All member reviews for Music and Lyrics

Common Sense Media says

Sweet, predictable date movie. Teens OK.

Users say

(out of 38 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written bylatenightmom April 9, 2008

A sweet, funny film

My husband and I took our 12 year old daughter to see this film on Valentine's Day. My daughter and I had a great time, but I think my husband was a little bored. The film has some wonderfully funny scenes, and some delightful, winningly romantic songs (and one or two quite amusing ones). Hugh Grant is funny in a whole new way in this film - the opening credits are worth the price of admission. I would recommend this film for families with older tweens and teenagers. My daughter rates the film as "awesome".
Teen, 13 years old Written bycvt75@aol.com April 9, 2008

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

this is what my family would consider a good bad movie. it was totally cheesy and yet one of the most fantastic movies EVER!!!!!!!
Adult Written byjrc0196 August 10, 2015
Adult Written bySFDad April 9, 2008

Hugh Grant plays Hugh Grant in a classic romantic comedy!

This is a fun romantic comedy - nothing more, nothing less...exactly whay you'd expect. Hugh Grant plays his normal, charming role, and women (like my wife) will love it.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

really great

amazing
Adult Written bychangster.eminem February 8, 2010

Awesome Movie Is Great For Teens and Adults!

This is an excellent movies for teenagers and adults. Younger children might not understand the movie, or might influence them in a "bad" way.
Adult Written bykoolmoviebuzzy April 9, 2008

Good movie.

I think you could take your kid to this movie if they dont repeat anything Sexual you could take your kid to this movie. Cora was the part that made Music and Lyrics PG-13 if it wasn't for her it would have been PG.
Adult Written byDMX_Hater April 9, 2008

Awesome!

Sexual content? That's good one. There's no sexual content at all. Just a little mild language. The movie had such a good story, making it awesome! And to be honest, I think it's all PG content okay for anyone 8+.
Adult Written byjenncraw April 9, 2008

Hilarious, but racy

My husband and I laughed more during this movie than any that we've seen recently. Hugh Grant and Drew Barrymore are great together, and have some great one-liners; that part makes it one of the cheeziest, but greatest movies that we've seen in a long time. However, anytime Cora is on the screen, it is pure filth. Every time she's on, my husband had to look away, and I was disgusted by the noises coming from the screen - more than just a few sexy noises, it seems more like flat out porn. Sad that they can take a great movie and make it disgusting with trash like that. Watch out for teen girls - they will think that it's cool to act like Cora.
Teen, 16 years old Written byMaya16 December 20, 2015

Great musical movie

This movie is a great movie to watch with great music. This movie is pg-13 but barely but no where near r. The songs on this movie are catchy.
Kid, 11 years old August 25, 2015

I love it

When I saw this movie I fell in love with it and I couldn't stop listening to the music. There is only a little bit of inappropriate stuff.
Teen, 14 years old Written byahuds225 March 12, 2012

Very cute movie, however best for children over the age of 12

Watched it with my 9 year old brother - mom and I cringed many times when Cora appeared wearing hardly much clothing at all. We made my brother close his eyes. However I think it is a very cute romance and I recommend it completely for a child 12 & up. I really enjoyed this movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byDerrickRose1 April 1, 2011
This movie is awesome. I think it is okay for younger children i just don't think that they would understand it. Very funny for adults and older teenagers.
Kid, 12 years old March 1, 2011

Tweens and Up

Awesome Movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 16, 2010

definetly off for tweens and under

um, it was pretty good,but i learned something i didn't know before that i probably shouldn't have.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 November 28, 2009

great movie!!!! 13+

one of the best movies ever! DREW BARRYMORE and HUGH GRANT were great. not to bad, Cora's dancing is not very good for younger audiences, and the kissing stuff is fine. AMAZING!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMikaylaaMadisonn July 26, 2009

e.g. Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

One of my favorite romances. (: Really really good movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomebodysMe June 23, 2009

Funny, but bad

I love this movie and it is one of my favorites. However, there is a ton of sex. Cora, (think Hannah montana x-rated) "dirty" dances while scantily clad. The two main characters sleep together, too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byleoglotr April 9, 2008
Teen, 17 years old Written bynerrawllehctim April 9, 2008

Pages