All member reviews for Men in Black

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lots of fun, but too scary for some kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 90 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp February 15, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Suggested MPAA Rating: PG-13 for language, sexual humor, and gory sci-fi violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

mainly 11+

there are a is a bit of swearing in this movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague March 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Men in Black

Awesome and funny alien movie. Kids will love it.
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

awesome!

I think it was a awesome movie full of comedy and action!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very funny Alien movie

This movie is one of the best movies in the entire world!!! It's funny, but also scary for some little kids. It's okay for Kids with the age 10.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old January 19, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

okay review

good movie some cussing your kids may ask what does this word mean and it is a bad word and i would say 10+
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
you might say what is this movie but what the heck are you doing this is made to make you laugh your butt off
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byquest13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Funny,Gory,Cool

Good,Good
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo July 23, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Men In Black - Fun fun fun!

This is a great movie that is lots of fun. The aliens make the violent aspect of the movie not so realistic as to make it inappropriate for preteens. Tweens and up are definite go for this movie. It's a family movie potential. For younger children the aliens can be scary, so be careful how old your kids are.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byage 10+ May 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Overrated Sci-Fi Comedy Is Ok

Kid, 10 years old May 27, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Overall, great

This film is a must-see, but if you have kids who are 9 or under you should take precautions. There is very mild language, like d*mn, and the film is pretty good. Overall, great.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bylilyabug April 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

men in black is good but not for kids 13 and under

this was an ok movie for my 13 year old but its to scary for children 10 and younger there is an occasion where a alien kills a man and covers him self up in the mans skin.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

MIB

I think that it would be a bit scary for some kids but I loved it a lot it was one of the best films I have seen!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great

great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

more funny than scary:)

pretty good but aliens are hilarious. except one part, the woman pointed down, and he thought she was pointing "yiu know where". overall pretty good movie!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byjcpilot February 12, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fun sci-fi movie, but needs to be age appropriate.

A fun movie for adults. The language was a little too inappropriate for my 9 and 11 year old in my opinion. Didn't appreciate the "d" word just for the laugh.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybibliophile November 10, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Pretty good...

Okay, the reason I said for seventeen and older is because of the language. There is LOTS of language. Probably at least forty swear words. Other than that, there are a few innuendos, and a few alien gore scenes. But nothing explicit. I highly recommend an edited version, such as ClearPlay DVD Player (clearplay.com).
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
This movie is really funny! I love it!
Kid, 8 years old July 5, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great sci-fi movie is awesome for teens.

My rating:R for strong sci-fi violence, and pervasive language.
Kid, 10 years old May 21, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Sci- fi action has tons of swearing

Men in black is a sci-fi Classic. The violence is not too bad at all, apart from some gun shots, explosions and fist fights. There's hardly any sex, but the language is really strong for a PG. My rating PG-13 for frequent strong language, mild sexual content and gore
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing

Pages