Common Sense Media says

Poignant coming-of-age tale has some edgy content.

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byUnknownpearson June 2, 2013

Intense.

Great clever touching sweet but intense drama about a strange man who lives in the woods. One day two boys see a boat up in the tree and go in it but discover that some one else live in it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 May 24, 2013

Mud is an outstanding movie

Mud hits all notes for a perfect movie. Matthew McConaughey is great in the leading role. The kids are great and Reese Witherspoon is good also. The writing is fantastic and it is very entertaining to watch. The movie is dark but there is still some very funny moments. Overall Mud is one of the best movies of the year.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDan G. May 24, 2013

A modern Huckleberry Finn appropriate for older teens

Very similar to Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, it explores the moral dilemmas when lives go bad. Mature teens will be encouraged to think about moral choices, their consequences, and the damage that bad choices can do to those we love and who love us. But, there is significant objectionable material which suggests it should be off limits for all but the very mature teen group. There is pretty intense violence, teen talk about sex and pornography in an crass manner, and significant profane and crude language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysnowview August 19, 2013

Not for under 16

I did not think this movie was a good choice for my 13 year old boy. It portraits woman badly, as not worth a mans trust, and likely to lead them on. The language and smoke was disturbing. I think it was more for children over 16.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviebuff6996 August 13, 2013

Mud is a nicely told, thought-provoking movie with very good cinematography and plenty of heartwarming moments

The positives are the lead performance (Powerfully acted by Matthew McConaughey who gives an emotionally involving performance), the cinematography was very good (a mix up of close up shots and far away shots and is ultimately well done), the music was solid (Fit the movie and is memorable), the dialogue is good (Nothing that is said seems out of character), the story is well told (Also seemingly original and well thought out) and finally the directing is good (I think it was well directed for the most part). The only negatives are the length (It’s a little too long) and the pace (it was okay but got a little slow in the middle). Still I would recommend this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 May 19, 2013

McConaughey is on fire!

This beautiful coming of age tale told in a southern backdrop with two realistically portrayed boy leads is remarkable, a true future classic. Growing up in the south I see teenagers everyday like Ellis and Neckbone, with little to say but a lot on their minds. The first half of this film is deceptively simple, until the plot unfolds itself into a wonderful, thrilling and genuinely interesting original story. After a quirky lawyer role in "Bernie" that went unnoticed, McConaughey has GOT to win something for this stunning role of his!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebo344 April 23, 2016

Matthew, you are the man.

What a movie. Matthew McConaughey gave a stellar performance as Tye Sheridan, Jacob Lofland and Reese Witherspoon were great as well. The story is excellent and I was captivated throughout. Grade: A+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysvw1 January 28, 2016

Is CSM insane? Terrible, super violent, nasty sex

I signed up just to review this movie, I was so appalled that CSM, a site I use all the time (!!!) would say this is appropriate to 14+. In what demented universe? This film is first off, bad. It's just stupid and poorly done. It's hyper violent and the sex is ugly, vicious and just completely inappropriate for younger kids. I cannot recommend against this one strongly enough. There are so many other options - select one of them!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBreakingBeauty4 February 16, 2015

Mud

Both Matthew McConaughey and Tye Sheridan's outstanding performances are the cherries on top of this already-delicious cake.
What other families should know
Too much violence