All member reviews for Muppet Treasure Island

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hilarious high seas adventure with lots of pirate action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old August 23, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A golden movie

Best muppet movie ever!!!!!!!!! Sort of violent sort of scary and pirate attacks this is by far the most action packed muppet movie ever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by4kidshater June 16, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I like this movie. It is a very funny movie. It is very hilarious. I like it. I recommeded it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bynduns February 25, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Compared to other muppets stuff...

This one's a little intense for the children, and that's why this remains my favorite to this day. Again, it seems people only review this film based not off of what THEY thought of it but rather what they think all kids will think of it. This, imo, was the most well-written of all the muppets films and remains my personal favorite to this day.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I think it's age appropriate for 8 year olds but not 6 year old

When I was six I watched Muppet treasure and I was really scared but now I would call it okay.
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome Sauce

This movie is probably the funniest Muppet Movie I have ever seen. From beggining to end, this movie has lots of action, advenutre, possitive messages, songs, and humor. **** Lots of fantasy voilence, mostly played for laughs: On character shoots a gun, a few sword-fighting scenes. There is also a gag about drinking on the ship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Pirate Film.

Muppet Treasure Island is yet another muppet theatrically released film that does not contain an original plot. Though it is still a great film. There's great action, adventure, and everything else. While Kermit does not take center stage, this is an adaption, the characters are great as well as the songs and comedy. The action may be too intense for young kids, and there is some drinking and some relationship stuff. While not the greatest muppet film, it is a nice movie to watch now and then.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 October 22, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

muppet treasure island

Families can talk about the violence in this movie. Did anything seem too intense for a kids' movie? What's the difference between funny and scary action? How does this Muppet movie compare to others? What makes a movie endure through time?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLithium_Haze May 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not exactly kid friendly

There are more than a few scenes full of sexual innuendos, such as Miss Piggy greeting Tim Curry's character with a drawn out "Well hello, Looooong John." and Kermit's shocked reaction "Oh no, not him too!" (previous, he and Piggy had been discussing ex boyfriends).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

one of the best!!

in other words, buy this for your house, its wonderful
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 25, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Not the best movie

This isn't the best movie in the world. I like some of the humor, but I not very great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 7 year old Written byeswanson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Ok - not great - for the older end of the age range

There's more violence and peril in this movie than I'm comfortable with for my 5 yo son. Tons of guns too - couldn't be a pirate without them I guess. We watched it once and will stick to the other Muppet movies.
Adult Written byyellowking April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY