Common Sense Media says

A quality film of suspense and manipulation.

Users say

(out of 57 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMarvin Martian February 18, 2011

10-13 don't watch alone

I would rate it 12-15. One bit very disturbing (hammer scene), but rest fine, some strong language, and mild drugs
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn October 16, 2011

Kathy Bates performance is fantastic, but could have potential for scarring and nightmares with children

I have actually read the Stephen King novel "Misery", which the classic movie of the same name was based on, and let me tell you, it follows it well, and I mean, well. It keeps all of the suspense of the novel, and than extends the creepiness to a much higher level with Kathy bates absolutely incredible and very, very creepy academy-award winning portrayal of the ultra-obsessed number one fan, Annie Wilkes. Really, there isn't a single doubt in my about her winning that Oscar for her performance in the movie. It really is the stuff of great actors, and only great actors alone could be able to achieve this level of tension and uncomfortableness at such a immediate level. But, as great as this movie is, it it certainly not for tween's or even some older teens, and make no mistake , this is a very solidly R Rated movie, because of such intense situations alone, but also because Kathy Bates performance is so disturbing and that there is so much strong violence at the end of the movie with her and James Caan virtually bashing each others heads in. Also, there is very infrequent but strong profanity with 1 spoken f-Word and 7 other F-words typed out on a piece of paper on a type writer. Well, that's all I have to say about this classic, expect for one last little thing: See it if you honestly haven't already done so yet!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz March 21, 2011
Loved it. Very intense and creepy. It does use some language (said and visual), and there is a very painful-looking violent scene. The title of the movie describes it... it is merserable to watch. But that is what makes it so good. recommend entirely.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written byChristianMother101 September 13, 2013

Preteen daughter forever scarred

I'm afraid to say I might have made a mistake letting my preteen observe this film. They were terrified for almost the duration of the "experience", and slept with me for more than a year after this troubling movie. Think twice, and know your tween before letting them watch this emotionally scarring and mentally traumatizing Stephen King horror flick.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymeeru November 2, 2010

Violent but suitable for mature 8 year olds.

Fantastic film, Although there are some scenes of extremely storng violence, I would let a mature 8 year old watch and enjoy this superb film. Entertaining, suspensful and well made.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bycheese-process November 1, 2010

It's a great, suspenseful movie!

This movie was creepy, suspenseful, and awesome. It followed the book pretty well, too. It did have some language--one f-word out loud, one written on paper, and a bad finger gesture with a few milder words, and the climax was pretty violent. It wasn't really as scary as the book, though. Overall, it was a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byhansolo95 October 8, 2011

An excellent suspense film, but not for preteens!

I just saw this movie yesterday, and it amazed me. Kathy Bates' acting is supreme in this film. Not to say that James Caan deserves any less credit for his role as the clever but terrified victim, but Bates' performance is what really got me. She will not terrify you outright, not until the director wants her to. Instead, she slowly makes you more and more uncomfortable, until you truly wish she would go ahead and go psycho just so you won't be held in suspense any longer! Anyway, this is supposed to be about content, not raving, so let's get started. VIOLENCE: Whether you have seen Saw or not, this movie will make you cringe in at least one scene. It starts off with a horrible car accident, breaking both of Paul Sheldon's (James Caan) legs, which are later shown puffed up and purple after the kindly nurse Annie Wilkes (Kathy Bates) has splinted them. As Annie slowly goes insane, she becomes increasingly more violent to Paul, leading up to an incredibly cringe-inducing scene where Annie breaks both of his legs with a sledgehammer, as Liberace quietly plays the Moonlight Sonata in the background. Near the end of the movie an old man is shot through the belly with a shotgun, quite explicitly, and there is a bloody battle between Paul and Annie. No, I will not tell you who wins, that would be cheating :) SEXUAL CONTENT: Nothing that I can remember seeing. If you watch the movie and see something offensive in this category, then it slipped my notice, and I apologise. LANGUAGE: A few uses of the "F" and "S" word, and strange euphimisms from Annie. Paul also flips Annie the bird once, to which she replies "Such a kidder", with a dismissive wave of her hand. Once Paul realizes what Annie is, he goes to the typewriter Annie has bought for him, and types f***, several times. That about sums it up. If you're a fan of Stephen King, or even movies like Psycho, you should get plenty of enjoyment out of this one, but I would not recommend it for kids under 14. I apologise if this review ran a little (or a lot) long, but this is a very good movie, and I wanted to give you my full opinion.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMusicReview101 November 7, 2009

Good but scary, negative movie for tweens and under

Kathy Bates portrayal is great in this film but the many things to note Car crash scene, man legs are shattered Bates knocks his legs voilently Main charachters trying to kill eachother Drugging to control charachters Pyschological horror; very intense scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bynduns October 12, 2010

I think any obsessed fan of anything should watch this movie

Pay very close attention to the character Annie Wilkes and think about how much that relates to how you would act if you were to meet an author who did something you weren't necessarily happy with. I love this movie. It's horrifying without having to rely on gore/monsters/anything like that. Instead, the 'monster' is a regular human being. That's just... amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byHeheGonzalo August 29, 2016

My rating: R for strong violence and language

Kid, 9 years old May 18, 2016

Really great movie, but strong profanity

I think Misery was a great movie, but there is too much profanity. LANGUAGE: There are several uses of S--t one use of F--k and words like dirty bird from Annie. Paul writes f--k in a type writer about 6 times. Paul also flips Annie the bird once. DRINKING DRUGS AND SMOKING: Annie consistently drugs Paul and there is several scenes with smoking. Wine is drank in 1 scene. VIOLENCE: There is a lot of violence in this film. The movie starts out with a car crash. At the end there is a pretty brutal fight scene.(they are hitting each other with anvil type things) The movie is pretty creepy overall. Annie shows up standing up by his bed when he is sleeping. She breaks both of his ankles. Overall this movie is great and I think a mature 11-12 year old can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written byunicornb May 2, 2016

Why Didn't I Watch This Sooner!

This Film Is About A Famous Writer Who Gets Into A Car Accident. Then A "Number 1 Fan" (Annie Wilkes) Who Happens To Be A Nurse, Finds Him. She Fixes The Writer (Paul Sheldon) Up In Bandages, And Begins To Nurse Him To Health, In Return He Lets Her Read His New Misery's Child Novel. After Finding Out What Happens In His New Book, She Begins To Torture Sheldon In A Violent Manner. This Movie Has Some Tense Scenes In It (Gunshot Wounds, Injections, Characters Are Beat And One Is Tortured). There Is Really No Profanity Of Sexual Context, But There Is A Ton Of Violence. What Do You Expect From A Film Called Misery. Totally Recommend This One!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byjlplaysxxx April 7, 2015

My Favourite Movie

This is one of my favourite movie and I gotta say it shouldn't be an 18. There is one really violent scene with is the hammer scene as you see Annie Wilkes with the hammer as she comes down a strikes Paul Sheldon's foot which makes it go sideways and you hear a massive cracking noise. The camera then pans to see Paul Sheldon's expression which isn't very nice either. I would let a 12 year old watch this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byguillaumetricot March 5, 2015

THE GREATEST

I saw this movie last month, mature kids can watch it, very intense and scary
Adult Written bysarge123 January 24, 2015

A fantastic thriller, but at times rather brutal and shocking. Ok for mature 15s.

Language includes one dramatic spoken use of the F-word, and about seven written uses. Violence is brutal but not gruesome. A man's ankles are broken by a large hammer, and while the scene has no gore or blood it is still very intense and disturbing. A shooting results in a small amount of blood splatter. A climactic confrontation features eye-gouging (not as bad as it sounds), punching, grabbing and bludgeoning with a blunt instrument. That being said, the film isn't overly gruesome and relies mainly on wit and psychological tension to establish fear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byKmfan97 January 18, 2015

csm you have got to be kidding me.

I watched this movie a while ago and I did find it to be a little disturbing and pretty dang unsettling but it wasn't that bad. There was some language as well like a middle finger and one spoken f word and c*** sucker is said once as well. The sledgehammer scene was also very disturbing and had unsettling music in the background but I say that 13 and up can see this movie and maybe a mature 12 year old.
Teen, 15 years old Written byrave day November 3, 2014

Misery

Sex 2/10 Violence 6/10 Language 3/10
Kid, 11 years old September 14, 2014

Not for fainthearted

It was very well written a chilling movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat but be warned this movie WILL give you nightmares
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy July 25, 2014

Don't trust most reviews on here this movie is not for kids!

This movie is definatly not appropriate for any children under 15 or 14. It is not as much scary as violent. Paul Sheldon as the bones in his feet broken and one of them is onscreen (he screams) and the ending fight is very violent. Their is also some language and 1 finger but like I said this is not for kids. Reviews on here say its okay for 10 year olds. Definatly not. As far as how good the movie itself is, it is good but not as good as the book (which kids shouldn't read eathir) but Kathy Bates preforms her role very well and plays Annie Wilkes great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrocknroll 2.0 July 21, 2014

realy good movie

I watched this movie when i was 11 and i was fine, but i was also watching slashers at that age.

Pages