All member reviews for Mud

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Poignant coming-of-age tale has some edgy content.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byUnknownpearson June 2, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Intense.

Great clever touching sweet but intense drama about a strange man who lives in the woods. One day two boys see a boat up in the tree and go in it but discover that some one else live in it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 May 24, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Mud is an outstanding movie

Mud hits all notes for a perfect movie. Matthew McConaughey is great in the leading role. The kids are great and Reese Witherspoon is good also. The writing is fantastic and it is very entertaining to watch. The movie is dark but there is still some very funny moments. Overall Mud is one of the best movies of the year.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 May 30, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Entertaining, thrilling, funny indie film with great performances is definitely the best of the year so far

When I first saw the trailer for "Mud" a couple months ago in front of "G.I. Joe: Retaliation" I was extremely looking forward to it and I'm glad to say that it was as great as I wanted it to be. "Mud" is almost everything you'd (at least me) would want a movie to be. It's entertaining, thrilling, funny, and engaging! The story is great, and the script is very thrilling, funny, and engaging! And the performances are great! Tye Sheredian is great in the lead role as Ellis and the way he delivers his dialogue and facial expressions is great! Jacob Lofland is also really funny as Neckbone and provides a lot of great comic relief! Matthew McConaughey is also great as Mud and is probably the best performance I've seen from him. There's also a lot of really good supporting roles including Sam Shephard and Reese Witherspoon. Also, Michael Shannon gives a really funny supporting role as Neckbone's womanizing Uncle. With that said, all of these cast members do great in a lot of great and effective moments and after you see the movie, they really stick with you. I'm not gonna spoil any of them though. Overall, I think this is a really great film and definitely my 2nd favorite film of the year so far (#1 is "Iron Man 3") and if it's playing in a theater near you, I recommend you go see it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysnowview August 19, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not for under 16

I did not think this movie was a good choice for my 13 year old boy. It portraits woman badly, as not worth a mans trust, and likely to lead them on. The language and smoke was disturbing. I think it was more for children over 16.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDan G. May 24, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A modern Huckleberry Finn appropriate for older teens

Very similar to Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, it explores the moral dilemmas when lives go bad. Mature teens will be encouraged to think about moral choices, their consequences, and the damage that bad choices can do to those we love and who love us. But, there is significant objectionable material which suggests it should be off limits for all but the very mature teen group. There is pretty intense violence, teen talk about sex and pornography in an crass manner, and significant profane and crude language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySam Donder September 12, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing story and great acting propel mud

Mud is a great story about two 14 year old boys who meet a man running from the law. Matthew McConaughey's acting is amazing and I wouldn't be surprised if he is nominated for best actor for his role in this film. That being said there is a bit of sexual content that isn't appropriate for younger teens. One of the 14 year old boys goes out with a senior, the boys make some crude comments about romance, and Neckbones uncle has a "doing it song." The violence is minimal but might be somewhat scary for young children. You see snakes bight a boy, one the main characters is wanted for murder , there is a couple shooting, and one boy is almost shot and killed by a group of men. Overall this is a moving and beautiful story yours teens and yourself will love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byBreakingBeauty4 February 16, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Mud

Both Matthew McConaughey and Tye Sheridan's outstanding performances are the cherries on top of this already-delicious cake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviebuff6996 August 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mud is a nicely told, thought-provoking movie with very good cinematography and plenty of heartwarming moments

The positives are the lead performance (Powerfully acted by Matthew McConaughey who gives an emotionally involving performance), the cinematography was very good (a mix up of close up shots and far away shots and is ultimately well done), the music was solid (Fit the movie and is memorable), the dialogue is good (Nothing that is said seems out of character), the story is well told (Also seemingly original and well thought out) and finally the directing is good (I think it was well directed for the most part). The only negatives are the length (It’s a little too long) and the pace (it was okay but got a little slow in the middle). Still I would recommend this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 May 19, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

McConaughey is on fire!

This beautiful coming of age tale told in a southern backdrop with two realistically portrayed boy leads is remarkable, a true future classic. Growing up in the south I see teenagers everyday like Ellis and Neckbone, with little to say but a lot on their minds. The first half of this film is deceptively simple, until the plot unfolds itself into a wonderful, thrilling and genuinely interesting original story. After a quirky lawyer role in "Bernie" that went unnoticed, McConaughey has GOT to win something for this stunning role of his!
What other families should know
Too much swearing