All member reviews for Mr. Brooks

Common Sense Media says

Costner's delusional serial killer isn't for kids.
 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 17+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bySMSx523 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Really Smart Movie

I was pleasantly surprised at Mr. Brooks, at first I was alittle biased because honestly in my opinion I do not think Kevin Costner is a talented actor. What I liked about the movie is that it accurately displays the 2 types of psychopaths on the MMPI-2 Restructured Clinical Scales. I also was impressed with Dane Cooks acting abilities, he portrayed a believable psychopath. Anyways the movie does show some nudity, and it does have some scenes of violence, overall though it wasn't too overdone with violence and sex, like alot of movies are.
Adult Written bykiba_akota_pup November 25, 2008
age 17+
 

Oh geez

The movie would have been great, but it was one rock skip away from pure porno in the sex scene! There was nothing left to the imagination in the sex scene except for male genitalia but you could clearly see it was all the way in the female. This was soft porn and that's all there is to it! It should not be viewed by anyone under 18! It shouldn't have to be viewed at all!
Adult Written byharrisonfordlova January 12, 2009
age 16+
 

My most fav movie <3

This movie is my most fav of all time. It is clever and keeps you engrossed in the characters and movie. You just cannot predict wat is going to happen and Kevin does a great job as portraying Mr Brooks. It had it two hands down. William Hurt did a brilliant job as well in the small part. A lil graphic but then it just adds to the suspense of movie and extremely well played out as well as written <3 Just brilliant.
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A very dark, complex movie

This is my new favorite movie. The only things to worry about is that there is one very explicit sex scene in which a woman is seen thrusting on top of a man and screaming. The scene I mentioned does contain graphic nudity.
Teen, 16 years old Written byhottiesuperbuff April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Great Movie!!

Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefan333 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Surprisingly graphic...and surprisingly good.

First off, this movie was very, very graphic. The rating info says this movie is for people ages 16+, and I'm younger than that, so I have to say that this was not for kids my age. But however, I liked it. It had some very good scares, and few intense fights now and then, and very unpredictable twists and turns and thrills. The plot was wholey original, and it really stands out not being a sequel. It stands alone. Now, the sex wasn't that big of an issue...inbetween the || and off signs. It was graphic, nonetheless. We see bare breasts and thrusting. The violence was very graphic. Throats slashed. Gunshots to the head. Wounds. Spraying, spurting, and literally pouring blood from being stabbed or slashed at the neck. In one scene, we see the entire process of blood being lost at the neck from being stabbed with scissors. Blood constantly pours...gets on the walls, the man's body...everywhere. Then we see the light leave his eyes. There were over 30 F-words and its derivatives, and a lot of S-words and other milder terms (B-words, D-words, H-words, A-words, etc.) ***** out of ***** stars. 10/10. Graphic. Thrilling. Intense. Frightening. Bloody. Sexy.
Adult Written bytallguy April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Numb...Not shocked but numb

There were so many big names in this movie it couldn't help but be a success. That being said the graphic violence was over the top and the nude scenes may have been neccesary for the plot but it seemed a bit excessive. In this day and age we have become numb to all the gore and nudity that parades our screens. This movie could have used some creative direction to avoid what this viewer believes is unneccesary scenes. What I call shock scenes. Don't let your kids see this. I don't even want my mom to see it and I am 45 years old. It's too bad because even though this is a dark movie it is cleverly written.
Adult Written byGroomerJan April 9, 2008
Adult Written bybamcis April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Hooray for the bad guy!

I'm in no way a fan of "Killer/ Thriller" type movies, but this one is different. I won't give it away, but you end up rooting for the psychotic, murder addicted, serial killer (Kevin Costner), but not at the expense of the dedicated detectives plight (Demi Moore).
Adult Written byChristc878 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

too gory

This is a well-acted movie. I think it would have been just as good if the blood and gore were left out.
Parent of an infant, 3, and 11 year old Written bygrahamandheather April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Smart but very violent

This was a well-acted movie and very smart. An extremely different role for Kevin Costner. It entertained my husband and I and we liked all the thinking done by the characters, but I would never let my kids see it. It was creepy and had cover-my-eyes scenes of violence.