All member reviews for Music and Lyrics

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

really great

amazing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycvt75@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

this is what my family would consider a good bad movie. it was totally cheesy and yet one of the most fantastic movies EVER!!!!!!!
Kid, 12 years old March 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

definetly off for tweens and under

um, it was pretty good,but i learned something i didn't know before that i probably shouldn't have.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byestela April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bydancingwithmyself April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Sweet, Funny, Charming!

Drew Barrymore and Hugh Grant have great chemistry...... I love the songs in this movie..... One of my favorite romantic comedies..
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomebodysMe June 23, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny, but bad

I love this movie and it is one of my favorites. However, there is a ton of sex. Cora, (think Hannah montana x-rated) "dirty" dances while scantily clad. The two main characters sleep together, too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 1, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Tweens and Up

Awesome Movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A HUGE HIT!

This movie is brilliant! With a hit cast, I do not think that there is anything to be worried about this movie, except for a couple of sexual reeferences which are funny. Overall, it's a great movie, a must go, and a great way to spend kissing for 100 minutes.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDerrickRose1 April 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This movie is awesome. I think it is okay for younger children i just don't think that they would understand it. Very funny for adults and older teenagers.
Teen, 13 years old Written byleoglotr April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bynetspencer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved it!

The movie was great. It was funny and interesting. I think they did a great job making the music videos like the ones from the 80's. I think the movie sends a great message and it is probably good for kids 9+.
Teen, 17 years old Written bynerrawllehctim April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byforgetregret93 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

hilarious!

Thsi was definately one of the funniest movies I ever saw, especailly during the credits where they were doing a pop up video and it said "Alex's hip appears to be fine." Great feel good movie you can watch with your family and friends.
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 November 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

great movie!!!! 13+

one of the best movies ever! DREW BARRYMORE and HUGH GRANT were great. not to bad, Cora's dancing is not very good for younger audiences, and the kissing stuff is fine. AMAZING!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMikaylaaMadisonn July 26, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

e.g. Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

One of my favorite romances. (: Really really good movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byanimalloverkt April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I really liked this movie... HOWEVER...

Like I said, I really enjoyed this movie, particularly because I am a vocal major. HOWEVER... there are references to Sophie's (supposed) "sleeping around to get what she wants". There are lies, and Alex shows no trust in Sophie. They have sex that was described as being "strictly business". Cora is highly sensualized, and looks twelve. Sloan almost breaks Alex's arm, and Sopie's (married) sister is completely enamored with Alex. However, despite my negativeness, this was a good movie. Drew Barrymore and Hugh Grant were a great casting pick, and yes, that actually is them singing. Sophie sees the good in people, and Alex actually has some character developement. Cora has a heart at the end, and family always comes first. Overall, a good movie.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

COOL!!!!!!!!!

i love this movie! :) good 4 11 and up
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

LOVED IT

I love this movie my family has been forced to watch it over and over again. It is a sweet movie and has a great ending. The music is fantastic. Cora is pretty much the only inappropriate thing. I still like her. it was appropriate i think for 11 yearolds. They dont swear much it is fine. I love the movie it is a must see.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymisscompetitive April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

loved it

i loved this movie i thought it was really funny and i thought it was also a good story. this movie was about a woman that is really good at writing lyrics to songs. and i a not going to tell you any more but i think you should see it<3
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages