of one f-word, many s-words, and a smattering of most others.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTsion April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Fun, Funny, and Engaging Alien Adventure/Comedy!

MEN IN BLACK is a classic. From the theme song, to the aliens, to the "cricket" gun, people across the whole world recognize the famous special agents Kay and Jay. Language is the biggest issue in the film. On the side is some comic violence (off-screen deaths of humans and aliens bursting into putty), a bit of scariness (aliens in human skin), and some vulgar sexual humor (some misunderstandings and questions; example: "do you know what I like to do sometimes late at night?" (That question isn't answered).) It's fun and laugh-out-loud funny, and the acting is spot-on. A must-see, and it'll be okay for most teens, but I wouldn't take sensitive kids. Highly recommended.

Pages