All member reviews for Monsters University

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 96 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bySean Broucek June 20, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great. Pure Great.

Parents, this clever and fun prequel to the Pixar classic is very entertaining, but adds some more mature content to the mix. There is some scary images, much more than the mix, bullying, and lots of action-packed comical chase scenes. Sexuality is very low, but flirting and kissing are shown briefly. The insults are very mean. There is jerk, failure, idiot, stupid, jerk, you don't belong here, son of a gun, monster, freak, lame, and one hard-to-hear "penis" during a call. In the end, this animated fun college comedy is very good, but meant for bigger kids. Rated PG For Partying, Bullying, Some Scary Images, And Brief Crude Language.
Kid, 12 years old June 21, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great Film

This film is really good. It has only clean humor and really good graphics. There is a lot of name calling, though, like jerk, idiot, and you don't belong here. Mike does use this to fuel him, though, show it shows how to ignore name calling and turn it into perseverance. Also, they scare little kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 21, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

M.U's THE BEST

It is a relly good movie to teach kids to accept people of who they are and to be happy to be you. This also teaches how the bullys always lose and to have good sportsmanship and not cheat Just saw it today and Mike is a excellent role model to live your dreams and fulfill your goals even through lifes obstacles.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byskeletonslife441 June 21, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

It's better than Monsters Inc.

I like Monsters Inc. growing up. But this is just more awesomer than the first one.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good

I wanna watch this! I hope it's good! EDIT: I saw it and it was awesome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn June 21, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

MUST SEE!!

I haven't watched Monsters University yet, BUT I MUST I WANNA SEE IT SOO BAD!!! The first one was goood but I think this one will be be better. Sully is a huggable furry monsters that kids will love and Mike is so hilarious that everyone will get a laugh from him. The monsters here shouldn't scare kids, they are both cute and funny. I suggest all families see this.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byndrwcd June 21, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

better than monsters inc(which is also i pretty good movie too)

The only characters I could picture scaring really young kids are,the really huge old librarian,the flying Dean and the female monsters from the group PNK python nu kappa who's eyes turn red a couple of times in the movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

This is a great movie for all ages. It isn't that scary and is very funny. I didnt really like it though. I didn't think it was as good as Monsters Inc. but I still liked it. Great family movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byJo86 July 2, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A must-see movie.

Personally, I think it is a great movie. It has some scary parts where the monsters scare children and also includes some name-calling, bullying (pranks), college partying and one kiss. But other than that, it is full of clean humor and it truly is a must-see movie for children and families to enjoy! It's very humorous, fun and has a great moral! You must watch it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byWhales 8741 August 16, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Monster's University

This movie has a powerful message that even an underdog can make the big leagues. It also proves that the power of friendship can form over ever the strongest of enemies, and that teamwork can turn into almost anything including friendship, loyalty, and trust.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 23, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

thumbs up

cool movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovie freak15 June 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Best Pixar movie yet

I had to watch the first Monsters Inc. movie again and I still love that one. However, I like this one more. I think it's the best Pixar movie yet. Any age can watch it. It had posiotive messages and role models.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 22, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Monsters University

It was a good movie, but I think the original was better. It has positive messages and role models. In each Disney Pixar movie they hint toward and upcoming movie by the same company, such as in Ratatouille they put a shadow of Dug the dog hinting toward Up. In Monsters University, when the MU college student was scaring you can see a plane hinting toward Planes. Their are some scenes in the movie which can make little kids jump but nothing to bad or scary. That's my review.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old June 28, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!

This is an awesome movie! It had many positive role models- at least, from a child's view, and it was hilarious too!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGaz10 September 17, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Not as good as the original, but still great!

This movie should be fine for anyone although younger ones might find it a tiny bit scary.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byOfficial Critic August 14, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Monsters University Review

A charming, family friendly endeavor and, although it falls short of the best Pixar has brought to the screen over its long association with Disney, it's nevertheless worth a trip to the theater, especially for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

"G" Rated Inspirational Comedy For The Whole Family!

This is a great movie. I went to see it yesterday "June 23". It is a very humor filled animated movie that shares inspirational messages in the film when Mike Wazowski learns that it's what's inside that counts, and "Oozma Kappa" learns that we are all made with different strengths and weaknesses and when we work together we can achieve the highest of heights. Monsters University is a "G" rated movie. Very rare to find in a theater nowadays so it does not feature any iffy content. I recommend this movie for everyone.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySARAHA5ME August 23, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great! :)

This movie is great! it is so family friendly! (unless of course ur trying not to tell your kids about monsters until higher maturity or age) but i personally loved it and so did my mom and little sister, when we saw it in theaters. i personally think this is a perfect movie for families. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Monsters Awesome!

Monsters University is an entertaining prequel to my all time favorite movie Monsters INC.! Sully comes off at first as not the bad guy but as a trouble maker when Mike comes off as the straight hard working student. In the prequel Mike seems to be the main monster instead of sully which I personally like because we get to see how mike really feels and get to know him better. All together Monsters University was a great movie! Keeping me watching and entertained the whole time. Though I did miss Boo it was a great prequel to Monsters University. It was worth waiting 10 years!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byfunkyrooster707 November 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

horrible

they drink beer and use bad language.Kids shouldn't see people kiss
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages