All member reviews for Monsters, Inc.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Cute, kid-friendly monster movie; may scare sensitive kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 159 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byStop saspending me September 15, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Monsters inc

Good movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Monster's Inc.

This film sends out a great message that just because someone looks like a monster, doesn't mean they act like one.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 9, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie!

Monsters, Inc. is my favorite movie of all time (just a little ahead of the Toy Story movies, which are also by Pixar). I actually laugh at the jokes in this movie, and that's saying something, because I hardly ever laugh. Overall, this movie is AWESOME! -Samantha (chocolatecake123)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old June 24, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

may be too scary for younger viewers

good movie but younger kids probably couldnt handle it. my younger sister (whos 3) watched and was afraid of her door for the next 2 weeks. kids also not like the monsters wanting to scare kids. randell epicially could scare kids. mike could take away laughs, or being afraid of a one eyed green monster. sully helps boo and keeps her safe but the other charaters can be a bit scary. think about the kid whos about to watch this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Not as good as other Disney Pixar films, but a great movie non-the-less. It may scare sensitive children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Monsters insulting kids

VERY insulting to a kid. Monsters scaring kids, and it has eating eyeballs. Rated G, but it should be PG.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic May 11, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Monsters Inc. Review

Movies like Monsters, Inc. literally make you feel like a kid again, marveling at the joyously inventive sights before you, and that's a feat that should not be taken lightly. The climax, featuring what's essentially a suspended roller coaster of closet doors, is as thrilling as it is imaginative.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byjbjb1 April 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not good

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byRobbyboyfye16 March 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

lkjhgfdsa

Brings the joy like Toy Story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byDangerRanger101 February 17, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Some scary scenes, so be cautious

I loved this movie as a kid! It was cuddly and sweet. I always loved Boo, the little toddler. However, there were some scenes that really scared me. Randalf was always very scary especially the things he did to the little girl. It does turn out happily, but still your kids may be a bit frightened so be careful.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 4, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Gnar

One of the best Children's movies ever.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 22, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

I love it!!

This is a great movie for all ages. But I would say the age range should be 5 and under. Just because of the monsters. It depends on how your child is.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent Written bylovingparent123 December 19, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great Family Movie

This is a great Disney film- a little violent but not TOO scary for little ones. The 'crushing Machine' might scare sensitive kids, but apart from that, this movie's fantastic as a family film and will help young kids get over their 'monster in the closet' fears.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bynadaxg November 8, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

scary you guys

i think you have to downlead it
Kid, 11 years old October 22, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Pretty good

Monsters Inc. was pretty good, if your 3 year old can handle the scares, you should be fine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byksn6409036 October 17, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

excellent

this movie is wonderful. My daughter was sulley for halloween 3 years in a row. we have watched this movie more times then any other movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny October 15, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the best Pixar films...

Monsters Inc. is quite honestly one of the best Pixar films out there. And like many others have said, it really helps little kids get over their fears and look at them in a more positive, lighthearted way. Sulley is a huggable, loveable character (in a teddy bear kinda way) and Mike is just hilarious with his crazy antics. Boo, the little girl, is cute and adorable (almost makes me want to squish her cheeks). Randall makes an intimidating villain and a good one at that. The animation is spectacular. What else do you expect from Pixar? The hair and skin textures on the characters look almost real. This movie teaches a really good lesson, too (several, in fact). Sulley, unlike the other characters, sees goodness in Boo and befriends her and the two form a strong bond. The violence is quite tame and there's not really any questionable language/dialogue, so parents shouldn't fret. Furthermore, Monster's Inc. makes a perfect family film. Watch it and you'll probably be mesmerized.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byAlejandro12345 October 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Watch out for Monsters! They Love Making you Laugh!

This is a kind hearted, lovable, family friendly movie! I love this movie. It is a bit frightening for younger children, but one of the best animated films ever created. I hope you check it out, and enjoy it with your family!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLlamaLuvr14 October 12, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good

Children will love it and so will mom and dad. I have always loved this movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 13, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

my favorite and funniest animation

my little brother saw when he was 2 and he loved it! action packed comedy, and great friendship and caring lesson. its for all ages. one of disney animations' top movie behind lion king, toy story, and finding nemo. i love finding nemo.sully is great role model by protecting and taking care of something he was terrified of. parents, tell your kids it's a great movie and they'll love it. i promise 100%. enjoy the movie. remember, for ALL ages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages